Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lakewood Ranch, FL

Old Florida Beach Old Florida at its finest

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: The quiet, lovely gardens, and being on the beach.
Cons: It was perfect for Old Florida!
Location: It is located in the middle of Longboat Key. For shopping, St. Armand's is a short drive south. Mote Marine Aquarium is a quick drive away.
We had a lovely get-away at the charming Sandpiper Inn. It was quiet, relaxing, and being steps away from the beach was wonderful. Our rooms were clean and well furnished. Enjoyed having a kitchen that had all the necessary appliances. Publix was 4 miles away and had a great selection of fruits, meats, and wines. We enjoyed having a cookout on the outdoor grill! You can walk across the road to a nice restaurant called The Lazy Lobster. The food was superb. It was nice not having daily maid service because it made us feel more at home. If we needed clean towels, etc., they were easily obtained. Enjoyed the tranquil gardens and the peacefulness of the place. Checking -in was simple;so was checking - out. The owner was welcoming and everything we needed for the beach was available. Loved having our own beach! Will definitely return!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Inn, clean, quite short walk to beach

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: I'm good
Location: See above
Sandpiper is a clean, quite, fully equipped 1 bedroom Inn. They had two umbrellas, beach towels, plastic tub to rinse your feet in when returning from the beach. Lawn chairs and table on the porch. Beach chairs. Perfectly clear water. The kitchen had everything you'd need. Two Tv's. Fans and ac. The furniture was new and comfortable. We rented a bike a short walk from our room, Inexpensive to keep for a long time. We only got in our car once and that's because we had to ship out something heavy at the post office. We walked and biked when we went out. Lovely place. Go there.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2015
This was only last minute overnight trip for my family. Very quaint Inn on the beach, lovely landscaping. Great for those who search relaxing private setting.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect beach stay

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Rooms are cozy, the owners awesome and the views spectacular. Roll out of bed and onto a quiet beach!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cocoa fl

Very nice small condo feel to it

Posted Jun 18, 2015
This place had everything we needed! Right on the beach and close to great dining or cook in the perfect little kitchen with everything at your disposal . Love it here
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Great place to stay. A home away from home. Steps away from the beach. Each room has a fully appointed kitchen and a supermarket is close by. But if you want someone else to cook for you, Lazy Lobster is a very nice restaurant right across the street. Great for families and also romantic getaways, which is why my lady and I stayed there..
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Could not have been better.

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Pros: The Sandpiper is right on the beach. The cabana was a great place to sit and drink coffee, or to hang out during a shower.
Cons: nothing
Location: We liked the quiet of Longboat Key, and found Anna Maria Island to have some interesting and quirky places.
Our experience at the Sandpiper Inn could not have been better. From check-in to check-out, the property manager was pleasant and helpful. We had everything we needed. Staying right on the beach was so convenient. There were plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas. I saw a school of dolphins pass one morning. The unit (104) was comfortable, and well supplied. I gave the facilities a 4 because the room is not elegant, but I did not reserve an elegant room. It more than met our needs. Only having 11 units meant the private beach was not crowded. The Great Egret that patrols the grounds was delightful to watch. There were no disappointments.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: location
Excellent location, nice and quiet and staff very helpful when needed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Beautiful beach

Posted May 14, 2015
Wonderful little bungalow with beautiful beach right outside my door! All the amenities you need and walking distance to a little grocery and several nice restaurants. My own little kitchen and a blender for piña coladas. Spectacular sunsets! What more could we ask for. I look forward to coming back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lakeland, Fl.

A wonderful and relaxing 3 days

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: Built in the 50's and has the old Florida feel, but at same time, kept up to date. Encased in a beautiful garden, with a brick walkway to the gulf.
Cons: They do not have a maid service, which is ok with me. You place used towels outside in a wicker basket, and are quickly replaced.
Location: Location directly on gulf. Excellent restaurants within walking distance. Sarasota several miles away.
This was my 4th stay at the Sandpiper Inn, on Longboat Key. We used to travel over 3 hours to Estero Island, when we wanted to enjoy the beach. Longboat Key, is only 1 hour from our home. We love this area because it is very private with no commercialism. We finally found the new Publix, that overlooked a golf course. They have left the majority of natural greenery, and the homes and condos are magnificent. I would use the word PRISTINE, when describing the entire area.