Ratings based on 549 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Upstate New York

Gideon

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Its service and its old style elegance.
Cons: The coffee.
Location: There is horse racing and SPAC for the performing arts. There are wonderful downtown shops. Loads of great restaurants. Nearby lakes.
It's a wonderful place to stay. Have been there many times. It is always clean, quiet and the staff couldn't be more helpful. I have stayed during holiday times as well as off season and never been disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nyack, NY

Traditional Feel, colonial decor

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Everything! Especially the hotel staff. Super friendly.
Cons: It smelled a bit funky in the lobby, the whole time.
Location: There was an automobile museum, skeeing, a whole downtown area "Broadway" a few minutes away. I loved the downtown area.
I loved staying at this hotel. -It had such colonial charm -The renovations are subtle which I liked because it still kept the grand theme of the hotel. -The staff was THE BEST!! So friendly -The grounds were beautiful! -The fire in the lobby was great! -And the rooms were perfectly warm with adjustable heating -The breakfast is a very fair price, but the quality of food was eh. Pancakes and fruit were very dry.
3 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Dilara

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from J

Just ok. Thought it would be better.

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Staff was extremely nice but the hotel is old and not well matained.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice stay

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was to be updated but we only noticed the passenger elevator update. The rooms are ok but some have different mattresses. Ours was terrible..we both rolled to the middle. Our friend's room had a soft high one..much better than ours. Some staff are great; others look annoyed to help you. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful as you are in a park.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty, Smelly, Uncomfortable beds, Don't Stay Here

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
Worst hotel I ever stayed at; horrible old beds; dirty; out dated, no activities even though advertised, hotel do not look like the photos. Very disappointing seeing i'm pregnant and was looking forward to relaxing. i actually cried and wanted to leave before my stay was up. Spa service sucks- dirty, looks nothing like the photos..
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
Room was old style and heater was very noisy, but spacious room. Hotel staffs are very friendly. It's located in a state park. My family and I enjoyed walking and running.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location for the spa.

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
Nice stay at a quiet time of year. We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant, and both were very good.