Ratings based on 141 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Quiet hotel

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Good breakfast. Wifi only in public area. If you want reviews quit trying to make them longer
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Negnarl, first of all we would like to thank you for your review during your stay, with very useful information for our guidance. Your compliments to our breakfast and quietness of the hotel are very motivating! We value our guest's feedback very much and we believe their opinion is the easiest and most effective way of identifying where to improve. Therefore, we also appreciate your suggesiton regarding the way we invite our guests to share their opinion. We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you again in our Hotel. Kind regards, Hotel Canadiano PLATANO HOTELS
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Covenient and Friendly hotel

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is in a great spot, a short walk to the shops and restuarants. There is a museum one block away and a great arboretum nearby as well. The off street parking is a big plus if renting a car. The WiFi worked most of the time and when it stopped working the staff diligently worked on it until it was fixed. Decor of the hotel seems a little outdated, but as other reviewers said, I wasn't there for the view from inside the hotel. It was comfortable, clean and convenient. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would stay here again. Plus the Bakery next to the hotel is Amazing!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, first of all we would like to thank you for your review during your stay, with very useful information for our guidance. Our priority is to make sure our guests feel comfortable. Therefore, it is very satisfying to see that our staff didn't rest until the Wi-fi problem was fixed. We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you again in our Hotel. Kind regards, Hotel Canadiano PLATANO HOTELS
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
Service was very good, property overall condition needs a lot of work, very poor landscaping, my room in bathroom above toilet had a leak before the ceiling was piling, Lobby needs a major upgrade, furniture looks real bad, was a sofa in my room that was all ripped, very disappointed with condition of the property for a 4 star Hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, first of all we would like to thank you for your review during your stay, with very useful information for our guidance. Fortunately, we are already proceeding to structural improvements in the hotel. We believe that the problems identified will be solved soon. We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you again in our Hotel. Kind regards, Hotel Canadiano PLATANO HOTELS
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario Canada

Nice friendly hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Very friendly and helpful staff. Hotel is very comfortable and quiet. About a 10 minute walk down to the port area. Good quality buffet breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Gary, first of all we would like to thank you for your review during your stay, with very useful information for our guidance. We couldn't be happier for providing a pleasant stay and a service up to your standards! We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you again in our Hotel. Kind regards, Hotel Canadiano PLATANO HOTELS
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Canadiano close to downtown Ponta Del Gada

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: Close to everything, polite staff,clean.
Cons: All the furniture, TVs, blow dryers , carpeting, phones, WiFi, breakfast items
Location: 4 blocks or so away is the Avenida, by the seashore lined with shops and restaurants. Botanical Gardens is close
Hotel was ok, needs some updating for sure. Hotel staff was very friendly. G & S Bakery is right on the side of the hotel. Very busy place, vans always going in and out for deliveries. No pool or gym. Breakfast was the same every day. No fresh fruit and no pastry items from the local bakery. No local cheeses either. No ice machines and no refrigerators. Soap is from a dispenser and tub has body wash/shampoo. Don't forget any toiletries because they don't have any! Not even toothpaste.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, first of all we would like to thank you for your review during your stay, with very useful information for our guidance. We appreciate your compliments to our location, cleanliness and politeness of our staff! You suggestions regarding the need of update to our furniture and equipment have also been taken into the best consideration and will surely help us improve! We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you again in our Hotel. Kind regards, Hotel Canadiano PLATANO HOTELS
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new bedfors mass

Quiant hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Good location , needs a few upgrades, such as refrigerator in room was non existent . Wifi was low. But location is great. Staff was excellent .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Steven, first of all we would like to thank you for your review during your stay, with very useful information for our guidance. Your suggestions about the refrigerator has been taken into the best consideration and will be very helpful to us on our search for improvement! We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you again in our Hotel. Kind regards, Hotel Canadiano PLATANO HOTELS
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

overall assessment

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: The staff always willing to help.
Cons: The common areas and breakfast.
Location: It's close to the Shopping center and to the center of the city.
While the common areas could use some remodeling, the staff was very friendly and very helpful. The rooms were adequate, but then again I'm not there to spend time in the room (just sleep and bathe) I would recommend they get a few more options for channels on the television. The breakfast was a disappointment, very basic which puzzled me because there's a bakery right next door who could supply some of the local pastry. This is a Canadian owned hotel, I expect more from you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Greg, first of all we would like to thank you for your review during your stay, with very useful information for our guidance. We are flattered by your compliments to our staff performance! Your detailed review of your stay with mentions to the variety of TV channels, and overall comfort of the room, as well as your appreciation of the breakfast, will be extremely helpful to us on our quest to keep on improving our service. We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you again in our Hotel. Kind regards, Hotel Canadiano PLATANO HOTELS
5 out of 5
by Dalila

Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs. Dalila, first of all we would like to thank you for your review during your stay, with very useful information for our guidance. We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you again in our Hotel. Kind regards, Hotel Canadiano PLATANO HOTELS
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Great central location

Posted Jun 3, 2016
Pros: Staff and location
Cons: Bigger tv and Internet in room
Location: Very central. Can walk everywhere from here.
Great staff. Breakfast goes beyond continental with eggs and sausage, fresh fruit, espresso, etc... Wifi only works near lobby so no internet in rooms but they hope to correct this within 2 months.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Jamie, first of all we would like to thank you for your review during your stay, with very useful information for our guidance. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is very satisfying to learn that our breakfast and location as well as helpfulness of our staff were up to your standards! Your suggestions regarding the Wi-fi have been noted and are most welcome, and as you were informed, we're prioritizing this matter. We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you again in our Hotel. Kind regards, Hotel Canadiano PLATANO HOTELS
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted May 13, 2016
Pros: The service was helpful and friendly--and they all spoke English. The room was very clean and neat, and the room cleaners were also very helpful.
Cons: Maybe some touch-up in the bathroom, do need to upgrade the internet.
Location: Awesome bakery below hotel. A few blocks from old library/Jesuits college great chapel) and just below the Presidential Palaces. The mall is close.
This is a wonderful place to stay. The service was helpful and friendly--and they all spoke English. The room was very clean and neat, and the room cleaners were also very helpful. They served a good breakfast every day, with enough items to please everyone. Also, there is a bakery just below the hotel if you want something more, and it has awesome treats (the best bakery in Ponta Delgata). A few negatives--the hotel is a bit old and there was some wear showing in a few places, but it wasn't bad. The internet is very spotty--and a bit sporadic. Sometimes we could get one website, but not another. Sometimes we could get email but not check the weather. Frustrating. Also, the menu for breakfast was exactly the same every day (we were there for 9 days). This is not a complaint, just an observation. The only thing that changed was sometimes they put in a different jam. We would definitely stay here again next time we go (and we are hoping to return next year).
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, first of all we would like to thank you for your review during your stay, with very useful information for our guidance. We couldn't be happier for your detailed and positive review. Our staff's friendliness and cleanliness of our rooms are key aspects of our service. Your suggestion regarding the bathroom are also very important to us. This kind of feedback allows us to identify our weak points and turn them around! We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you again in our Hotel. Kind regards, Hotel Canadiano PLATANO HOTELS