Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1.9 out of 5
40% of guests recommend
2.1 Room cleanliness
2.4 Service & staff
2.0 Room comfort
1.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel for your gthe ares

Posted Feb 22, 2016
The room although non smoking reeked of cigarette smoke as did all our clothes eventually On returning to our main hotel we had to wash every item. I believe it is under new management and things have improved but perhaps all the rooms could eventually be deep cleaned.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh , PA

Convenient Hotel

Posted Feb 18, 2016
Pros: Convenient to Sarasota
Cons: Garbage can in dinette needs to be larger and cleaned more frequently.
Location: Convenient on Rt. 41
Served the purpose for a short Florida trip. Hotel staff very accommodating and considering the new ownership, they are doing a great job with what they have.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Served the purpose.

Posted Feb 15, 2016 on Hotels
I was looking for reasonable priced bed and bath and that is what I got. Would have rated higher except that I reserved a non-smoking room and while there were no ashtrays or signs of smoking present there was a very unpleasant odor of stale cigarettes in the room, to the extent that after only a brief overnight stay my clothes smelled of it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No bargain

Posted Feb 13, 2016
Pros: The breakfast was acceptable
Cons: Thicker walls?
Location: Barnacle Bill's is a great restaurant nearby with good early bird specials!
Sarasota motels in the winter can be pricey. We were looking for a reasonable price for a bed for the night. We could see that the motel was undergoing renovations under new management & that is good. Ou big complaint is the acoustics. All night long there was a loud hum that disturbed my sleep. The next morning we figured out that the fan in the bathroom next door was running all night. The staff was polite & sympathetic, but the walls are too thin!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Near Barnacle Bill's

Posted Feb 12, 2016
Nice staff but kind of a dive. A fellow cues said to look for roaches. That tainted me, although I found none. Weirdest shower faucet I have seen. That alone would send me elsewhere.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from on the Gold Coast of FL

Looked.good but looks can be deceiving

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Pros: The rate was less than $100
Cons: Bigger bath room at least to enable a person to close the door and sit on the pot in private!
As a weary traveler after a long day in the Florida beach/ island traffic all I want is a room with excellent a/c and a firm bed. Unfortunately I got neither at this Super 8 motel! First, the room was stuffy and musty. It smelled as if it had not been used or even opened in a while. It reminded me of that spare bedroom which only gets opened for the last minute guests. Next, the bed was SOFT! UGH! Enough said. Last but certainly not least the bathroom was so small the toilet was named next to the tub and one could not close the door and sit on it. The front desk staff was courteous and efficient.
2 out of 5
by Ulla from Frederiksberg

Fugt

Posted Jan 14, 2016 on Hotels
Fin service der var nye ejere på,men der var meget fugt på det værelser vi lejet
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Hotel to stay away from

Posted Jan 4, 2016
This hotel room has no TV but has remote control which is kind of funny. The worst part is there were 3 roaches walking in the bathroom on the wall. The room simply is not ready and the hotel need upgrade. We left on the spot.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Dakota

Beware of bedbugs

Posted Jan 3, 2016
I stayed in room 119 for nine nights (Dec. 20-28, 2015). When I got out of bed on my last morning there, I felt a slight itch on my neck, and reached up to scratch it. I felt something on my neck, and when I withdrew my hand, there was blood and a partially crushed bug on my fingertip. I held it under the light, and was able to positively identify it as a bedbug. (I am a former Florida certified pest control operator, so I know my bugs - and this was definitely a bedbug.) I placed the bug in a sealed bag, and kept it for future reference if needed. I had to catch an early flight that morning, so I checked out shortly afterward. The overnight desk clerk did not appear to speak English very fluently, so I did not mention the incident to him. I called the hotel two days later, and told the manager. He responded that room 119 had been rented out both nights since my stay, and no one else had complained of bedbugs. I pointed out that I had not noticed any sign of bedbugs either during my nine-day stay, until I got bitten on the last morning; and that bedbugs are very good at hiding. He just reiterated that no one since my stay had complained of bedbugs in that room. He did say he would have pest control check it out. Bedbugs are extremely serious pests. They will readily hitchhike in luggage, and are extremely difficult to eradicate once established. I got the impression that the manager did not take my report nearly as seriously as the situation warrants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2016 by Vimal Patel , Hotel Management
Removal of current review due to: Hotel change of ownership and completed major renovations. Vimal Patel General Manager Super 8 Sarasota
1 out of 5
by Hoang from Chicago

Stay away if possibe

Posted Dec 30, 2015 on Hotels
Horrible hotel, smelly room, noisy AC.