Ratings based on 947 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
48% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2017 by JimGM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback.
5 out of 5
by Amanda

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by JimGM, Hotel Management
Amanda, thanks so much for your incredible feedback! We really hope to see you again.
5 out of 5
by Mary Jo

Very satisfied customer!

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
I saw the review that a gentleman left about seeing other reviews but he tried it anyway and was pleased. Well, so was I!! It may not be the Ritz but, it was a very nice place! The entire staff was wonderful!! Polite, helpful, informative and just down right happy!! Yes, it's an older establishment, but it was clean and comfortable!! I would definitely stay here again!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2017 by JimGM, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your amazing review, we loved having you! We can't wait to see you again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unexpected pleasure.

Posted May 5, 2017
Definitely enjoyed our stay. Just one night but will definitely make a point to stay there again on our next trip to Sarasota.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by Alexander, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your great review, we look forward to seeing you soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: Near the beach
Cons: cleanness, I would recommend vending machine with snacks,
Location: not much around
The first night we had emergency personnel come to the hotel for a person screaming with a panic attack, The second night someone decided to explode fire crackers around 1:30pm waking me up, will not recommend this hotel to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017 by Alexander, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback! Both those incidents were extremely unusual, and we can assure you that such occurrences almost never happen at our property. The firecrackers were not done on our property either, it was from a property nearby (I checked myself). Normally it is quiet and calm at the Golden Host!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

More than we expected!

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent service from Alex and all employees! Like the rest of the hotels in the area, Golden Host Resort is old and outdated. Air conditioning is old and loud. Toaster oven should be replaced with more power one. But two things we're looking for before we booked any hotels are cleanliness and service. Golden Host Resort falls under those categories. THANKS Alex, you are funny, courteous, and service that you provided us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2017 by JimGM, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for your amazing review! We're replacing those toasters now and are going to be doing more renovations over the summer. We hope to see you again soon. -Alex P.S. Thanks for calling me funny
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Palm Beach Fl.

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Nice and neat abd clean and the personal are friendly and happy all the time.Always smileing.
Cons: There could be microwaves and refrigerators in all the rooms
Location: We go to the beach and pinecraft.
We enjoy this motel as it is close to downtown and all the things we like to do and see while we are in town.The beach is not that far away and traffic isn't bad either.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by Alexander, Hotel Management
Bill, thanks a lot for your great feedback! We are in the process of upgrading rooms, we just added flat screens to one of our buildings. Microwaves and refrigerators are on the agenda. We hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
by Tiffany

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by JimGM, Hotel Management
Thank you so much Tiffany, we hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sarasota, Fl

Loved how clean it was.

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Would recommended this hotel. The staff was polite and the room was really clean. It's a bit out dated but for the price it was perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2017 by Alexander, Hotel Management
Thank you so much Aurora. We look forward to seeing you soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wi

Quiet, nice view from the patio towards the pool.

Posted Apr 9, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: People were friendly and the Tiki bar is a plus. I like my patio and the view of the pool area.
Cons: The room could use some paint, and a little fixing up. It would be nice to have a guest computer to use.
Location: It is near the Marina, where everyone comes out and walks, and a Tiki bar with music. Longboat & Siesta Key are nearby, with shops, bars, etc.
The employees were friendly, and it was a quiet place. It's a little shabby and could have a few improvements, but it is not terrible like some reviews stated. I almost didn't stay here, because of all the bad negative reviews that other people wrote. If you are looking for a high class fancy place, this is not for you. It is average and great for someone like myself. It's hard to choose a place, based on all the negative reviews of others, especially when I find these places to be the total opposite. I really like the Tiki Bar next door. The bartenders were friendly and it was a relaxing atmosphere. I felt it was in a safe area, and I was there by myself. There was not a guest computer to use. I was assured that the front desk would help me check into the airport, or find me directions, etc--whatever I needed. However when I needed to check in for my flight, the desk couldn't help me as the manager wasn't there, and she did not have the password to help me. I had to leave and find a place so I could do it myself as I do not have a smart phone to make it easier for me.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by Alexander, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for your great feedback! We're sorry that we couldn't get your boarding pass situation resolved, we're currently looking into getting a guest computer. We hope to see you again soon!