Ratings based on 155 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Great location and facilities!!! People very friendly and great breakfast. Would come back again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2016 by Operations Supervisor, Hotel Management
Dear Mr Schiavo, We very much appreciate your great review about our hotel. Thank you also for your comments about our great location, team and breakfast. We hope to have you back with us shortly. Best Regards, Michele Rulins Operations Supervisor Clarion Faria Lima
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clearly overrated

Posted Aug 8, 2015
Stuffy/smelly room. Old AC. Needs renovation. Clearly overrated.
5 out of 5
by Charles from Mount Pleasant, South Carolina

Great hotel in the Itaim Bibi area

Posted Jun 11, 2015 on Hotels
My wife and I stayed 4 nights. Main purpose was convention in town but had to balance that with some couple time. Staff was friendly and spoke enough English to be very helpful. Room was smaller than US standard but clean. Only wish there had been some drawers to unpack a little. Neighborhood felt safe and was convenient to a lot of places we wanted to go. Breakfast was excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Great location but...

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: Location, breakfast, friendliness of most of the staff (except for the afternoon manager on duty - sorry but I forgot his name). Price.
Cons: Maintenance, beds and bedding (see comment above regarding mattress case/protector), furnishings, plumbing and drainage.
Location: Fantastic location for business. Close to Av Faria Lima/Av. Paulista. In the heart of a nice residential area with lots of restaurants, bars, cafes.
The location of this hotel is great. The breakfast is very good. Most of their staff is very friendly and welcoming. However, they have significant issues; some of which are solvable and some aren't: 1. Bathrooms. Too small and constrained. Plumbing and drainage appears to be a prevalent problem. 2. Rooms. Decent for the price. 3. Furnishings: Sub standard. Bed linens substandard as well. 4. Comfort. Biggest problem is the mattress protector they use (they don't use a typical mattress pad). Their protector is a mattress case made out of rough canvas with a plastic casing. With their "paper-thin" polyester linens, this makes it for a very uncomfortable sleep. Also, you will sweat all night because your sleeping over plastic that does not allow for breathing/ventilation. You will sweat regardless of the room temperature. The last two nights (out of 5) we figured out the problem and removed the case. Those nights we were able to sleep better as we did not sweat profusely. Additionally, the mattress is not comfortable at all. 5. Maintenance. Has significant issues, such as AC's not working properly or not working at all, lighting, furnishings, TV's, etc.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 12, 2015 on Hotels
Receptionist was friendly, helpful and pleasant. They let us to late Check out till 3pm without additional charges. Breakfast was good
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Better than expected!!

Posted Dec 2, 2014 on Hotels
My wife and I had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. The area is great... it's calm, safe and full of restaurants and bars. The rooms are clean, spacious and well-decorated. The only weird thing is that a bucket of ice there costs 12/15 reais...
3 out of 5
by John from Princeton, NJ

Don't bother unless you speak Portuguese

Posted Jun 8, 2014
The Hotel staff are ok, the rooms are ok but unless you speak Portuguese don't stay here. I needed a late checkout to cover the gap between leaving and my flight out of San Paulo. The internet stopped at 11 and it took 3 calls and a technician for them to understand I just needed an extension. Then it quit at 2 pm so I gave up and finished my work at the airport. Not ideal. Would I stay here again... no way no how.
5 out of 5
by David from Miami

Excellent business location with good comfort

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels
Top quality in every way except for breakfast which was standard but could be better. Attentive front desk. Comfortable room. Better than Intercontinental.
5 out of 5
by Sophie from Dublin

We loved our stay here..

Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels
Originally we planned to stay here for one night while passing through Sao Paulo but the rooms and service were so good that we ended up staying another. All the staff were so nice, the showers are amazing, the breakfast delicious and best of all is an employee called Carla who went out of her way to help us from the moment we arrived. She is reason alone to stay in the Clarion.
4 out of 5
by Javier from Seattle

My favorite neighborhood convenient location

Posted May 11, 2014 on Hotels
Love this neighborhood, hotel is well situated for shops, restaurants and. Business district. The hotel is nice and good service, however the one thing I didn't enjoy in my room is the fact that the bed is just besides the bathroom, quite uncomfortable, the hotel/room is clean and all but that detail is not optimal.