Ratings based on 201 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Olivia from Ireland

Met our needs

Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels
Pleasant stay at hotel columbia, basic room and shower. Buffet breakfast was good. Location was central but loud on the streets at night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy access to downtown

Posted Feb 28, 2016 on Orbitz
I just stayed for a night but it was a good experience can't complain. I would stay other times there due to the fact that is close to downtown and near places that you can get some food because they don't have a kitchen that you can order room service so that's the only negative about the hotel that I can point out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from MUMBAI INDIA

A good hotel in city center. Easy excess.

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: Helping staff, cleaniless, location
Cons: Electric ovens and coffee maker in rooms. variety in breakfast
Location: excellent location. easy excess to metro and bus. near to shopping center and most of the must see places around.
Comfortable stay. Good location, near to city shopping and most of the must see places around. Rooms are comfortable however coffee maker and oven should have been there in the rooms. excellent cleaniless. Good and helpful hotel staff. Nice breakfast. Quite safe location. Resonable hotel for short stop over.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2016 by Hotel Columbia Team, Hotel Management
Thank for your feedback, all comments will be considered in our staff meetings focused on improving our services
4 out of 5
by Paul from Indiana

Fine for the price

Posted Aug 14, 2014 on Hotels
The only negative aspect of this hotel is the run-down neighborhood. Easy access to the metro and other downtown locations somewhat compensates for this. Otherwise, everything was great. The breakfasts were fabulous!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Ghana

nice place

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: the friendly staff
Cons: Some english -speaking staff to be on each shift.
Very friendly staff. but not all speak english. a night without english staff can turn out to be a nightmare. make requests in advance if travelling with a baby. the staff are nice & helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Location

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: The staff are friendly and try to help.
Cons: The rooms need up dating although the bathroom was fine.
Location: If you're going out in the immediate location you'll be fine, but keep your wits about you.
The hotel is very close to the old center of Sao Paulo if you really need to be there.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Columbia Review

Posted Jul 9, 2013 on Hotels
Centrally located, not very good area at night. Excellent breakfast buffet. Reasonable price considering Sao Paulo's
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Manchester UK

Comfortable enough for a week's stay

Posted Mar 16, 2013
Pros: The rooms were very clean & tidy
Cons: Very noisy at night
Location: City centre, so noisy 24/7
The hotel is right in the centre of Sao Paolo next to some quite seedy areas but also to Praça da República and the República metro station. It is therefore noisy 24 hours per day. The hotel staff were friendly but basically didn't speak English, so get ready with your phrase book or sign language if you don't speak Brazillian Portuguese. Breakfast is reasonably good if not variable. In addition to bread buns, cold meats and cheese, they had papaya, watermelon & bananas, lots of cakes (Brazillians really seem to like cakes for breakfast, very decadent!) and even condensed milk pudding (like a sort of creme caramel). The hot offering was a sort of scrambled egg mixture with ham and onions in it and some sausages (frankfurters) in a light tomato sauce. Overall a good start to the day. I didn't eat dinner there. The one day I ventured to the restaurant there was one person in it. Instead I very much recommend the Rodizio across the road. No English speakers there but all you can eat of barbecued meat of all shapes and sizes at a very reasonable cost. Easy to get about as there is a taxi rank right outside the hotel.
5 out of 5
by Anthony B

Good Experience

Posted Feb 26, 2013 on Hotels
I enjoyed my stay at Hotel Columbia. The staff were very friendly and some spoke english (which helped). The breakfast was buffet style with an ok selection of items. The hotel is in the city center so it is older, but I sort of like that charm. Just know if you prefer things to be completely modern, you will not like it. All in all, it was clean which is the most important. A/C worked fine and there were no problems with the internet. There are several networks you can use, so which ever picks up the best signal. The comfort of the beds could be a little better, but it wasnt horrible. Windows have a metal draw down which is great if you want to sleep in without the sunlight coming through. The surrounding neighborhood can be a bit seedy and seem dangerous because of the people hanging out and some vagrants, but to be fair, I noticed that through just about the entire city. It sort of reminded me of San Francisco in that sense. (Again, nothing directly against the hotel, because it was all over). All in all, I would stay there again. Also, from the airport (GRU) it is very easy to use the airport bus to Praca Republica and the hotel was a 7 minute walk away. With traffic, the bus took about 50 minutes, but I flew home on a Sunday and it only took 30 minutes to get back to the airport from Praca Republica. (The airport bus has an office in Praca Republica).
5 out of 5
by Miss R C

Posted Jan 15, 2013 on Hotels
Nice hotel staff, some things were old in the room like the air-con but it was all in working order. Rooms had been recently decorated and the room was very clean. Lots of channels on the TV. Bed was a bit hard so you wouldn´t want to stay more than a few nights. Nice variety on offer at breakfast. Easy to get taxis/metro. Lots of leaflets in the lobby of things to do and places to eat. Overall decent place to stay. There´s also a small gym and quite a special star trek like lift.