Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by John from Toronto, Canada

Big disappointment

Posted Nov 15, 2015 on Hotels
I selected this particular hotel partly because of its apparent quality, but mainly because the location was very convenient for some meetings I had in Sao Paulo (i.e., within walking distance). After arriving at the hotel and completing all of the registration procedure, I was informed that they had no room for me -- this despite the fact that I had pre-paid for two nights. They offered to transfer me to their other property (George V Residence), and would pay for the taxi. I argued that they ought to be doing more than just paying for a taxi, and they eventually agreed to move me to the other property, and only charge for one of the two nights. The other property was about 5 km (2 mi) away, so the whole notion of being within a short walk of my meetings was lost. I ended up having to take several taxis to get to and from my meetings. When I checked in I mentioned that I was only supposed to pay for one night, and received a cursory nod. The telephone in the room did not work, and despite informing the front desk, it was not repaired. I was charged a fee for wifi --- I had to show the front desk staff a copy of my original reservation to get those charges removed. When I again asked about the second night being free, the receptionist appeared to have lost the ability to speak English (something I will now have to take up directly with hotels.com).
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2016 by Simone Dovalli, Hotel Management
Dear Mr John, First of all, thank you for choosing George V as your hotel in São Paulo. Due to an extension of one of our guests, who is still under treatment in a hospital nearby, unfortunately we were not able to hold your reservation at George V Casa Branca. The George V Alto de Pinheiros is a similar property, also with high standards of service. We apologize for moving your reservation and for the inconvenients you encountered during your stay . We will make sure the management is advised to take care of them. Please let me know about your next reservation. I’ll personally take care of it and make it up to you. Best regards Fabio Blanes General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2015
Great hotel. The suite is very spacious (1 and a half baths and a balcony) just one block from Oscar Freire, so there is a lot to see if you would like a break from work. The location is perfect if you have business centered in Paulista, Bela Vista, Nove de Julho, Ciqueira Cesar. Staff is very pleasant, helpful and trained to make your stay as comfortable and easy as possible. The hotel rooms don't have an iron, but at the Subsolo 1 there is a room with washer, dryer and iron that guests can use at anytime.
5 out of 5
by Fernanda from MIAMI

Great stay, great staff!

Posted Sep 27, 2015 on Hotels
Stay was great, Internet connection not 100%.
5 out of 5
by Catherine from London

Lovely hotel and outstanding staff

Posted Sep 22, 2015 on Hotels
A lovely hotel. The staff were all amazing and went out of their way to be helpful. We arrived very early and they managed to get us an early check in with no problem. Location is really good as close to MOMA, shopping, cafes and restaurants.
4 out of 5
by Felicity from Edinburgh UK

Nice SP option

Posted Aug 27, 2015 on Hotels
Located in a good, safe, convenient Sao Paulo neighbourhood. We had a roomy, pleasantly decorated suite, good A/C, own balcony, full bathroom plus guest toilet, adequate breakfast not included, free WiFi throughout but poor signal at times, excellent, friendly, efficient and helpful hotel staff, most speak some English, if you need that. Pool and gym on top level, minimal business centre, sparse lobby furniture, excellent room service, dull but serviceable restaurant.
4 out of 5
by Abel from Guadalajara Mexico

Great Hotel

Posted Aug 26, 2015 on Hotels
Nice safe area!
4 out of 5
by Ana Rita

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 2, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by RONY from Miami

Don't GO

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel charges one of the highest rate in SP and they just dont include breakfast which is something part of the hotel culture in Brazil. I do understand that some foreign don't care because are not use to have it. But is unacceptable to pay for a hotel and Brazil that doesn't include breakfast, especially when we know that you are over charging.. NOW the worst of the worst...First I see this in my whole life and after 4 trips around the globe and 68 countries visited.....They charge to the toiletries (LOL) about 20 dollars...That was too much.... They have to learn how this business works..for god sakes...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Barcelona

Very spacious room, clean and comfortable

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: Proximity to shopping, well-maintained. Good restaurant.
Cons: Reception could be improved to be a bit nicer and modern looking, the hotel inside does look great so why not invest a little to show a little more.
Location: Restaurants, shopping, all very close to the main financial area of Paulista Avenue, very nicely located
Brazilian hotels tend to be expensive and don't be very exceptional, this one however is quite the opposite, great space, very clean, very comfortable, free shirt ironing, great restaurant food. Dont think twice about this place if you find a good rate.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 19, 2015 on Hotels