Ratings based on 518 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous hotel for a city break

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Hotel was gorgeous - particularly loved the roof terrace. Reception staff were lovely but some of the others were rather unfriendly. Breakfasts were delicious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Diogo Laranjo, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and liked particularly our library terrace with its river view and our local breakfast. Concerning our staff, it is our point of honor that every member of the staff, without exception, have a caring and helpful attitude. We are very sorry if that was not your perception with any of our staff outside reception. We value all Guests feedback and we will keep on working hard in order to continuously improve our service. We look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you again and have the opportunity to offer you a most pleasant stay. Yours sincerely, Diogo Laranjo General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Charming boutique-style hotel

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Beautiful hotel with small (hidden) terrace for al fresco breakfasts in addition to beautiful inside room; balcony/terrace upstairs for evening drinks. Charming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Quaint hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Nice hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are nice and bed is comfortable. Very nice buffet breakfast. Snack and honor bar are a nice touch. Love the library and terrace.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bolton

Elegant and friendly.

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Walk to the riverfront.
A real treasure. This hotel is stylish and very clean. The breakfasts were excellent and all the staff were very helpful. The top floor terrace had a great view. We stayed for three night and were sorry to return home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brighton UK

Delightful hotel

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: The rooms are comfortable with a decanter of port provided as a welcome. The staff are excellent and very helpful. Breakfast was also excellent.
Cons: Nothing significant
Location: 20 minute walk to city centre. Museu Nacional de Arte Antiga is next door (free to hotel residents). 5 min walk to tram 25, 10 mins to Bica elevador.
The hotel is around 20 minutes, fairly flat, walk from the centre, or you can catch a bus. Tram 25 runs from around 5 minutes away. The hotel is like staying in someone's comfortable home, with great rooms, a great breakfast, and a library/lounge on the third floor with views over the river. No particular shortcomings at all - maybe not best for young children.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Poole UK

Fantastic small comfortabl Hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Wi FI in the room could be better
Location: On bus and tram route
This lovely almost family run hotel was calm and inspiring, we loved the area, near the bus and tram system, the library room and viewing patio is a must
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Diogo Laranjo, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us. We are most pleased that you appreciated your stay and particularly our location, the library room and patio. We are terribly sorry that the WiFi connection wasn’t the best one in your room. We carry regular audits on the signal and connectivity on our complimentary WiFi system and as a result of your experience we will recheck and ensure any remedial action is taken immediately. Once more, thank you very much for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again to Lisbon. Yours sincerely, Diogo Laranjo General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Hotel in quiet neighbourhood away from the centre

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Apart from the elegant and comfortable rooms, we also had a sitting room/library with fabulous views over the Tejo, Christ statue and Golden bridge. Honesty bar for drinks and free tea and coffee, we were delighted three!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Wonderful small hotel Great area

Posted Mar 18, 2017
This hotel was the highlight of our trip to Lisbon. It is small enough to be able to meet fellow travelers, which is a bonus. The staff is exceptional, breakfast delicious, the room clean and spacious, the rooftop deck has a view of the Tagus River, and a back patio is perfect for a morning cup of coffee. The bus stops right in front. Five stars!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Refurbished Stately Hotel next to Antique Art

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Museum. We recommend this location. There's a nice library on the upper level to hang out with good views of the city. The back patio is very picturesque and there's lovely vines climbing up the entire back of the house.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambs.

Ideal for sightseeing

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: Lovely hotel full of character in a quiet neighbourhood with good travel connections. Close to same lovely restaurants such as Picanha?
Cons: Happy with everything.
Location: Half way between Belem and the old Alfama district, it's
The hotel is full of character and the staff are friendly and helpful. We were in room 19 and it was roomy and comfortable. The bed was large and we were given extra pillows on request. There was a flat screen tv and a complimentary decanter of port. The bathroom had plenty of hot water and good quality toiletries and included towel robes and flannels, etc. There was a third room with a sofa bed, vanity unit and tea and coffee making facilities. They had a good selection of teas and also their own biscuits with thinitials JV on them. Breakfast was great. It was in an intimate dining room and included bacon and eggs, fresh fruit salad, rolls, ham, cheese and the famous Lisbon custard tarts. Even though it was February, it was warm enough to sit outside on the 3rd floor balcony which was part of the library and you could help yourself to tea and coffee and we also had drinks from the honesty bar on one evening. All in all we had a great 3 nights experience at the As Janelas Verdes and wouldn't hesitate to stay again.