Ratings based on 173 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 9, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Be ready to pay for extras

Posted May 26, 2015
We stayed 2 days at this hotel recently. We arrived early in the morning in Santorini and went to check in the hotel in the morning. We were told that we could not check in before 1pm, all this in spite of the fact that I had already requested for an early check in via email a few days earlier. I had recieved a reply from the hotel saying everything would be taken care of., which obviously wasnt. To be fair, the hotel did provide us a room 2hours earlier than 1 pm. When we checked in we were told that we could not bring hotel towels to the pool, instead we were told to ask for towels which could be provided for the pool area. When we went to get the towels we were told that there would be a surcharge for every towel. This was quite puzzling as the hotel was charging us money to use their towels at their own pool. On a similar note the hotel does not provide a safe in the rooms however they charge 6 euros per day to store valuables in their lockers. We had breakfast as part of the package which was a bare minimal breakfast. Moreover when we went for the breakfast 30 mins before closing tim,e half of the food had already finished off. The rooms were ok considering we were in a suite with our room having no wifi connection inside the room. There were nocomplimentary slippers and bathrobes, the shower cubicle was so small that i had to literally squeeze in withou having room to move my arms. I wonder what the classic room showers were like!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2015 by KOSTAS , Hotel Management
It was really very pleasant for us to have people from India in our Hotel. You are always welcome. First of all, I would like to thank you for your immediate response, even though it was quite offending. Yes, you do ask for an early check in and we permitted it even though check – in is at 13:00. Every Hotel all over the world has its own rule in order to operate, so we do. You stayed in a suite of 50 square meters and it wasn’t big enough for you? I’m afraid I cannot understand. We don’t use the towels from the room to the pool for obvious reasons. Santorini is an island like all other Cycladic Islands with serious water problems. Here we buy the water unfortunately – its not free. For this reason we have an symbolic charger of 2,00 euro’s each beach towel. We don’t charge the safe 6,00 euro’s per day as you mentioned but 3,00 insurance included. As far as breakfast is concerned, we prepared for you a nice one and brought to your room at your last night. We have informed you from the day one that breakfast is served from 08:00 to 10:00 and there always was a refill. If someone comes 11:00 for breakfast as you understand there is no breakfast. All of our five antenna’s work, and we are having a strong wi-fi signal in our Hotel. In case of problems with laptops you there was access for you to come by the reception and use our pc. I quess that you have forgotten how much I assisted you with renting a car. You changed your mind and you wanted an atv. Then you changed again your mind and you wanted a car. You had crashed the atv and you didn’t say anything!! Who’s gonna pay for that? Again we didn’t say anything to you. Feedback is very important to us and we thank you that you wrote your opinion. More over, it was nice to have you here.
5 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London, UK

The very best of Greek hospitality and cuisine

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: The hotel is very clean and has everything for a nice relaxing stay. Hotel Mathios Village provided all we desired.
Cons: Nothing, we were fully satisfied. We had studied many hotel reviews before selecting our hotel and our expectations were not only met but exceeded
Location: Akrotiri is a quiet village with character - different from the busy places like Thira (nice beaches and archeological sites nearby)
We spent 2 weeks in September in this lovely family-run hotel and couldn’t fault anything there! From the minute we stepped into the lovely reception with a home-feel atmosphere to the time we had to sadly say good-by it was an amazing experience for our first time in Santorini. Kostas, the owner and all support staff and the hotel itself made our vacation a truly amazing experience and we can’t wait to return! Kostas is a warm, kind and very hospitable man; he knows the island well and has the best recommendations for any activities you would like to do, including car hire, best places to go and excursions to book. Trust his experience and you will enjoy every minute of your stay! Although we didn’t book half-board in the hotel's restaurant, after trying famous Greek dishes there on our first night, we ended up eating there every day during the first week of our stay and it was a wonderful experience of its own with several extras given here and there that made us feeling like dining in a cosy family atmosphere. Kostas was always dining there himself and usually entertained and served his guests personally, a very friendly and nice touch, we exchanged a lot of good jokes during many dinners. Without any reservations we recommend to book this hotel and to experience it all yourselves. There are several nice beaches within walking distance of the hotel as well as good restaurants too, so the location is very convenient. Thanks Kostas for making our stay special. Alla & Reimar
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US


Posted Sep 14, 2014
They try to sell you trips and car rentals on check in! You have to rent beach and pool towels! They try to take their shuttle for port transports. They charge more for that than a private taxi!!! You have to clean up your own dishes from breakfast Your air conditioning only works when you are in the room We felt nickle and dime The back porch was lovely
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2015 by manager, Hotel Management
Really thank you for your time to add a letter for us , if the a good map and good advices to see Santorini it is a problem for you, I try to understand you but I can’t Most of our guest love our ideas so many years in mathios village they like our cooking our service , there are so many letters every were about our hotel . In all the hotels breakfast is self-service , and also eat by the pool , that you don’t find it in many hotels . The ac works in your room always when you enter the room , and you have to add the metallic card we inform you on arrival also, in your room there are also information really nice to have you in our hotel
3 out of 5
for Getaway With Friends
by John from Canada

