Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by DL

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 5, 2014 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Ryan F.

At the end of the day, it is China

Posted Jul 19, 2014 on Orbitz
Tried to stick a couple in a room with 2 twin beds, did not ask. Typical China. Breakfast was really bad for a western hotel chain in China, but it was "free". Swimming pool was decent and beach scene was not bad (water is a little dirty on Sanya Bay), but a lot of locals trying to sell you fruit and jewelry non-stop. Rooms smelled moldy, both did after we changed. Not very clean, not very comfy. Bad signage around resort... Guess this is what you get at a HoJo after all.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Cool cool

Friends get together

Posted May 16, 2014 on HotelClub
Simple hotel just good for friends get together. Facilities are simple but just good enough. It is little bit far from the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by 'Doc'O

Perfect for quick get-away!

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Orbitz
Nipped over from mainland China, to get some blue sky and fresh air in the most luxurious of Resorts. We where not disappointed! Staff is helpful and friendly, even though check-in could be more efficient affair, but not bad at all by Chinese standards. Lush well appointed clean room to top standard. Resort is very well equipped too with several swimming pools and a private Beach stretch. When there, it's not necessary to go anywhere else for food and drink. Good combined styles buffet breakfast. Children friendly with even a creche facility. Would go back again.
4 out of 5
by Jonny from Shanghai

Great bang for your buck!

Posted Apr 10, 2014 on Hotels
A solid place for a peaceful and romantic getaway... especially when taking into account value for money. We got a brilliant deal for the QIng Ming festival weekend. The beds were fine, I am probably too picky but my fiancee had no issue and the food was actually very good. The only thing was that the staff might have been trained a little better, but that is the hardest thing to get right in China! Beach front not as good as Halong Bay, but then you get what you pay for...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by David Lalehzarian

perfect place to stay a few days

Posted Nov 10, 2013 on Orbitz
The hotel itself is good, but the beach is not as clean as the yalongwan. However, there's lots of water sport activities and they are much cheaper than other beaches. There are constructions next to the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Leland W.

Nice hotel, lacks service efficiency

Posted Nov 24, 2011 on Orbitz
The location and facilities are outstanding. The staff is not very motivated and getting a drink at the bar or pool will take way more time than it should. We were told breakfast was not free by an employee who didn't bother to check if that was actually true. For this price I dont plan to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anonymous

This is a 5-star hotel in terms

Posted Jan 5, 2011 on HotelClub
This is a 5-star hotel in terms of facilities and amenities available. However, the service is not 5-star in many ways (but this has been my experience at other 5-star hotels in China, so I was not surprised). The room service was very slow and not accurate. The concierge desk was not swift with helping guests get taxis. The cleaning was often done with a rag that appeared to be dirty and was not full of cleaning agents. The two times that we tried to eat in the hotel restaurants, they were out of the food that we ordered (hamburgers and pizzas) which made dining frustrating. However, the breakfast buffet was great! Having said all of this, we did have a great time here. It's just that you have to be ready for service that is not 5-star (which we were because we have lived in China for a long time and have had similar experiences at other hotels in China).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by William

Howard Johnson is a huge place

Posted Dec 15, 2010 on HotelClub
Howard Johnson is a huge place with lots of space and facilities for the family to enjoy. We like the open space and recreational facilities. Rooms are very comfortable and clean. However, rates for transport services are high - much cheaper to walk out of the resort and hail a metered taxi. The surrounding area is full of new hotels being built - it will be a glut soon. The beach was under construction when we were there - so we missed the beach very much. Other setback is that there are no convenient restaurants in the neighbourhood or a shopping centre to buy stuff. On the whole, we enjoy the resort very much!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Hotels
首先我是經過hotels .com 訂的房間,晚上去到前台辦理入住竟然沒有我的訂單,結果我是折騰了一個半小時要先生在香港打電話給Hotels .com 搞了一輪才辦理了入住。我住在11樓,但是睡床上竟然有螞蟻咬我,那麼大的星級酒店衛生都可以那麼差的,這是不能接受的,所以不會再住。