Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

2.3 out of 5
27% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.1 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Golden, CO

COMFORTABLE STAY

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Catherine the owner was very pleasant and helpful. She and her husband are brand new owners of a well worn motel in the pretty little town of Saratoga, WY. We stayed in the "Homestead Cabin" which is the original building the motel was built around. It was very roomy with a full kitchen. Catherine has been able to make a few improvements but more are needed. The beds are very comfy and the towells are fluffy. Give some time and motivated new owners, this property will shine!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Catherine, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing The Sage and Sand Motel for your retreat, during your stay here in Saratoga Wyoming and thank you for your kind words. We are actually "New Management" and together with the owners of the motel, we are working hard to keep the history yet add upgrades while offering comfy, affordable accommodations with a personal touch :) We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Was fortunate another hotel had rooms.

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Have a process implemented to make sure rooms are ready and in habitable when guests check -in. Install real are conditioning.
Opened the door and there were dirty towels on the floor, beds unmade and takeout containers on the floor. We were moved to another room that was hot and smelly, the air conditioner was a portable unit that had to have ice put in it to cool the room down. We were lucky that a nicer motel up the street had rooms available so we checked out immediately and went there. I was still charged $90+ even though we didn't stay in the deplorable conditions. I will think twice now about reserving a room through Orbitz since I was given a surcharge for this horrible place. You should check out the places you offer more closely.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Ken, Hotel Management
You obviously entered a room that had not been cleaned and made ready for guests. Not knowing the date nor guest name, I cannot take action. New management will be installed soon, so this is probably a management error.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Knoxville, TN

Very outdated but very clean

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Bed was very comfortable. It had new floors in the bathroom and both of our rooms.
Cons: Tub and sink were very old and uninviting. The paneling needs to be replaced with drywall and it needs new windows and doors.
Location: It's in a great location for what we needed.
We got in really late and the guy was nice and accommodating. It is a quiet area and we were very glad to have 4 beds in our room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2017 by Ken, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback. We are constantly remodeling, but not in the high season. Some of your suggestions are being implemented right now.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old and outdated, limited options in Saratoga

Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
Service was good, however rooms are very outdated. Did not use the shower as it was in very poor condition.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2017
The motel is about 60 years old. We take pride in getting it remodeled, but we cannot do all rooms at once. We do have budget rooms that are smaller that the standard rooms and suites. Since the room was not specified, I cannot address the shower issue, but clean, comfortable rooms at the best rates is what we strive to be.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cheyenne

Convenient location

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Orbitz
Beds were HORRIBLE. Staff was friendly and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

bad hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2013
would not stay again the beds are uncomfortable and they are not queen size like they said they are only full size
2 out of 5
by Mickey from Colorado

Not worth it

Posted Jul 8, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Air conditioning, re-do the bathroom, install some decent lighting.
Location: Local, free, 24/7 hot spring pools are great! Restrooms, showers & lockers available (bring your own lock).
For what we paid, I expected better, especially for a property listed here. The evaporative cooler didn't work so the room was sweltering, the shower head was way too short, the tub was stained, the lighting was terrible. The only positives were the very efficient little fridge and the towels were surprisingly soft, clean & fluffy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Graet if your a rough neck.

Posted Sep 13, 2012
There was no A/C and the windows did not operate. This motel is appparently set up to accomodate oil field workers looking for rooms to share with others, THe pricing was rediculous for what you got. The manager tried to accomodate us the best he could but he was limited in what he could do.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only use if everything else in town is full.

Posted Sep 8, 2012
Very old hotel, not updated. Rooms are very musty and need updated. Tub was stained, bed spreads were very warn. Office doesn't open until 9:00 a.m., my guess is that they don't want to hear complaints.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Older place, clean, attentive management.

Posted Sep 8, 2012
Room 3 had a single and a double. The double was a bit saggy : when was the last time you ran into that? The single was fine, firm. The bath was remodeled and fine. An older place, in general,but being looked after. Oh, the lighting was pretty dim, too. Not out of the ordinary for older places, but energy-saving CFB bulbs need to warm up. It's a good idea to get the higher equivalent wattage from incandescent in my experience.