Ratings based on 201 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Photos are misleading

Posted Oct 31, 2015
Pros: Nice beach--lounges and umbrellas provided. Pool is nice.
Cons: Amenities in room; LIGHT in room; suggest they advise desk clerk to have a "how can I help you" attitude and show her how to deal with Expedia clients
Location: Very few restaurant options nearby--can only walk to one. Generally expect to head to Sarasota proper for lunch or dinner.
We stayed in unit 243A, which was VERY SMALL and EXTREMELY DARK. Very poor lighting. No closet--just a cabinet. The TV was very old and small--no guide to determine channel options. Shower door swings with the breeze. Microwave only--no stovetop. Provided with only one very small, thin bar of soap for use at sink AND shower. No Wi Fi during our stay and very poor cell service, so tethering not an option. We were unhappy with our room and spoke with desk clerk twice about this. The clerk was pleasant (although she kept the sign saying she was "out and would return soon" on display at all times???!!!!) but she was overwhelmed, confused and reluctant to help us as we'd booked through Expedia rather than their office. On both visits to the office, she told us we'd have to pay again and then try to get a refund from Expedia on our own. We showed her an email we'd received from her management saying they would help us relocate and she finally started calling people to learn how to help us---but way too much of our limited time was spent on this and as we had only one night left at this point, we stayed with the original room. Although the beach and pool are nice, there are too many other resort/condo options in the area---so do NOT choose Silver Sands.
5 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Winter Haven, FL

Very nice location on the beach side and quiet

Posted Oct 9, 2015
Pros: It was very clean, as always, and convenient to walk to the beach.
Cons: the parking lot has standing water when it rains.
Location: The local restaurants are great. Fishing would have been better if the weather was better.
Since we have stayed at the Silver Sands for a long time, we knew we wanted something quiet for a few days. The surf was rough for a couple of days but the overall beach was very relaxing. We will definitely be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2015 by Jeff, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We try to do all we can to ensure a relaxing stay at our property.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful peaceful hotel right on the beach!

Posted Sep 30, 2015
Pros: Everything, especially that it was on the beach.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: The beach!
Very charming town. If you are looking for a quiet getaway this is the place to go. The hotel is clean and quaint and right on the beach! The hotel staff was also extremely nice, friendly and hospitable.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Clean quiet close to beach. Great staff warm pool. Room was comfy clean but tv was small. Room could use a throw rug or 2
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2015 by Jeff, Hotel Management
Thank you for your submission.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Misleading Description

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Pros: Location - quiet area but close enough to supermarket, restaurants, shopping. Beach - clean, Sufficient umbrellas/chairs Pool - large/clean
Cons: Again, be sure you don't get one of the "small" rooms as you will be disappointed
Location: It's a quiet place, for those who like the beach/pool. Shops, restaurants, beach/swim equipment rentals and other beaches all within 10 min drive.
First, the hotel, facilities and personnel, etc were fine. It was the shock that our room did not match our expectations based on the description. We were expecting a normal sized room with a small kitchen("kitchenette"). What we had was a small room with a Microwave and small refrigerator. It was funny to see a box of detergent for a dishwasher on the counter when the only way to wash dishes was to use the bathroom sink. It appears that our room was originally a second bedroom/bath from another room that had been blocked off and called a separate rental room. Even the bed seemed undersized. It was listed as "queen" but it sure seemed a lot smaller than our "Queen" sized bed a home. My wife and I joked that maybe it was a "European" Queen. Also if the weather turns bad(we had great weather) you'll be disappointed with the small TV. True, our confirmation from Expedia listed "standard hotel" room for 10 days, the hotel description of all rooms having kitchen facilities lead us to believe there would be more than a microwave and minifridge. .
5 out of 5
for Families
by peggy from Orlando

New Usual Place

Posted Aug 5, 2015 on Hotels
We had never stayed here before our usual place was sold out, and the price was ten dollars more a night but worth every penny. Great place clean and staff is friendly and helpful. Will now have a new "usual" place to stay. We will come back!
5 out of 5
for Couples
by John from Colorado


Posted Jul 24, 2015 on Hotels
awesome beach just outside the room! Great price! Will stay there again
5 out of 5
for Families
by Amanda

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 16, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
for Couples
by Eric from Ironton

Nice place

Posted Jul 7, 2015 on Hotels
Room was comfortable. Right on the ocean beach. Decent value for the money. Maid service forgot coffee and face cloths the second day but we made due. Pool looked great but didn't use it. Was a quiet and secluded atmosphere. Nice place. Don't bother trying to check in before 3 pm or after 5 pm unless you make special arrangements. Hours are a bit funky.
4 out of 5
for Families
by Linda from Maryland

Beautiful beach!!

Posted Jun 29, 2015 on Hotels
The room was a little small and dark, we got a regular hotel room, not a suite and it was on the front of the building. I liked that it had a fridge, microwave, dishes and coffee pot. The bed was a double, not extremely comfortable, but it was fine. The room was clean, the A/C worked good, nice flat screen TV, so overall, it was a good deal and had everything we needed. The best part was the location. Right on the beach, and they provided umbrellas and lounge chairs. They had a pool, shuffleboard and mini put-put, great options for kids. I would definitely stay there again, maybe next time asking for a bigger room on the beach side so I could get more natural light.