Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Basic needs all provided. Walkable to Sapporo station and Tower. Staffs are friendly and able to speak english.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from KL, Malaysia

Old hotel in the city

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Most of the front desk staffs don't really speak well in English, so communication is a bit troublesome. We needed help in getting assistance to use a printer to print out some documents, Some don't even speak English. And when we used the computers, most of it still in Japanese and there was no staff to assist. We had to go to the front desk to get help and then only they come to us. Not the friendly type of hospitality you would get from a Japanese hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great Value near JR Sapporo Station

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: Convenient Location, Clean room and common area
Location: The hotel is near JR Sapporo Station and Odori Park. Lots of dining and shopping options are within walking distance.
The hotel was conveniently located between JR Sapporo station and Odori Park. I was able to find it easily without a GPS navigator. The room was just big enough for a single person and provided all the amenities I needed to have a comfortable stay. Wanting to be an eco-friendly traveller, I opted out of room cleaning by hanging an opt-out sign on the door knob every morning. That meant no new bed sheet, towels, or vacuum, but housekeepers still took out trash. I also utilized the coin laundry (open 24 hours a day) during my stay. There were two types of machines. One was a stacked front loading dryer+top loading washer, and the other was two-in-one machine. The stacked setup appeared to be able to handle a heavier load, so I chose that one. For those who are concerned about hygiene, both types of washing machines can rinse the drum before you put any clothes in them. Instructions were available in both Japanese and English, so I had no problem figuring out how to operate. I did not try the restaurant at the hotel, since there are so many other options nearby (Picante soup curry is right next door). Overall, I enjoyed my stay and would definitely consider New Otani Inn when I visit Sapporo next time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Seoul

Business hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Walking distance to Otori park, TV tower, and station.
Cons: Room was too small at first time. Next visit was not bad.
Location: Susukino station was far where most of restaurants are. Department store and station were two blocks away. Not many things to do in Sapporo.
The hotel was not far from station. We stayed twice. At first, the room was too small for two. I asked for the larger room for the next visit and we got a little bit larger room next time. Room condition was not bad and it has bath tub not just shower booth. Internet was free, however, it was too slow. Park is in walking distance where there was a food festival. Sapporo does not have much things to do, just visiting small attractive sites and Sapporo beer garden.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Great location

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Only 3 blocks from train , 2 blocks from Odori park. Room was clean and has a soaking tub in each bathroom. Lobby is very spacious and pretty. I always hope for excellent air quality in the rooms, but alas, it was only good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Facilities were nice. Hotel was in a good location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sapporo

Close to Odori.

Posted Dec 14, 2015
Cons: Put fried or boiled eggs on the breakfast menu!
Good hotel with a lot of pleasing extras. The sound proofing between rooms is excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Great stay!

Posted Dec 10, 2015
Hotel is located at a very convenient and accessible location. It is near to Sapporo subway and about 15 mins away from Sapporo JR by foot. It is also considerably within walking distance to many places such as the Sapporo TV tower, Odori Park, and Susukino shopping district. As it was winter, I enjoyed walking to all the mentioned places. All the staff were great! Although they speak minimal English and find it hard to understand what I had tried to converse to them, they still tried very hard to understand what I was trying to say and went through great lengths to tend to all my queries and doubts. One smilling young lady whom I had mostly sought help from, would always print information/maps from the internet for me so that she could easily communicate and direct me to my queries/destination. This kind of service is something which I had never received throughout my years of travelling. The room was big enough for me, very clean and comfortable. The only drawback was the mattress which was very hard for my liking. I felt that the sofa was more comfortable to sleep on compared to the bed. Haha! Apart from this the room as a whole was ichiban! I will not hesitate to stay at this hotel again should I return to Sapporo again :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo, Japan

Great Hotel...Not-so-great Bed.

Posted Dec 7, 2015
The room was large and clean. Deep tub, as. 6ft guy it's impossible to find a shower that I could actually sit in comfortably. The bed was very stiff. Felt like I was laying on wood covered in a thin blanket. Tossed and turned a lot since I'm a side sleeper. Pillows were also thin, memory foam style. Not regular feathered pillows. Not a fan. The restaurant inside the hotel was awesome! Huge buffets for all three meals, western and Japanese styles both offered. Massive juice selection, wine bar, coffee bar. I would recommend staying somewhere else but going to the restaurant lol.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boulder, Colorado

Hot and stuffy

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: 3 blocks from Sapporo Station. Great selection of fine single malt scotches/
Cons: Deal with the air conditioning in the off seasons!
Location: The museums were closed the day I was there. Kane-No-Hon-Kae Japanese restaurant was great for sashimi crab! It was 1.5 blocks away.
They do not turn on the air conditioning until summer so the room was far too hot. Opening windows solved the problem but then the city noise intrudes, especially at night.