Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by FIlipa

Excelente

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
Tudo perfeito, serviço 5 estrelas
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Great view, excellant location

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Excellant location. Very good buffet breakfast. Clean. Good beds and pillows. Very friendly, helpful staff. Walking distance to downtown.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sussex, England

More like 3*

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Its position; general cleanliness; helpful staff.
Cons: Kettle / tea making facilities in room. Some change in breakfast choice every couple of days.
Location: Most points of interest are a short walk in Ponta Garda from this hotel; short bus ride to nearest good beach, bus stops within 400m from hotel.
Stayed in this hotel from late August for one week 2016. After one night asked for another room due to odd layout leaving little room to navigate around furniture ect.. Reluctantly offered a room on 5th floor, although slightly better layout the use of the lift was not acceptable to us due to a very unpleasant odour. Breakfast was almost the same for the whole week and became very boring, we supplemented this with some of our own purchases. Coffee / tea supplied by self service machine, advise taking of own teabags. Oddly for a hotel / apartments not even a kettle in the room. no sun lounge. Position in Ponta Delgada good; staff helpful; generally public area clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2016 by Craveiro, Hotel Management
Dear Mike, We want to thank you for your stay in our hotel and for your review. Regarding your comments, we will look with our manager the best way to satisfy your requests in order to make our guest's future stays as pleasant as possible. We believe that our breakfast is very good in quantity and in quality. We regret our divergent opinions. Best regards, team Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota.
5 out of 5
by Susan M

A hotel that continues to amaze!

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
This is our favorite hotel on San Miguel Island, we would never consider staying anywhere else. The location is perfect, out the door to the beach, shopping and the center of it all. I must say that the included breakfast continues to amaze and I only worry about overeating. The quality of the food is excellent and there is staff to ensure all needs are met. As for the staff, hotel management is doing something right as this is by far the best staff we have come across throughout Portugal, mainland and the islands. They seem to anticipate guest needs rather than wait to be summoned. The hotel desk staff is right there to answer questions and to provide detailed info on sights to see and how to get there. The rooms are modern with great air conditioning. This hotel is a great value and the sea view was spectacular. The Azores are a vacation location that everyone should visit at least once and this hotel is a must. FYI - if you need to rent a car it is right next door. We have stayed at this hotel at least 5 times and will continue to return often.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2016 by H Apartamentos Gaivota, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comment and your preference for our hotel. We were pleased to have a good time with us. Best Regards Team Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Great hotel for a holiday

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: As mentioned previously, the view from the rear of the hotel is not the best, but it certainly didn't detract from our enjoyment our apartment.
Location: Wide variety of cafes / restaurants. Marina across the road with sea trips and island tour booking opportunities. Protected sea-water swimming area.
Surprised and very pleased to find we not only had a room, but a self-contained apartment giving the convenience of an extra room and the space it provided, cooking facilities, dining table as well as all the usual. There was even a washing line in a private outdoor area. We couldn't have asked for the staff to be more helpful and friendly. I suspect we probably had one of the worst outlooks in the hotel from our apartment, with it being onto an old demolition area, but it didn't detract from the enjoyment of our stay as it wasn't noticeable unless you went into the courtyard and even then wasn't unpleasant. Believe me, with a town and island as beautiful as here, it's hard to imagine anyone wanting to spend too much of their time in any hotel accommodation. I believe there were other rooms with views over the marina to the sea if you wanted one. Apart from a brief period of euphoria in the streets as Portugal won the cup, it was a very peaceful stay. Breakfasts provided offer a wider variety of choice than I have previously experienced in a European hotel, and it was on a self service basis. The whole hotel was very clean and attractive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2016 by H. Apartamentos Gaivota, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comment and your preference for our hotel. We were pleased to have a good time with us. Best Regards Team Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota
4 out of 5
by Maria from Ontario Canada

Great escape!

Posted Jul 1, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly atmosphere, we always felt safe, and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was always amazing! Great service!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by H Apartamentos Gaivota, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We were pleased that you had a good stay and thank you for your preference in selecting our hotel. With our Best Regards Team Hotel Gaivota
5 out of 5
by jeannette from Washington DC

Excellent Hotel - Centrally Located

Posted Jun 24, 2016 on Hotels
Loved this hotel, it is close to everything - shopping, restaurants, on the coast so you step out onto the 'broadwalk'. Room was excellent, good size with kitchen and dining area, separate bedroom. Staff were really friendly, helpful and professional. I will definitely stay here again and can highly recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by H Apartamentos Gaivota, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We were pleased that you had a good stay and thank you for your preference in selecting our hotel. With our Best Regards Team Hotel Gaivota
4 out of 5
by Thomas from IRELAND

A RECOMMENDED 'HOME FROM HOME'

Posted Jan 8, 2016 on Hotels
We highly recommend the Apartamentos Gaivota, The staff are friendly, helpful and competent and importantly, sincere. Both the general hotel and rooms are very clean.the rooms with couch and armchairs are are very cozy with beds and pillows more comfortable than many 5 star hotels.Great selection of satellite channels (english speaking)Had 2 problems with electrics (air conditioning and microwave,) within 5 minutes both were responded to and put right. Well stocked supermarket 30m away with a Chinese restaurant next door and a half dozen nice eateries with 5 minutes walk. Only slight negative was the breakfast was limited and repetitive, that said, it was tasty and enough to keep body and soul together until later in the day. Overall, very nice place and would have no hesitation recommending it and hope to return for what it and all Ponta Delgada/Sao Miguel has to offer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by H Apartamentos Gaivota, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We were pleased that you had a good stay and thank you for your preference in selecting our hotel. With our Best Regards Team Hotel Gaivota
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, price is right

Posted Jan 7, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel location, nice clean room, my only advice is to get a room away from the elevator as it is extremely noisy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by H Apartamentos Gaivota, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We were pleased that you had a good stay and thank you for your preference in selecting our hotel. With our Best Regards Team Hotel Gaivota