Will not return

Posted Sep 11, 2014 on Hotels
The pictures of this hotel look better than the hotel itself. The rooms are completely outdated and the beds feel like you are sleeping on a marble floor. Location of the hotel was okay although the immediate area does not have a lot going on. This hotel had many rules, like only beverages and food purchased from the hotel in the area. Even when we purchased food from the hotel we were not allowed to have any of it in our room. We had to bring back out own plates at breakfast and lunch. Staff were friendly and the food was good. Cheaper to take a taxi from the airport then having the hotel arrange it for you. You can find a better hotel when staying in Santorini.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2014 by manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the letter , Maybe the first review that mention that the pictures are not the some like the reality , Your stay it was in our Hotel ? The beds have fine matters , but when you travel and change beds every 2 days normally when you have back problems can be a problem for you . We have from this year possibility to have buffet breakfast also by the pool, but not in your rooms , and there is a self-service for that . It is so nice to enjoy the weather and start you day like that. If we are the best hotel i can’t say we had 20% of our bookings repeat gust and recommend guest Good luck with all
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great Hotel, Great Owner

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Great, clean hotel in a very convenient location. Hotel owner was only too happy to assist with any queries/ trips/ suggestions. Food from mama's restaurant was fantastic and plentiful .. In fact we ate too much food it was that good! :) Costas adds personality to the trip and makes it that much more special. Great hotel, Great owner. Would definitely go back and most definitely recommend it to anyone considering Santorini.
3 out of 5
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nettes hotel für ruhesuchende

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Die Tatsache dass es eher klein gehalten ist
Location: So viel Strände ankucken wie möglich, jeder ist anders
Unbedingt Auto mieten oder Quad da man zu weit von allem ist, hotel sauber aber schon sehr abgewohnt Frühstück ok.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2015 by manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your mail , if you travel with 5 star hotels and luxury villas breakfast with them is better from our hotel , but your booking it was basic room and our breakfast is fine , and you cat eat it by the pool also we have 2 orange juise graipgruit , 2 type of home made marmelades , choco , honey , 3 type meet , 3 type chesse , yougurt . eggs , 4 type of cokies , cakes , tomatoes , crispies , capers , olives , fruits any ways maybe for you it is not inaf , we have also Mousaka patsitsio , fresh fish . parta , kalamaris, souvlaki , and so many .... in mamas taverna you have to taste next time thank you for your letter ,
4 out of 5
by Terese from Danmark

Godt til prisen

Posted Aug 11, 2014 on Hotels
Udemærket hotel med fine værelser. Beliggenheden er dog ikke den mest spændende, og man skal i hvert fald leje bil eller andet, hvis man bor her. Hotelværten var næsten for sød og behjælpelig i begyndelsen, men eftersom vi ikke tog imod nogle af hans mange tilbud, forsvandt gæstfriheden og interessen for os. Han kom med nogle bemærkninger, der vippede på grænsen til ubehagelige. Alt i alt et fint hotel, men tror ikke, jeg vender tilbage.
1 out of 5
for Getaway With Friends
by Yak from London

Very bad customer service!!!

Posted Aug 9, 2014 on Hotels
The owner of the hotel Costas was a very rude and pushy person. He was in no way making the experience staying at Mathios Village pleasant. We were yelled at and ordered to do things as per his opinion only. Our luggage was not carried from our rooms to reception during check out and there were stairs ! The air con had a silly censor system which shut down each time we opened the balcony door. Thus, left in 34*c heat even in our rooms. There was no bath only a stand shower with a old white curtain. So the entire bathroom was wet after a shower - cringe! We had paid for bed & breakfast, for getting warm breakfast they charged us an additional 5 Euros. Who does that in a 4 star??No water offered in the rooms, no tea and coffee in the rooms. The service provided was worse than a Hostel. I would never ever recommend anyone to stay at this Hotel. They are understaffed and very rude!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2014 by manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your letter , if you travel first time in your life you can’t understand service , we have showers first of all and not bath tubs , only VIP Suites have Jacuzzi bath tab , the a/c is working perfect but you have to close the windows, in our home also when we start the ac we close the doors and the windows , please don’t think I pay and I can do what I want , we are here to help you , we have great variety of buffet breakfast and you can eat by the pool also , if you need omelet it cost extra and we inform you also , if you want coffee and tea we have bar open with so low rates coffers from 3 euros , if you searching for coffee maker and cooking facility’s you need to have one apartment next time , we don’t have old curtain the place is so clean and so well organize , Santorini have stairs what we can do , we clean rooms daily we are here to help you , please add smile in your life and don’t bring bad energy for no reason , we travel also we know to respect any one thank you for your time ,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

This was a disappointing hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: rooms were clean.
Cons: The owner
Location: Great island. Great food. Lovely local people.
We had a great time in this island, but unfortunately the low point was our stay in this hotel. The rooms were clean and the pool was O.K. But the owner was very rude and aggressive. By trying to convince us to book his tours and eat in his restaurant, he made us very uncomfortable. He was visibly mad when I informed him we have made other plans. The most bizarre part was when we were leaving he accused us of not paying him properly for the breakfast, then he started to shout at my family and I in Greek. Now, I do not understand a word of Greek, but I could tell he was not complementing us. Go to Santorini BUT stay away from this place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2015 by manager, Hotel Management
We agree with your letter Yes Santorini is a great island we have guest from all over the world and from Irak like you it is so nice to be international , But I will just remind you few thinks , that you arrive early in our Hotel , You wanted soon your rooms we explain you many times that 08,00 am you can’t check in this is international rules not only our Hotel rules , our Hotel is always busy we don’t have open rooms . I will also remind you that you took breakfast on arrival that cost extra , you agree on arrival to pay and , But you forget it on your departure day , we trust you and at the end you told us that you eat 1 person and not 4 persons , We also give you 2 superior room and you had 2 standard rooms We didn’t charge you for the Breakfast . but that’s life we continue ,with smile and go on Thank you