Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mixed Feelings

Posted Sep 12, 2015 on Hotels
It was only for one night, and perfect location to boarding the river boat cruise the next day. The staff were very helpful and gave us a choice of rooms when we arrived. There is no lift so very happy they had ground floor room for my mother who cannot do stairs. She ended up with a modernised room, very easy for her to manoeuvre with her mobility difficulty and they had retained the amazing floor tiles from the period. A very old house with the rooms being modernised slowly. However, we had an old room on the first floor with great ceiling height, two large french windows opening out to the river so great light. However, it is very run down, the wallpaper and carpeting in poor condition and the bedspreads somewhat threadbare. The bathroom we had was clean and serviceable. Then there's the character of all the pieces and cosy lounge area and oddities. You get what you pay so it was very low price. I wouldn't stay longer than a night or two but otherwise it was a good choice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Good overnight stop in a lovely very old hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2015
The madame at the hotel was very obliging and kind, she let us lock our Ferrari in a safe garage at the back of the hotel, good breakfast, comfortable bed.
3 out of 5
by Adele

Old hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2015 on Hotels
This is an old hotel. Enough said. People are very nice. If u r on a Viking cruise walk to the boat. Don't take a cab as they will overcharge u.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay in Burgundy

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful bed and breakfast! Very friendly, great location, charming town in Burgundy. Block from TI and local restaurants.
4 out of 5
by Christopher from London

Nice Hotel.

Posted Nov 25, 2014 on Hotels
Lovely Hotel, one night stop over but would do it again
5 out of 5
by David from Florida.

Our stay in Chalon Sur Saone.

Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels
Lovely old hotel,clean and friendly staff, conviently located, Charming.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from victoria

So so

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Great history
Cons: Over all condition needs improvement eg higher wall bracket for shower head Breakfast was a bit chintzy on the croissants
Location: Great
Noisy at night 8 euro breakfast sub optimal Great location to pick up river cruise
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful little hotel, Sylvie the owner is great

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Lovely little hotel, good location and a very friendly owner in Silvie
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 14, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Pierre from Cdn

Hidden Gem

Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels
Now remember, this is an old hotel and it has no elevator and the building is in need of an upgrade (old). But the atmosphere is great. Could it get refurbished? Of course, but it would lose it's charm. The windows are large and single pane. So you can hear outside. The curtains run from ceiling to floor. And the ceilings are 12 feet high. And it is a better two star than most three stars. And what to say about the hotel manager, Sylvie. Probably the most welcoming and attentive person we have met so far. This is the best "typical" French hotel and it's location is the greatest. You are right downtown, where the action is, across the street from the Soane river. Thank you Sylvie for making our stay enjoyable.