Ratings based on 629 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hoboken, NJ

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2017
I first thought the place was dirty, but honestly, it's just the colors they choose for the hotel. Very clean. Lovely staff. Super sweet diner staff. Wish I would have had the time to get in the pool though. 😕
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Guest Relations Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I am so glad to hear from you and to discover that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Thank you for your review our guest feedback is of the utmost importance. We certainly hope to have you back for a future stay and we hope you get to enjoy the pool the next time around.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Right off of 87N

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Basic maintenance on rooms and hallways. Trim was popping up, curtains didn't fit the entire window, AC could not keep up with the size of the room.
Location: There is a diner connected to the hotel, but it is far from the typical diner brimming with options. The salad bar is old and bland. All day breakfast
I expected better from a chain like Howard Johnson. The staff at check in was watching Law & Order SVU from across the lobby, which seems rather unprofessional, and he did not seem to care about my stay. This hotel fulfilled my need for a convenient place to stop after a long day of travel, but it was not the stay I had hoped for.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Guest Relations Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We strive to give you a great experience, and I am pleased to learn that we were able to meet your expectations in many ways; though I regret to hear that you weren't thoroughly impressed with our accommodations and services. Your feedback will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for you and other guests in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what was promised

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Original price booked was NOT respected by hotel. We were NOT provided breakfast as described in the original reservation. Staff said "oh well yeah, that's Expedia's fault…" and laughed about it. The towels were old and torn and dirty as was the bathroom. We are not content with the experience and feel it was totally misleading.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Jacob, Hotel Management
We apologize if there is some confusion regarding your bill and the amenities we offer. Further review of these claims resulted in the following information. After reviewing the transaction through our property management system and our credit card processor, we have found that the total charges applied to your credit card match exactly what was quoted by Expedia. If you did not receive a copy of your bill at check out we would be happy to provide you with one. After review of our Expedia page and consultation with Expedia support representatives we have concluded that free breakfast offered by our property is not one of the amenities listed. We would like to note that reference is made to the separately owned and operated diner located on the same property. This may have been the source of the confusion. We are sorry that the accommodations offered did not meet your standards. We hold ourselves to a high standard as well, to ensure our guests have the most comfortable experience possible. If an issue arises and our front desk staff is notified, they are instructed to do whatever necessary to correct the issue, whether it be replacing certain items or assigning a new room altogether.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Not the best

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Bed was comfortable
Cons: Hotel needs serious updating
Location: Area was nice, a lot to do in Saugerties
Hotel was out dated, room was not as clean as it could be. Fan in the bathroom didn't work, remote for TV was missing. Room was not worth the $ spent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Your comments will help us recognize our strength and improve upon our weaknesses,we thank you for bringing this to our attention so that it can be quickly addressed.We hope you’ll return someday to see how we have improved on the issues that you have experienced
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
it was old and run down
3 out of 5
by Michele

Charged Teice

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
The stay was ok. The hotel is nothing special but it was clean. Not happy with checkin. I had my debit card hold the room but when we checked in my husband used his card. In checking our bank accounts the n Ct day we realized we both got charged for the room. When calling Wayne said my card was charged because I used it to hold the room. Why wouldn't he have told me that when we used my husband's card at check in. It is 2 days later and I still do not have my money. I am very unhappy about this and will be calling again tomorrow to complain.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by maryna

Posted Mar 8, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Maryna, Thank you for stay with us at Howard Johnson Inn- Saugerties, and we appreciate you taking the time to share your rating of your experience. We hope to be of service to you again when your back in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 2, 2017 on Hotels
Maid woke me up at 9 am knocking on the door with the DND sign out front. That and the shower was awful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 5, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Please accept our sincerest apologies for the housekeeping issues that you encountered during your stay in our hotel. We thank you very much for letting us know so that we can effectively address this incident and ensure that it does not occur in the future. Sorry to hear the shower was not to your standards either. We thank you for sharing your experience and hope you will return for a better experience next time.