Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Kenneth from Grafenwoehr Germany

Great view nice town.

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed for one night and two days. Fira is in the middle of the island and a great location to stay while in Santorini. The town is nice but it serves as a good jumping off point to go to the rest of island. The hotel has parking which is a huge plus. The hotel is in a good area but the access is very hilly. That said I still recommend renting a car to get around the island. The service was relaxed but helpful when he needed to be. The hotel bar stocks several local wines, so enjoy.
2 out of 5
by Jongus

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 25, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by K & A from Ohio

Lost on a gamble

Posted Jul 8, 2014 on Hotels
Booked this hotel late, gambling on a good price in what looked like a great location. The coordinates/map location on hotels.com is incorrect, this hotel is *not* on the fancy caldera-side of Thira, but a 30 min walk away far down the east slope. The building is new and attractive, but a few parts of the large room were half-finished (exposed plumbing/wiring, horrible bathroom mirror). The family running it are not trained hoteliers -- didn't have our reservation, didn't accept our hotels.com payment until intervention from 3rd party, spoke little English, though they did try hard. Breakfast was not buffet; grilled ham/cheese sandwich, hard boiled eggs, coffee, not worth additional 5 euros. In the end a good stay but not what we were led to believe.
1 out of 5
by ElsaB from LosAngeles

Incorrect map location, should be refunded.

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels
Booked this room after two nights in Santorini at another hotel, which was heaven. We decided to move from the east of the island into town, and wanted a hotel located on the hillside. FiraCalm has placed itself on the Hotels.com map, including GPS points, as being on the hillside overlooking the caldera. We walked around for hours, nobody had ever heard of Fira Calm. Finally, we had another hotel desk call, and we got the actual address. This place is disgusting. Located between a gravel parking lot and a chicken coop. Roosters crowing (which I love, but imagine others would find annoying), and the only view from your balcony is of the gravel parking lot. No reception desk, just a piece of paper taped to a door with my name on it. Found our room, and it was fine. A/C did not work, and nobody around to fix it. No restaurant, the bar they advertise was never open. This place is deserted. With thousands of charming options in Fira, I never would have selected this one if it were not for the false advertising of location. And then...we found somebody else's underwear in our bed. I travel for business all year long, and often for leisure. I use hotels.com for everything, because I have always trusted this site. To find out that internationally it is not as reliable was disappointing. GPS coordinates should be verified prior to allowing a hotel to list on this site.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by C from UK

Double named hotel Fira Calm / Blue Horizon

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: It was cheap? Nothing particularly bad.
Cons: Advertise the dual names Fira Calm/Blue Horizon. It was quite scary to arrive & think that no one knows where the hotel is, and the website map wrong
Location: Folk museum a minute's walk away. A good landmark for finding the hotel! The location is not particularly convenient for town.
I flew in to airport to find that the taxi drivers had never heard of the hotel. I showed them the map of the hotel from the accommodation provider website - it was wrong. The Google map was wrong, too. It placed the hotel in the sea! Now I understand the confusion. After 20 minutes of the lovely taxi-drivers at the taxi rank all making phone calls they discovered that my hotel also goes by the name of the Blue Horizon Hotel. I arrived at 11.40pm. It cost me $18EUR. I chose this hotel because it advertised late check-in. No one was there to greet me but a note was displayed on reception door with my name and room number on display. I went to room to find it unlocked with key awaiting me. I was expecting plastic card to operate electrics. I did not realise the metal key-ring acted in the same way - i thought that i would electrocute myself trying to insert it in the slot - so I did without electricity until I spoke to owner next day. Poor guy thinks I'm an idiot. Hotel is a good 15 minute walk uphill to scenic old town. It is a good 15 minute walk to bus terminal, too. Breakfast cost $5 EUR. It consisted of two cheese and ham toasties and drinks. Bedding and towels clean. Shower/bath stained but clean. Bed comfy. Noisy rooster, though, woke me up in early hours of the morning each day.
2 out of 5
by Liz from Toronto

Nothing like the description!

Posted Sep 15, 2013
Pros: It was really close to the Fira center
Location: The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the town center where there are alot of restaurants, shops, and bars.
My friend and I had booked a stay at Fira Caml Hotel for 4 nights. Here is a recap of our experience • There was no 24 hour reception as descried • Nobody was there to check us in - a note with our name and room number was posted on the reception door instead • Wifi was none existant in the rooms - always switching on and off • The hotel located right next to a chicken coup - these ROOSTERS would wake us up at 4am every morning • The shower was horrible - water would get everywhere • The hotel itself is located down a steep hill where no cab will find you • Having paid online, the staff would come to your room unannounced asking you to pay them cash instead Overall our stay was quite miserable!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Javier from London

Excellent hotel

Posted Jun 9, 2013
Pros: The service and helpfulness of the owner and manager
Cons: A bit outside Fira centre but was quiet
Location: About 15 minutes walking to the bus station and the centre of Fira
Great experience. Rooms are big, clean and bright. Staff is very helpful
1 out of 5
by Sertac from Istanbul, Turkey

this is not hotel it is a studio room.

Posted Aug 27, 2012
Pros: close to town center
Cons: poor room condition and weakneses in room cleaning, diffucult to reach contact person.
Location: close to town center
we booked the room for 4 nights only last day our room cleaned.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

accueil déplorable !

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Rien !
L'employé a commencé par nous faire payer et a tenté de nous mettre dans une chambre isolée de 4 lits, avec une seule fenêtre donnant sur une arrière-cour ; pas du tout ce qui était prévu. Il a fallu se battre pour obtenir une chambre correcte qu'il voulait nous facturer davantage et le lendemain, il ne nous a pas servi le petit-dej. qui était compris normalement dans le prix ! Honteux !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Albergo essenziale

Posted Aug 31, 2016
L'albergo non offre molti confort ma lo consiglio a chi progetta una vacanza all'insegna della scoperta dell'isola e non progetta di trascorre molto tempo in hotel. È situato in una buona posizione ( fira è raggiungibile a piedi in 10 minuti). Il personale è gentile e disponibile.