Ratings based on 138 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Athens, GA

Fantastic budget-friendly option in Sarasota.

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: The room was clean, everything worked and was comfortable, the owner is a stand-up guy who cares about his customers.
Location: Don't miss out on breakfast across the street at Crager's!
After an Airbnb mishap in St. Petersburg, my wife and I scrambled to find a room nearby at the last minute. One of the only places with rooms available was the Lantern Inn, so we booked a couple nights sight unseen. Whatever worries we had were quickly dispelled once we arrived. The hotel is a gorgeous throwback with towering palms, a crystal clear (heated) swimming pool, and an outdoor tiki bar (presided over at times by the owner). We were so relieved and pleased with our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Great room and nice heated pool.
Cons: Can't think of a thing.
Location: Easy access to main drag to get you to bayside attractions, barrier islands, or spring training games.
Great hotel, great staff, very nice room, nice pool. Outside Tiki bar is a nice touch. Easy access to the main drag, but there is some road noise as well as noise from the airport (minor problem). Plenty of parking. Nice restaurant across the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Annandale, VA

Nice Place to Stay for a Week

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Good price for the location.
I had a great stay at this motel. The room was amply spacious and very clean. The bed was one of the best I've slept in at motels over the years. I liked the in-room microwave and refrigerator, which made it easy to make breakfast and store snacks. I didn't make use of the pool or tiki bar, but from what I could see, many others were having a great time there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Celebration, FL

Not worth the 3.5 that is rated.

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: At lest the beds where comfortable.
Cons: Take a bulldozer to the building and start over.
Location: Lido Key not to far.
This is a very worn down hotel. When I booked the average rating was 3.5 but this hotel rates a 2. Maybe a 2.5 at the max. The hotel just feels cheap. The proper price I should have paid was $100 max. Not the $150 I paid.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Nice, clean "tourist" hotel

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: N/A
Location: N/A
We stayed one night while in transit--we arrived late at night and left early next day. The property was being or had been recently updated. The room was clean, fairly spartan but quite adequate. Bed was comfortable, shower was good. The location was great for our purposes--close to the airport and easy to find. We felt this was a good value for our needs. We'd stay there again given the same circumstances.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This place bites and it is in a seedy part of town

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels
The place was said to be renovated however you could tell it was an old hotel patched up. The ceiling had a hole in it and we had a mosquito problem. I was bitten by at least 5 of the darn things within the first ten minutes of arrival. Near Massage parlors and other adult services.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel has upgraded rooms, comfort TV kitchen good, staff friendly but outside still needs lots of work, big Rat traps on outside of building not a good look. Stairwell old and need painting and resurfacing. Good if you are going to be out all day and only need room to shower and sleep. Once inside rooms very comfortable. AC filters are old gives mild due sent, spray when you enter rooms improves air quality. Area where ice is located is run down room and ice machine looks a little scary needs much improvement
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and great value

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect for our weekend in Sarasota. Plenty of free parking and just a few miles from the center of the city.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay in Sarasota!

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
All brand new in rooms and very comfortable!