Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco

great town, convenient hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2015
Pros: no big frills. price was right. a mile or so to the Centro for dinner. Clean. Great selection for breakfast
Cons: the checkout took a little long as he used my credit card info from Expedia. If he would have asked for my card, it would have gone faster..
Location: to the Centro at night for dinner and strolling. Two miles away from train station for Cinque Terra
used as a base for our Cinque Terra experience. close to town, and autostrada. clean,, tipical European hotel. I would stay there again. Clean, friendly staff, good breakfast with lots of choices.
3 out of 5
by Patty from CA

Too far from Cinque Terre

Posted Sep 2, 2013
Pros: Staff was friendly. The set Ed us dinner even though we arrived late.
Cons: Room comfort, decor, breakfast was not included as thought. Not a great selection to choose from for breakfast.
Location: Near industrial area, out of the way. Had to take a taxi to get to nearest port to visit Cinque Terre. Then used a ferry to see Rio Maggio.
Took several trains and a taxi to finally reach hotel. Never got to visit Cinque Terre the day of travel because it was too late by the time we got to the hotel. Sara a is not close to Cinque.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ann

Nice Hotel, a walk away from the train station.

Posted Aug 16, 2013
Pros: We liked the family atmosphere, and it feels that you are in Italy in this hotel, it's not your
Cons: It would be nice if the shower was a bit bigger to fit large people like myself, but then it was good enough for a shower.
Location: This hotel is located on a main commercial street, restaurants and shops and the train station is near by.
This hotel has a home atmosphere as it is family owned, they care about their guests, the Wi fi is excellent in the room. their dinners are delicious and quite reasonable, there is a coffee shop attached to the hotel, located on a main street, the room was clean, the towels were fresh, there was just enough of everything, it served our needs. The staff were very friendly and are willing to help and even come out to the street to show direction. Very pleasant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by helene from France

Only for road stop

Posted Aug 9, 2013
Pros: the staff
Location: very good
Very good situation, easy to find. Sarzana is a horrible city when you have a car (italians like when you go fast ;) ) but the hotel was very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sundaygirl from Wood-Ridge, NJ

Convenient, decently priced hotel for the area

Posted Jul 26, 2012
Pros: Attached pastry shop
Cons: Dated decor and bathroom
Location: Excellent--town of Sarzana lovely!
Very convenient location to southern Liguria and northern Tuscany, pretty close to the autostrada. The town of Sarzana itself was the nicest surprise--lovely downtown! We ate well there for very reasonable prices, and in the summer there was a carousel on the piazza for the kids. The hotel served its purpose. Very helpful front desk staff, nice lobby and a great pastry shop attached. The brioches for breakfast were delicious! (Breakfast not included in prices, but normal bar prices for pastry/coffee.) The rooms and beds were comfortable enough for our purposes. We were just looking for someplace decent to sleep as we visited the towns in the area and this was it. Not luxurious, dated decor, and the bathroom could definitely use some maintenance/updated but it WAS a stand-up shower box which is nice for Italy! So, if you are just looking a clean decent place to spend a night or two, this is it. If you want your hotel to be something to enjoy/spend time in--this is NOT it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Graeme from Brisbane, Australia

Exceptional hostess

Posted Jul 23, 2012
Hostess was exceptional - upgraded our room and bent over backwards to meet our requests
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MidwestTraveler from MIdwest, USA

Basic, but clean hotel

Posted May 26, 2012
Pros: The staff was very helpful.
Cons: The room was very basic. There was no refrigerator in the room or ice machines in the building to allow us to keep food or beverages cold.
Location: The hotel is located on a busy street, but not in the older, picturesque area of town. It is a 10 minute walk from the train station.
This hotel met our expectations - the room was very basic, with no view, but it was clean. It is located on a busy street, about a 15 minute walk from the old, more scenic area of Sarzana. There was no refrigerator in the room to allow us to keep food or beverages cold and no breakfast was provided, unlike other places that we stayed, but there was a restaurant and cafe attached to the hotel. The hotel itself was a 10 minute walk from the train station. The hotel staff were very helpful in printing off train schedules for us and information about hiking in nearby Cinque Terre. They spoke English very well and were always very cheerful. The hotel does have free wi-fi, but we experienced some difficulties in accessing it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Inexpensive Hotel

Posted May 14, 2012
Very nice experience. Inexpensive restaurant and cafe attached to the hotel. Owners were very pleasant and helpful with our travel plans. Location was a 15-20 minute walk from train station. Nice that ice was available and at least one television station was in English.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A due passi da sarzana

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Un hall bella grossa e d'impatto i gestori molto a modo e cordiali,le camere sono abbastanza ampie e sono state ristrutturate non da molto tempo pero ci sono piccole pecche d'usura che in un hotel 3 stelle non dovrebbe esserci .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SP

giudizio

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: il personale
Cons: la cura delle camere
Location: vicino alla A/12
In camera l'aria condizionata non c'era, nell'armadio non vi era nessuna gruccia/appendiabito, le abat jour poste sui comodini a lato del letto non erano collegate con il cavo elettrico, abbiamo dovuto provvedere in proprio inserendo le spine nella presa