Ratings based on 925 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saratoga, CA

Nice Enough At Significant Discount

Posted Nov 29, 2017
This tired and worn out Hyatt Regency is not up to the usual 4 to 5 star Hyatt Regency standard. We got a very good deal from Expedia, and at that price, was a fair bargain. We weren't that surprised, given some of the mediocre comments we had read prior to booking. The property is somewhat worn and in need of refurbishment, ranging from major nicks in furniture in the rooms to pool chaise lounges with bubbled wood finish, to a water system that required 3 "emergency" overnight shutdowns for repairs. To the management's credit, they did offer free buffet breakfasts for the three outages. The availability of free use of water sports equipment like kayaks and paddleboards was nice. Nice pool, no beach access on property,but good beaches with short drive. Some glitches in service at the restaurant, but excellent service from one server named Millie.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from VA

Great all round visit

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: So many activities that were included.
Cons: There were a few signs of wear and tear but that was only because I was trying to find fault.
Location: You can walk from the hotel to the event center and the Ritz which is the other side of the Marina. You have to get into the car to go any further.
This hotel was great. It was in a lovely location within minutes of everything. The resort fee (which I usually hate paying) was so worth it, for such a small amount of money we swam, paddle boarded, biked and kayaked. We saw Dolphins from the bedroom in the small marina outside, the balcony though small looked over the water. The staff were really helpful. The continental breakfast was so worth the price and they let us take food away! This hotel was great and if I'm in Sarasota again I'd love to stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Fort Myers, FL

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Lovely view from balcony. Did not like the &18 resort fee since we did not have time to use any of the facilities
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Typical hotel

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Pros: location; nice breakfast buffet
Cons: Cleaner shower, sink, and somethings look worn
Location: Nearby all
Nice hotel. Hotel needs to be updated,looked worn. Staff was pleasant. Comfortabel bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2017
Helpful and friendly staff. Good food . Clean . During our stay they had to shut the water supply for a few hours in the middle of the night for a repair work , however they did this without much inconvenience to the guests and added free breakfast for 2 days.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Close to everything Sarasota has to offer

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Room was changed twice due to being either dirty or falling apart. Last room we had the rugs were dirty and we dealt with it with footwear on all the time. Seems not as nice as the three othe times we stayed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best Hotel in Sarasota

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Very close to Downtown with spartacular view. If you want to spend most of your time at the beach this is not the place for you as it is about 20 min from the keys. The pool is great and the amenities are very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando

Relaxing weekend in Sarasota

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: Room was clean and comfortable. The staff go out of their way to help you.
Cons: nothing
Location: You are close to downtown Sarasota and the beaches
Spent the weekend and stayed at the Hyatt Regency which is right next to the Van Wezel where we went to a Doo Wop concert. This hotel has great food excellent staff service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel in one of the best spot in the cit

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Pros: If you want to spend time in the well known beaches of the area this might be not for you as it's like 20 minutes from Siesta key and 15 min from the
The location is great very close to downtown and the marina. The view is stunning. The amenities are clean and comfort.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expected more

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Pros: Close to Sarasota - nice city. Close to lovely beaches but the shuttle to get there had very limited hours.
Cons: Hire a concierge. Increase beach shuttle hours. Reduce facilities fees to only those who use them. Lower restaurant prices.
Thought this was a 4 Star hotel.It was not. Very busy place that seemed to be more focused on meetings and weddings than guests. Room was adequate but had water stains on the ceiling. No concierge. Nice pool area but ridiculous amount for facilities fees that no one seemed to be using felt like a rip-off. Tap water tasted strange. Decent location to Sarasota and islands was a plus. Pleasant but aloof staff. Wish i could write a better review, but this is my honest experience.