Ratings based on 2,732 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Better hotels at Lido Beach but staff was always helpful. I would recommend to a friend if planning a last minute trip to Sarasota. The upside is that the hotel is on the beach but if the management remodeled it would be a gem in Sarasota.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albany, N.Y.

The hotel seemed to be a refurbished hotel with ad

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: Staff Food and drinks Beach and courtyard view
Cons: Exterior should be spruced up.we loved the shopping on St. Armand's
Location: We loved the shopping on St.Armand's Circle, Shelby Gardens, and the Ringling Art Museum and Ringling home.
The staff was the best feature of the hotel. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The young woman bartender, besides being engaging provided refreshing and delicious daiquiris along with a great sense of humor. The woman at the desk made us feel welcome as she was responsive to our requests and quest. Our omelette were the best we ever tasted.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield, VA

Great Stay by the Beach

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: proximity to beach, comfy room, great staff, beachside/poolside bar
Cons: nothing!
Location: Right near St Armand's Circle, a bit of a walk but definitely doable. So many things to do at St Armand's like shopping and plenty of places to eat
My mom and I have stayed here at least 6 times in the past few years and we love it. We always stay at the Sandcastle when we visit Sarasota. The staff is always very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are old fashioned but always comfortable and clean. We will definitely be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Amazing hotel location and staff

Posted Aug 28, 2017
We had the best stay imaginable for two reasons, the hotel location is the best possible and the hotel manager Tim and his team are a masterclass in looking after people. They make your stay so special! Reason enough to return. Tim is one of the nicest, funniest and most professional hotel managers ever! Missing you already Tim, Louise and family from London!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Tim H, Hotel Management
We hope you arrived back home without any issues and appreciate the opportunity to serve you and your family. We will be waiting for your return back. Thank you for the kind words and review. We really thank you for your business.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great hotel on the beach

Posted Aug 26, 2017
This was a great experience. Having the balcony was an added bonus.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Tim H, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and business. We look forward to your return. Until next time, please be safe and take care.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tampa Fl

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. I

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: Location is awesome, right on the beach, and near St Armand's circle with lots of shops and restaurants
Very dirty, very old. smelled musty. Water leaks in rooms beds were like sleeping on a piece of wood. What would have been the best part would have been the beach chairs they supplied but every time we went to the beach they were out!. We finally got 2 chairs about 5.30 in the afternoon on sat but then they came and took them away from us at 6pm. This weekend was a 16th birthday gift to my daughter. It was so bad we left after one night. Very disappointed and surprised Expedia have it on their site
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Tim H, Hotel Management
I apologize that you did not enjoy your visit. We are working on guest rooms and most rooms have had new mattresses installed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Palm Beach

Getaway weekend

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: The room need upgrade. Clean but need a lot TLC
Cons: If the room get upgrade. The rest it is very nice.
Location: Five minutes away from San Armand Circle. Everything you need for a great vacation is on site. Sunset, Beach, Pool, Tiki Bar, Restaurant and other
The facilities are very nice. The Restaurant on site beautiful and great food. Nice pool and Tiki Bar. Location that was perfect, just come out of you room and step on the white sand. The best Sunset on the West Coast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Tim H., Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your business. We are working on plans to upgrade the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Posted Aug 21, 2017
This hotel was 100% better than it looks! The tired resort has a few bandaids to say the least but the service and services make up for it! We really had great encounters with staff that could not have done a better job. We will be back, the beach was great and the only negative was the noise on the first day of them putting out the beach chairs but the second day it was much better. The food and service in the restaurant was excellent!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Tim H., Hotel Management
You cant find better service at any price. All of our staff want to spoil you and we are here to work hard so you can relax. We appreciate the opportunity to serve you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Davison MI

On the beaxh

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Hotel staff was nice.On site food way over priced and tips are automatically added to food bill.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK hotel only has beach going for it

Posted Aug 3, 2017
If the hotel adversites 5 people in one room, they need to have a bathroom that accommodates 5 people. They were small and very cramped.