Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Exactly what we needed

Posted Aug 17, 2017
This was my 3rd time in Bali and I had never stayed in a villa because I was always at the beach. As this villa is so close to the beach you get the best of both worlds. Much better than staying in a hotel room because you have a private pool that is actually quite big. Very private. Will stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2017 by Audrey, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Chris, We really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for choosing Villa Mahapala and we look forward to welcoming you back in your next trip to Bali.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Silicon Valley

Indeed close to the beach but the beach is a wreak

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Service, pool, villa size, food quality and value.
Cons: The beach and neighborhood are out of their control to improve. It's a pity.
Location: Bad location. Not really in the heart of anything. We booked for the beach and were sorely disappointed.
The villa was twice the size I expected. The plunge pool was twice the size I expected and the Villa experience was our first time and a success. The beach however was filthy and not cool. The street that this hotel is on is not cool. Our taxi got stopped and locals tried to get 5000 Rp. out of us for "parking". The hotel pool is big and ok for laps the hotel food was great but don't book for the beach or the neighborhood. I'm sorry but I won't book again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WA

Such a Sham..e...

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: That it was so close to Luhtus Coffee shop, so we could eat and drink in a comfortable clean and friendly place.
Cons: Management, Management & Managerment...
Location: Perfect location, 2 mins beach, Luhtus Coffee shop. The Aquarius Beach Hotel is right next door to Villa Mahapala and looks INTO the Showers of VM.,
Lovely location, 2 minutes to the beach and cafe strip. Nice Reception, lovely plants, well laid out just absolutely lacking in any cleanliness/restoration, fixings/decorations, soft furnishings and Management skills, a total lack of care in the Villa, Gazebo (in villa spa area?) and shaded seating area was frightfully unkept. Couldn't use the pool or the Gazebo which was above pool pump, noisey and so dirty, extremely noisy green algae and slimey pool. The revolting stench of damp lingered 24/7 throughout the Villa which was just awful. It's such a terrible shame, the intention was good when designed and built but the consistent lack of care and attention shows throughout. It could be an amazing property, so close to everything, yet lacking pride and passion in all areas behind the Villa doors. Upon sharing our concerns, with the Management, Audrey Lantu listened to us and agreed with us, then went home sick and no Management was available at all.... Expedia cannot find them either?
4 out of 5
by Kyla

Stay at Villa Mahapala

Posted Jul 8, 2017 on Hotels
good things about Villa Mahapala: -Free breakfast -Fitness Center -Close to the beach -Private pool in your villa Things that need improvement: -The food for breakfast wasn't great. We didn't like that we had to pre order our breakfast the night before. It seemed less fresh doing it this way -no mosquito netting on the beds -One night at 10pm when we were in bed, almost asleep, we got a call from the front desk asking us about our breakfast order. A little too late in my opinion. -The following day we wanted to relax and have a late lunch and planned to go at 9:30am and got a call at 9 reminding us about breakfast. It just seemed pushy. -The pillows were too firm for our liking, but that's just on r opinion. -The front desk staff seemed very impersonal. They were great when we first checked in, but then after that they seemed to lose interest. Also, 2 of the three nights we were there at night all the front desk staff would just be sitting on their phones until I had to say "hello" to get their attention. -we asked about excursions/outings and no one ever got back to us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017
Dear Ms. Kyla, Thank you for your feedback. We really do appreciate your comments and we will try our best to improve it. We are sorry if our breakfast policy doesn't meet with your expectation. We will discuss regarding this and find a solution for our guests. Especially with the Korean and Japanese Breakfast. Our American and Indonesian Breakfast is actually available every time. We will also do more training for our Front Desk to improve the service. Thank you and hopefully we are able to welcoming you again at Villa Mahapala in the near future. Best regards, Audrey Lantu Operation Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Noosa

Perfectly private villa

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: The private villa that was well appointed with everything we like.
Cons: There was no crockery in the villa, nor was there a fridge in the outdoor area.
Location: Closer to the beach than we thought, and excellent range of food and drink options nearby. A perfect romantic getaway.
We loved Villa Mahapala that much, we extended our stay a further three nights.
5 out of 5
by Andrew

Private and exclusive villa

Posted Jan 19, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely stay in a private villa with great surrounding areas.
4 out of 5
by Faizah

Private villa with private pool

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
I loved staying at Villa Mahapala in Sanur. The beach was about two minte walk from the villa. Very nice area. Try Luhtu's bakery & cafe, the mango pie was delicious!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great Villas.

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Pros: Staff are friendly and helpful. Great breakfasts! Nice big swimming pool.
Location: Good location. Nice alternative to busy Kuta. Only about 500m walk to Sanur beach, markets, retaurants, shops etc
We had a great family holiday. Staff were very accommodating. It was all pretty easy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Excellent accommodation close to beach

Posted Nov 11, 2014
We stayed in villa 101. Staff were incredibly friendly and willing to assist in any way possible. Room was serviced twice a day. Breakfast was delivered on time every morning. The cleaners decorated the room every day with frangipanis and shaped the towels into swans. Everything was clean and the decor made everything feel calm and cozy. I honestly couldn't have asked for anything more!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Nov 3, 2014 on Hotels
Great location. Second stay in 12 months. Staff are great.