Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by Choy Yin

Will not stay in this hotel again!

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
Anyone can go up to the rooms, you don't need a card access to get up to the hotel rooms. We even got advertisement leaflets under our door. Room is quiet dark as hotel is using yellow lights. Cleanliness is so-so, we spill some liquid on the floor and used tissue to wipe off. To our disgust, the tissue is black. The floor has black tiles so you can see that the floor is dirty. Housekeeping staff is quite responsive when we asked for extra pillows and towel. Hotel environment is noisy as the road is just beside the beach. The cars are always horning away early in the morning. You never have a quiet moment on the beach as it always crowded with people and loud music. Do not expect much on TV channels as you are only allowed to watch CCTV channels only. Breakfast is chaotic especially during weekends. Do not have high expectations on the food, it's edible only when you are hungry and only 1 type of beverage is drinkable. The rest of the drinks are highly diluted.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient, value for a good stay.

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels
We had a very good stay. All good. Staff are helpful and able to advise where to take public transportation to attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC Canada

Close to beach and city centre

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Location and service.
Location: Centrally located. within walking distance to markets and city centre tourist attractions. effective bus service with reasonable fare.
across from beach and boulevard along beach. within walking distance to shopping and eateries. Large room with balcony with view of beach and sea. Staff are polite and helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great value!

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
Only wishing the staff could speak a bit better English, better WIFI would be great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
Overall average, breakfast vary lousy. No food refurbished after 9.30am. Not enough staffs to clear and clean tables. Only 1 coffee machine for about 60 tables.
1 out of 5
by James from Gloucester

Avoid the Shengyi if you don't speak Mandarin

Posted May 3, 2016 on Hotels
Extremely disappointed in the Shengyi Holiday Villa hotel. Despite solid reviews on line, we found that the hotel had virtually no English capability. They did not seem familiar with the hotel.com booking system as we prepaid for a 180 degree suite room, and they tried to give us their standard room (don't think they bothered to check the confirmation number). After much complaining and finally getting someone on the telephone who spoke some English, they "upgraded" us to the room we paid for. Most alarming, however, was their "signature" Chinese restaurant. Just after the food arrived, we saw a rather large rodent run across the restaurant floor! To make matters worse, when we explained to the waitstaff we were leaving and why, they summoned the hotel manager on duty who tried to negotiate payment, and actually offered a 20% discount for our trouble. We declined to pay for the food and gave them some money for the beer we drank and left the restaurant quite upset and hungry. Unfortunately, the hotel does not have much in the way of restaurants in the neighborhood. Strongly suggest travelers to avoid this hotel!
5 out of 5
by Chew Meng from Singapore

Sunny Holiday

Posted Jan 16, 2016 on Hotels
Very relaxing
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. We'd like to see you are satisfied with the stay at our hotel. We will keep providing the qualified product and service. Welcome to choose our hotel again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

enjoyable stay

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Staff are friendly though they may not be that experienced with dealing with non Chinese speaking guests. Swimming pool is very pleasant and large considering it is in the city proper . Chinese folk singing by the beach may not be everyone's cup of tea but we enjoyed that local culture bit. Our room was upgraded in the latter part of the stay so we were very happy and grateful.
4 out of 5
by ADELE from Singapore

Satisfied

Posted Jul 8, 2015 on Hotels
Overall is a good hotel, clean and environment friendly. We can get cab easily and go anywhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

要求不太高的,可以入住

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: 對海,交通方便
Cons: 地面空地不要播放音量差的歌曲,太干擾了
Location: 去南山寺,第一海鮮市場很方便,附近小食店多,衛生又便宜
位置好,服務中上,房間整潔度可以,床褥軟硬適中. 國內住客多,但大部份比較自律. 坐的士由機埸去此酒店;咪錶是40,劏客價,還價50便可以.