Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Kafieris Apartments on the cliff

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Had a great view from our room balcony.
Cons: The wifi was pretty much non-existent in our room, if we stood by the door to our room we occasionally managed to pick up a very weak connection.
Location: From Fira bus station, around a 15 minute walk to the property (just stick to the main road and definitely don't follow the route google maps shows)
Stayed for 3 nights, it requires a walk up a hill which was no issue for us as we knew this and chose it for this reason as we knew the view would be better but for some people it may be an issue. The rooms definitely aren't made for the colder nights outside of summer season, you can feel the cold air coming through the walls and floor so had to use few blankets but luckily there was air conditioning as well. For breakfast, you get a selection of things on a tray including half a ham & cheese sandwich, little cake, 2 pieces of bread with jams and some Greek yoghurt and coffee/orange juice. There was an issue with hot water for first 2 nights which we had to make the owner aware of and she confirmed there was an issue and someone would come to fix it the next day. Eventually the next morning, hot water finally came through an hour and half after she said it would work so it was nice to not have to have a freezing cold shower. Overall, the property definitely has some potential and is probably worth it for the view you get from the top floor rooms and terrace area you get where the hot tub operates in summer months. I'm sure once all the renovation work is done, it will be a lot better and once the warmer weather arrives as well. Can't really fault the owner as she is nice and seems to be running the property all by herself. Plus she was helpful when organising mini bus to airport for us and also providing us with some hot drinks when we asked in evenings.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

dont have to leave your room to watch the sunset

Posted Jul 31, 2015 on Hotels
best view in town, great location, don't have to go anywhere to watch the sunset, room, bathroom could use some updates but overall it's about view and location, did not have the chance to eat breakfest, considering crowded town streets suprisingly a lot of parking space, get detailed directions or mam to find the place
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Misleading pictures, information and ratings

Posted Jun 21, 2015 on Hotels
Booked this hotel as the pictures and ratings seemed great. Emailed the hotel re: our airport transfer weeks in advance with a no show of the driver upon arrival causing us to make our own way to the hotel at a cost. Poor welcome by the female staff member. Room had NO sea views, boxed in terrace between buildings, no ventilation in bathroom causing it and room to smell terrible, bed was uncomfortable. Rooftop has great views but is so small only six people can sit and view the sunset uninterrupted. Breakfast was poor. Ended up leaving our luggage in the room and staying at another hotel to save our Santorini experience. Had to argue with the female staff member to arrange a transfer to the port after being told to speak with the elusive manager initially. Do not stay here, for only a small amount more you can stay in a much nicer hotel.
4 out of 5
by Lawrence from Ojai

Excellent

Posted Jun 19, 2015 on Hotels
great location. Right on the rim walk. Loved it
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, MO

Great Views

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: Great views
Cons: Wi-fi could be fixed.
Location: The location is pretty central to anything your would want to see. It is also a great location for great views.
We were really excited to stay here because of the great views over the cliff, but were quickly disappointed by the uncomfortable, squeaky bed. The sink leaked, and our room had a terrible sewer smell. The staff was friendly, but they were unknowledgeable about nearby attractions. The breakfast was free and simple, yet tasty. The wi-fi did not work the whole stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Excellent location and service

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: We like this hotel very much.
Cons: 1. Direction is not clear, it is difficult to find the hotel in the night even though you have GPS. 2. Curtain in bath is not functional properly.
Location: Excellent location.
We stay this hotel for 5 night. It is convenient to every thing. It has a big parking lot. It is the best location for sunset.We enjoyed breakfast too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Norwich, UK

Overall good value for money

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: The best feature was the top terrace overlooking the Caldera. Spectacular views! And we did enjoy the sunsets every night!
Cons: The photos you see online are deceiving and I think they should be reviewed to a better reality standard.
Location: Location is ideal, being very near all the amenities and shops, as well as the capital Fira.
We were initially offered a unacceptable room: small, smelling of mould, in terrible condition and most of all situated at the ground floor with the tiniest terrace surrounded by 3 walls and gutters leaking into it from the upstairs rooms. We did complain and luckily we were offered a much better room the next day, with lovely view to the sea and clean and roomy. It made the whole change in our experience, Staff was very friendly. I would give the Hotel no more than 3 stars, but the view from top terrace definitely gets a 5 star rate.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

View of the car park!

Posted Jul 19, 2014 on Hotels
On the hotel website it states side or front view of caldera. We had a view of the car park. The man was very rude at the front counter. He told me it was my fault for booking late!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful View of the Caldera

Posted Jun 24, 2014 on Hotels
Friendly staff, adequate breakfast (artificial juice, coffee, tea, bread, lunch meat and cheese). Best view of the Caldera. Highly recommended
4 out of 5
by bluesky from La Crosse, Wi

great view on the rooftop

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels
It was wonderful. Free shuttle to and from the airport and the ferry was very helpful. We were able to leave our bags at the hotel before check-in and after check-out time, which was absolutely necessary. The rooftop has a small pool but the view is great. The breakfast was nicely served in the front veranda outside. The place is cozy and has a homey feel to it.