Ratings based on 1,311 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Clean hotel. Great location. Nice staff. The room was very spacious. Very accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Fantastic location, great welcome, fabulous staff, larger than average room for Japan and overall a nice hotel to stay in Sapporo which is a lovely city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, superior staff

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Pros: Everything, especially staff.
Location: 15 minute walk from trainstation
Hotel well located, Absolutely superior English-speaking staff. So helpful! 15 minute walk to train station. Many restaurants in the upper floors in the Akaranda Terrace office building one block north towards the train station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh Scotland

Great Place to Stay

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Very nice room at a fair price.
Location is less than 10min walk from Sapporo station and can be reached buy using the underground walkway. Lots of places to to eat and drink in the area. Starbucks in Hotel. Simply a great place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Close to shopping cente, subway & train station

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Good breakfast buffet, convenient location, you can go to the hotel from airport by bus or train.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Conveniently located

Posted Oct 10, 2017
The interior is a bit older but relatively well maintained. It is very conveniently located and is walking distance to many attractions and train station.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from India

Avoidable

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Considering the Japanese hospitality we got.in the 12 days prior to this hotel, Sapporo GRand was a disappointment. We got there at 1pm and they wouldn't check us in because their regular time is 3pm. In such a large hotel surely this slightly earlier timing should have been accomodated. We were a couple with a 5 year old and at check in gave us 2 breakfast coupons which was the case in all our other hotels but next morning charged the child breakfast at double of their lunch rate for a child! No complimentary water/coffee inside the room. Everything was charged a in a hotel of almost 250USD per night. The carpetting of the rooms and corridors in the original building looks old/worn out/dirty
5 out of 5
by Oliver

Posted Sep 6, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent hotel in great location.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Upscale but friendly hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Hotels
Food was very nice at all the breakfast options. Convenient to Odori Park, Clock Tower, Sapporo Station, etc. Took us a terribly rainy day to figure out that most of the area is also accessible underground. Don't let this happen to you! The old government building is worth a quick visit for an understanding of Hokkaido history.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Old but Nice hotel

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: need a facelift. hotel is clean but a bit rundown. could use new carpets and curtains.
Location: close to shopping, odori park, jr tower etc.
Had a hard time finding thelication entrance from the airport bus stop as the stop was behind the hotel. Hotel is very convenient though. close to a lot of shops. one good thing is hotel has a caucasian staff at the lobby to help with english speaking guests as the japanese staff could hardly understand english if not at all. lucky for us he was on duty most of the time we were there. sorry i didn't get his name but the guy was from Poland. He was very helpful and we really appreciated it. overall i would stay at this hotel again.