Ratings based on 151 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from jacksonville

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Friendly, helpful staff, nice pool, clean rooms. Wish they served mixed drinks st pool bar
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Athens, GA

Fantastic budget-friendly option in Sarasota.

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: The room was clean, everything worked and was comfortable, the owner is a stand-up guy who cares about his customers.
Location: Don't miss out on breakfast across the street at Crager's!
After an Airbnb mishap in St. Petersburg, my wife and I scrambled to find a room nearby at the last minute. One of the only places with rooms available was the Lantern Inn, so we booked a couple nights sight unseen. Whatever worries we had were quickly dispelled once we arrived. The hotel is a gorgeous throwback with towering palms, a crystal clear (heated) swimming pool, and an outdoor tiki bar (presided over at times by the owner). We were so relieved and pleased with our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Great room and nice heated pool.
Cons: Can't think of a thing.
Location: Easy access to main drag to get you to bayside attractions, barrier islands, or spring training games.
Great hotel, great staff, very nice room, nice pool. Outside Tiki bar is a nice touch. Easy access to the main drag, but there is some road noise as well as noise from the airport (minor problem). Plenty of parking. Nice restaurant across the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Annandale, VA

Nice Place to Stay for a Week

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Good price for the location.
I had a great stay at this motel. The room was amply spacious and very clean. The bed was one of the best I've slept in at motels over the years. I liked the in-room microwave and refrigerator, which made it easy to make breakfast and store snacks. I didn't make use of the pool or tiki bar, but from what I could see, many others were having a great time there.
5 out of 5
by Sharon

A gem. Not a chain.

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
They are in the middle of a major remodel. It is becoming a very nice hotel. Very clean and spacious room. Cute poolside bar that we sat around the evening we stayed. I would definitely stay sgain. Liked that it was not a chain--go small business!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Celebration, FL

Not worth the 3.5 that is rated.

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: At lest the beds where comfortable.
Cons: Take a bulldozer to the building and start over.
Location: Lido Key not to far.
This is a very worn down hotel. When I booked the average rating was 3.5 but this hotel rates a 2. Maybe a 2.5 at the max. The hotel just feels cheap. The proper price I should have paid was $100 max. Not the $150 I paid.
4 out of 5
by Darla

Posted Feb 10, 2017 on Hotels
They are currently renovating and its looking very nice. The owner was a pleasure to meet and talk to. We would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
by rob

great location, great hotel

Posted Feb 9, 2017 on Hotels
best stay in sarasota!
5 out of 5
by Ali

Convenient and wonderful staff, fun!

Posted Feb 7, 2017 on Hotels
Under new management, the hotel is newly re-done. The staff is exceptionally friendly and you can tell they really make an effort to make sure your stay is comfortable and fun (they even have a tiki bar setup). The room was very clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
by Barbara

Posted Jan 29, 2017 on Hotels
There was some renovation was going on, but this did not interfere with our stay....The staff & owners were extremely pleasant & helpful