Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco

great town, convenient hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2015
Pros: no big frills. price was right. a mile or so to the Centro for dinner. Clean. Great selection for breakfast
Cons: the checkout took a little long as he used my credit card info from Expedia. If he would have asked for my card, it would have gone faster..
Location: to the Centro at night for dinner and strolling. Two miles away from train station for Cinque Terra
used as a base for our Cinque Terra experience. close to town, and autostrada. clean,, tipical European hotel. I would stay there again. Clean, friendly staff, good breakfast with lots of choices.
3 out of 5
by Jay from San Francisco

So So

Posted Jul 21, 2015 on Hotels
It was hot and crazy the AC didnt work in the hotel. they gave us fans at the night and they were full of dust. since it was last minute booking i had no options
5 out of 5
by J Young from Canada

Great hotel and staff

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels
The location was convenient for going into Sarzana - only a 10 minute walk to get to centre of city. Or you can drive in a couple of minutes but parking is limited. The hotel was clean, rooms were nice and spacious enough. Desk staff was great and spoke excellent English.
3 out of 5
by Patty from CA

Too far from Cinque Terre

Posted Sep 2, 2013
Pros: Staff was friendly. The set Ed us dinner even though we arrived late.
Cons: Room comfort, decor, breakfast was not included as thought. Not a great selection to choose from for breakfast.
Location: Near industrial area, out of the way. Had to take a taxi to get to nearest port to visit Cinque Terre. Then used a ferry to see Rio Maggio.
Took several trains and a taxi to finally reach hotel. Never got to visit Cinque Terre the day of travel because it was too late by the time we got to the hotel. Sara a is not close to Cinque.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ann

Nice Hotel, a walk away from the train station.

Posted Aug 16, 2013
Pros: We liked the family atmosphere, and it feels that you are in Italy in this hotel, it's not your
Cons: It would be nice if the shower was a bit bigger to fit large people like myself, but then it was good enough for a shower.
Location: This hotel is located on a main commercial street, restaurants and shops and the train station is near by.
This hotel has a home atmosphere as it is family owned, they care about their guests, the Wi fi is excellent in the room. their dinners are delicious and quite reasonable, there is a coffee shop attached to the hotel, located on a main street, the room was clean, the towels were fresh, there was just enough of everything, it served our needs. The staff were very friendly and are willing to help and even come out to the street to show direction. Very pleasant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by helene from France

Only for road stop

Posted Aug 9, 2013
Pros: the staff
Location: very good
Very good situation, easy to find. Sarzana is a horrible city when you have a car (italians like when you go fast ;) ) but the hotel was very clean.
3 out of 5
by kim

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 6, 2013 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Chris from Montreal

Nice clean hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2013 on Hotels
Just a 1 night stay before a trip to Cinque Terre. A little far out but reasonable price. Nice clean hotel, no frills. Helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sundaygirl from Wood-Ridge, NJ

Convenient, decently priced hotel for the area

Posted Jul 26, 2012
Pros: Attached pastry shop
Cons: Dated decor and bathroom
Location: Excellent--town of Sarzana lovely!
Very convenient location to southern Liguria and northern Tuscany, pretty close to the autostrada. The town of Sarzana itself was the nicest surprise--lovely downtown! We ate well there for very reasonable prices, and in the summer there was a carousel on the piazza for the kids. The hotel served its purpose. Very helpful front desk staff, nice lobby and a great pastry shop attached. The brioches for breakfast were delicious! (Breakfast not included in prices, but normal bar prices for pastry/coffee.) The rooms and beds were comfortable enough for our purposes. We were just looking for someplace decent to sleep as we visited the towns in the area and this was it. Not luxurious, dated decor, and the bathroom could definitely use some maintenance/updated but it WAS a stand-up shower box which is nice for Italy! So, if you are just looking a clean decent place to spend a night or two, this is it. If you want your hotel to be something to enjoy/spend time in--this is NOT it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Graeme from Brisbane, Australia

Exceptional hostess

Posted Jul 23, 2012
Hostess was exceptional - upgraded our room and bent over backwards to meet our requests