Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.5 out of 5
33% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by SA

Awful

Posted May 2, 2014 on Hotels
The room was dirty had sewage backed up in the bath tub the stove was full of rust so we did not use it. The bathroom was full of flies. The screen was torn but we never opened the window. Have no idea where the flies were getting in but we killed at least 60 flies. We told the office but nothing changed. We were supposed to stay 3 nights but left after 2. There was nobody in the office when we left so we left our key in the room as they previously told us to do. We called them on our way home and told them why we left early. The owner called and offered us a free stay or to refund us the day we did not stay. We took the later. This is to bad because if this room was well kept it could be a very nice place to stay. It is very convenient you could walk to Lido Beach. I appreciated the refund but was told they checked the room and there was no problem and was told we must have left the window open both these were false statements. There was no housekeeping and it showed it as there was dirt built up in the corners. We were not able to use the shower because of the problems stated above. We are not fussy people as we do not spend a lot of time in the room but this was just to much for us to tolerate.
1 out of 5
by SA from Deltona, FL

Worst Hotel We Ever Stayed In

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels
It was awful. We checked in and found sewage in the bath tub. Than there were big flies getting in the bathroom window. The window was shut but the screen was torn. Some how they were getting in. Between my husband and I we killed at least 60 flies. We complained but nothing was done. We had enough after 2 nights and went home even though we planned on staying 3 nights. It could be a nice hotel if properly maintained. We planned on cooking in the room but the stove was rusty. The room needed a good cleaning dirt in the corners. We were refunded for the day we didn't stay. We were offered to come back but declined. I really hope they clean this place up as it is in a great location if you plan on going to Lido beach. I know they will not be happy with this review but all I say is true.
1 out of 5
by Murray from Virginia

Dreadful experience

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: New management, and a complete renovation, could turn this into a chic, boutique style hidden gem.
Location: Lido Beach is awesome. Nearby kayaking was inexpensive and a fun afternoon. St. Armands Circle offers a variety of shopping and dining.
The owner asked me to give a favorable review, which is honestly hard to do, but I will try. For a man in his position, he was obnoxious on the phone (twice), and not much better in person. He did attempt to provide wireless service after I complained of 3 days with no wireless in my room. He also kindly allowed me to hang out (outdoors) after checkout time for several hours until my shuttle arrived. He seems baffled and irritated by numerous bad reviews online. The online pictures actually glorify the place. Truthfully, it is a run down dump. Cringe worthy, though not necessarily dirty, and the stained, torn linens were hopefully clean. The huge roach was thankfully dead. Broken door locks, antiquated appliances, yard sale miss-matched furniture and kitchenware, no paper towels, no dish towels, dish soap etc. The ancient tv did have cable. Crumbling plaster, peeling paint, rotting exterior woodwork, zero effort at landscaping, dangling Christmas lights still up, weeds, dead plants... sad and neglected condition inside and out. The manager's office is a filthy mess and usually closed. The housekeeping service and towel/linen change is only provided at an extra $30/day. The reason I stayed, (other than I had already paid) is the great location. Close to the beach, and a nice 10 minute stroll to the "Circle". Knowing what I know now, I would not stay again, even for half the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2015 by Paul, Hotel Management
I ask all guests how they are enjoying their stay. If they are not enjoying themselves I ask what I can do to make their stay more comfortable. The guest mentions phone calls yet neither I or my manager never spoke to him on the phone. Since the guest had a wifi problem due to his location far from the office I've since installed extenders to alleviate the problem. I gave him a late check out after noon and stored his bag in the office. His shuttle arrived at 5pm. His apt had new linens and bedding and none of my units have broken door locks. His unit had two beach sofas, one a sofabed, a modern dining room set and a modern bedroom set. The TV is older but a 32" with an excellent picture. There are small areas that need attention but for a property near the gulf the exterior of the property is in pretty good shape. No housekeeping is offered but that is stated on the site for the guest to know ahead of time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2014
1 out of 5
by graham from Vermont

Don't go

Posted Nov 6, 2013 on Hotels
Was not as advertised. Nobody on premises for service. Exterior needs a cleaning, paint and maintenance. Broken birdbath, dirty outdoor furniture, bags of trash in outside corridor (not in dumpster). Had two rooms, both had burnt out light bulbs, damaged furniture, uneven beds (but slept well). No housekeeping. Kept valuables with us at all times. Not very clean. drain covers out in both tub and sink. Close to beach but spend a little more and get cleanliness.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2014 by Paul, Hotel Management
When guest arrived owner was recuperating from knee surgery the young man who was filling in was often gone. The exterior and patio furniture are in fine shape. A child of a guest had removed the bird bath from the stand. Trash could not be left as described as there is no corridor or dumpster. Guest also describes 2 rooms and 2 beds, yet he stayed in a studio apt with one queen bed?
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2013 on Hotels
Did not want to sleep under the sheets. Hair on them and paint spots like it had been used for a drop cloth. There is no service. Place needs a good scrubbing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2014 by Paul, Hotel Management
Guest accusations are without merit. If bedding was as described why wouldn't guest complain to mgt. Office has posted sign to call for service. Website describes no housekeeping but all other services are there for the asking!
2 out of 5
by Gus from Lakeland, FL

Could be so much better

Posted Sep 3, 2013 on Hotels
The motel is very well located. If the motel were maintained properly it would be a jewel, unfortunately, it's in shambles the shower was awful, the whole room was filthy, the A/C was a window unit that barely cooled. I had to buy a fan at the local CVS. I spoke to one of the managers and he told me I got what I paid for. If you like safaris and a Jurasic Park like adventure stay here!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2014 by Paul, Hotel Management
What does the guest mean by shambles? Or shower was awful? If the room was filthy why didn't Gus complain or ask for a room change? I had another room I could offer. The only one from mgt that he could have spoken to was me and I never told any guest you get what you pay for. Instead I would have said how can I help you!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what I was specting

Posted Aug 16, 2013 on Hotels
They advertise free wifi but when you get there the password for the wifi does not work and they don't do anything about it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2013 by Paul, Hotel Management
Wifi password is available from manager. Guest only had to ask for it. As a result of this Comment I have posted it in all rooms!
1 out of 5
by Jon from Tallahassee, FL

Old run down motel near beach

Posted Aug 10, 2013
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything I mentioned.
Location: Restaurant across the road, swim in ocean, walk or run around motel, close to village square.
No one was at motel when I arrived or most of the 4 days I was there. I had to call the number left on a window to find out what room I was in. The room was tiny, no lights by the bed, water ran slow and very thin, no electric outlet in bathroom, toilet was right up to wall, sink was rusty, I could go on but what's the use.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2014
There is an on site manager! If guest is a late arrival or manager is away his name and room are posted on the office window. Manager was dealing with several serious health issues and has since retired.
3 out of 5
by gary from Tampa

basic motel

Posted Jul 23, 2013 on Hotels
no check in, card on office window saying we were in room 7, keys inside. Didn't see anyone for whole stay. Room basic and needs decorating. No amenities outside room at all
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2014 by Paul, Hotel Management
When the guest arrival is after hours the room info is posted by the office door. There is a phone number to call should the guest need anything. Decor is old Florida and very neat and clean. Tables and Chairs abound as well as a gas barbeque and laundry facilities.