Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2015
The location and staff are great. The room was okay - average. Very large but the bathroom could've used a bit more attention for cleaning...and definitely for updating - still pink tile baseboard! It's the only place in the area- the pool was nice, breakfast area was fine and parking was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Peoria, IL

Clean and Comfortable

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Pros: Reasonably priced, comfortable and convenient.
Cons: Microwave and fridge in the rooms would be nice.
Location: Plenty of local favorite restaurants. Easy access to the Wisconsin River and all it offers, Devils Lake, Wisconsin Dells, etc.
Clean room, no odors. Well maintained inside and out. A little bit of mildew on tub grout. Sparsely furnished for "extras". No micro or fridge. Nice pool and whirlpool area, although we didn't use it this time. Continental breakfast was limited in selection, although what was there was good. Pretty much as advertised. Nice restaurants in the vicinity as well. We've stayed there before and will stay again when we need to be in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dodge County

Quiet and very clean place

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: Provisions for the handicapped and elderly people.
Location: We just went to a Shakespeare play, which was excellent.We also enjoyed the natural beauty of the area.
We stayed over night because we went to a play at Spring Green. It was a perfect. My wife enjoyed your hot tub, she said it very soothing. I was greatly impressed by the bars along the tub to help one get into. We really enjoyed the breakfast. Thanks for a wonderful time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

With no other hotels nearby, you will stay here.

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Spend one night at the Cedarberry and you will know why monopolies are illegal in the U.S. Since there are no other hotels nearby, they can gouge their customers and get away with it. $120 for a room that's on par with a $40 motel 6 room. Are you a veteran and hoping for a veteran's discount ON VETERANS DAY? Not going to happen here as the owner doesn't give a hoot about your military service that allowed him to run his awful, price gouging, veteran dissing racket. This really happened. Don't like it? Pitch a tent or stay in one of the hotels that are a 30 minute drive from here. At least you'll pay half as much, even if you do have to drive 30 minutes to get back and forth. They charge prices that are on par with Hampton Inn, but don't expect to get Hampton quality. You'll get motel 6 quality. I promise. If you could, you would go somewhere else. But alas, if you MUST stay in Sauk City, you will end up staying here. Good luck.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2015
Comfortable, quiet sleeping spaces. Public areas were clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Cons: Microwave and fridge in rooms~would be nice, but not a necessity unless traveling with children or meds that need refridgeration.
Location: Location is excellend. About mid way between Madison/Middleton and Baraboo/Wisconsin Dells. Easy access on Highway 12.
Wonderful small town motel. Location great and so are the prices. Located near several dining establishments including fast food. Comfort and cleanliness above expectations. Also, the front desk lady was wonderful, providing menu's to people with directions etc. Quiet, clean and comfortable. Having a microwave and small fridge would help, but I survived without them.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Left in the dark

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Overall the room was nice (if we weren't in the dark).
Cons: It seems as though a hotel would have a generator or at least see if there was a way to assist or offer to discount the room.
While staying at the hotel the power went out about 9:30 pm. We were in the dark and hot w/ no AC. When asking at the desk, they had not checked on the status and were not accommodating; stating it is a simple "act of nature." Eventually I was given a flashlight, which helped but overall, the situation was handled very poorly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

Went for annual Cow Chip Throwing Contest

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Rural setting, nearby restaurants, free breakfast, swimming pool and game room.
Cons: Better air system. These are always so noisy.
Location: We went for the annual State Cow Chip Throwing Contest. The area has very friendly people and fantastic restaurants Fishing, hiking, WI River rec.
Out of a unusually cool summer our weather was humid with some rain. This led to an increase in humidity in the room. Leaving you with a slight damp feeling. Not much choice of places to stay I the area. In all the motel was adequate, clean and quiet when we were there. Easy to fin and access. There was a pool that I was not aware of. It served the purpose well. Yes, I will say here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Very nice hotel that was reasonably priced. Large indoor pool that my kids loved. It had a good breakfast in the morning. We stayed two nights and both morning we left full and ready to start our day. The hotel is very quiet. It is right on the highway but we didn't hear a sinfal car. The hotel is only about a half hour from the dells and the drive us very easy. We would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice motel to stay.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
When we booked through expedia, it was mentioned as hotel, but when we went there its a motel. We were little panic as its a motel, but the receptionist gave us a warm welcome and make us feel comfortable. The room was excellent and the pool was great. Nice continental breakfast.