Ratings based on 222 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 1, 2017
The staff & location was amazing. Hotel was very nice and roof top pool was gorgeous and the view was amazing
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portugal

Small, centrally situated ,friendly hotel

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: The welcome was friendly, helpful and efficient. A simple hotel to navigate, personal and central to amenities. Clean room and beverages on arrival.
Cons: Fridge could have been replaced. Sunbeds should be replaced. Pool area was particularly shabby and needs attention. Bath area was a little tired
Location: The location was fantastic apart from the continual road noise from the front of the hotel. The view of the immaculate gardens was lovely each morning
We were three adults sharing one room. The room was clean but too small for a third person. The outside view was pleasant but noisy at night during the weekend and consistantly noisy with traffic during the day. The hotel staff all spoke excellent english but seeing we live in the Algarve, we would have preferred to hear Portuguese being spoken. The hotel generally, was set up more for the german visitors. Beverages were provided for the room on arrival but thereafter you were asked to buy additional supplies. The small fridge in our room was old and in my opinion needed replacing. It was good to be provided with a safe, free of charge in our room. Staff were overall very pleasant, very helpful bar one older lady in the breakfast restaurant who really looked and acted as though her job was a chore. However, the buffet breakfast was, as the reviews had said, was excellent if not a little predictable. The cleaning staff were polite and looked after our room well. The evening restaurant was a little expensive but the service, presentation of the meal and the quality of the food was excellent. The Sports Bar was a bonus for all the live games. The pool on the roof was small but adequate for our needs and the steps into the pool were great safety, as was the depth of the pool. The small gym, again was adequate but tired as were the sunbeds which were definitely not fit for general use. The hotel is definitely situated well for restaurants, coffee bars and shops.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice Hotel in Old Town of Ponta Delgada

Posted Apr 11, 2017
We have a great time in San Miguel, enjoyed very much staying in this hotel close to cafes, restaurants, old town, farmers market and shopping in local shops and supermarkets, also to the island's biggest shopping mall, Parque Atlantico, all within 5 to 15 minutes walk. The hotel is less than 10 minutest from the harbor/port where the island bus terminal is. We took bus everywhere and people are friendly. The hotel's buffet breakfast is plentiful and staffs are very friendly and helpful. We will for sure go back to stay in future trip, recommended.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Great location in Ponta Delgada

Posted Mar 18, 2017
We stayed at Hotel Talisman for 5 nights. The room was fine - pretty standard, nothing exceptional (did not at all look like the one pictured!) A bit dated, and very poor wifi signal in room, which wasn't the end of the world (we really just went there to sleep after a day's adventure) but would have been nice to have a decent connection. Hotel staff were lovely and helpful, breakfast was nice, and location can't be beat!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Montréal, Québec

Charming hotel overlooking a small park

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Our room had French doors giving access to a tiny balcony overlooking the park adjacent to the hotel. The room was clean and the beds very comfortables. We liked the charming floor lounge, the dining room with terrace on the Park, the small terrace on the roof with a beautiful view of the city. The hotel is very well located in a pedestrian area where all attractions are accessible on foot.
5 out of 5
by Franklin

Friendly and pleasant hotel .

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay and will stay there again next year. The service was excellent. Friendly helpful staff plus a delicious breakfast buffet. The Art Deco style and circular stairs give you a very pleasant feel to the hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 1, 2017 on Hotels
We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The location was excellent, the breakfast was amazing and the beds were easily the most comfortable I have slept on.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Friendly, well-located hotel

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: The rooms are quiet and comfortable.
This hotel is well run and comfortable. The breakfast buffet is very good, with local produce and plenty of choice. The hotel is within easy walking distance of all the sights of the town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Great place to stay Food delicious Great shopping Walking distance to cigar factory and 24 to the caves Wines are good and reasonable priced Tasted gin from Portugal and very good. Ate at restaurant frequented by locals, food is delicious and cheaper than fancy restaurant