Ratings based on 831 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Staff went above and beyond!

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: Excellent location. Ave Paulista is the main drag of Sao Paulo. Everything you need on one street.
The hotel is located on the most important avenue in Sao Paulo with shops, restaurants, bars and services. You could not be more centrally located. The hotel itself is clean with a warm atmosphere. But the real reason I am writing this review is because the staff went above and beyond to assist me. Ok, so here's the story. I had a US$100 bill and 3.60 reales. It was around 9pm and I was checking out early the next morning where I was going to take the metro to a bus that would take me to the airport. But the metro costs 3.80 reales! What to do! The metro does not accept credit cards and I did not want to exchange US$100 because I was leaving. So, I explained my situation to the front desk and they gave me .20 reales! I know this is an incredibly small amount but this small gesture really made my life easier and was unexpected. Thank you to the Melia Paulista staff for helping out a guest. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Sao Paulo.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bey

Good location but poor services

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Location: Very good location right on Paulista Avenue
Rooms are spacious but old concept with carpets. I asked for 2 pm late check out and it was refused but it was available for an additional fee which show the old commercial way of doing business. Queues for check in and for check out as well. I had to go myself to take up my luggage to my room as staff forget them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and excellent value

Posted Oct 14, 2016
The hotel is located perfectly. Great places to eat and explore very close by.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very good business hotel

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
Very good business hotel. Close to business, metro right outside door, restaurants. Very good breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

nice hotel ,m

Posted Sep 25, 2016
nice costumer service , very good location easy to walk many restaurants , theater , movie theater , shopping , subway , bus
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sao Paulo

Close to main street. Good spot. Nice staff

Posted Sep 21, 2016
It is a fine hotel. The staff are fine. It is close to most places and easy to get around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A property with an overly supportive staff

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Staff, renovations and location. You are at the heart of the metro line which opens the entire city.
Cons: Shower water pressure can be increased, along with heat. Price of meals can be more competitive .
Location: Avenida paulista. While it is the mail financial center of the city, you are in the heart of the metro line. The whole city is at your fingertips!
Here's my thing. This property had people who really seemed aggressive in trying to make sure you were helped and happy with your stay. From being greeted by everyone, to staff attempting english if requested in giving directions, M.P. just knocked it out of the park for a great property. Without writing a very long review, just know if you stay here, you will be pampered, and the rooms and beds won't leave you wanting.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2016 on Hotels
The front staff was very friendly; check in and check out was very efficient; staff accommodated an early check-in. The neighborhood was walkable and felt safe. The room was spacious and the bed was quite comfortable. The breakfast was very nice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location.

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
One night to see a bit of São Paulo after a week of business meetings. Perfect location, great staff and the restaurant is very good. Lots of great restaurants, cool bars and lively night life around and it is a safe part of the city. City bus tour stops just down the street and takes you to all the main sites. For R40 (about $15CSD) you can hop on and off and it's valid for 24 hours. Be prepared for seeing a lot of people sleeping on the streets I'd advise resisting the temptation to give money but it's up to you. Stay in the main areas and just be aware of your surroundings. That said I never really felt unsafe in this area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2016 by Caroline Perez, Hotel Management
Mrs/ Mr Thank you on behalf of the entire team at the Meliá Paulista your comments, which motivate us to always keep looking for improvements. Once again, thank you for choosing Melia Paulista Hotel for your stay in São Paulo. It is obviously very sad when we do not reach the expectations of our guest once it is our goal, of each employee in any area of the hotel, providing a high standard of service. We are deeply sorry your experience did not reach your expectations, but all the hotel team had the highest commitment in order to compensate you anyhow during your stay here with us. It was done providing full access to our management and team, with detailed explanation and support. We do hope you stay with us again in the future. We will be delighted to have a chance to show you every member of our team aims to provide the best and highest quality of service. Best Regards Caroline Perez-Services Chief
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect lo ation. Room and entire hotel freezing

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Cons: Heating in rooms
Sao paulo was cold, room had no heating facility, shivered my entire stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2016 by Caroline Perez, Hotel Management
Mrs/ Mr Thank you on behalf of the entire team at the Meliá Paulista your comments, which motivate us to always keep looking for improvements. Once again, thank you for choosing Melia Paulista Hotel for your stay in São Paulo. It is obviously very sad when we do not reach the expectations of our guest once it is our goal, of each employee in any area of the hotel, providing a high standard of service. We are deeply sorry your experience did not reach your expectations, but all the hotel team had the highest commitment in order to compensate you anyhow during your stay here with us. It was done providing full access to our management and team, with detailed explanation and support. We do hope you stay with us again in the future. We will be delighted to have a chance to show you every member of our team aims to provide the best and highest quality of service. Best Regards Caroline Perez- Services Chief