Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Very clean, nice rooms, upgraded, but breakfast was very poor in choices and quality of the food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Wonderful Stay!

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Everything seemed just built and brand new!
Location: We were there for a convention at Kewadin. Only just a couple of miles away. Also just minutes from all shopping, the Locks, downtown shops and dining
Very nice facility! Loved the staff and accommodations. Still going thru renovations so there were just a couple of hiccups:) Staff made them very close to un-noticeable. Will definitely stay again for next years convention!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oscoda, MI.

Very nice hotel, close to my daughters college.

Posted Aug 28, 2016
The hotel is redone inside, very welcoming. Staff is friendly and greet with a smile. Rooms are really nicely decorated & clean. Enjoyed the pool. Will definitely stay there again. Highly recommend to everyone.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Hotel in renovations. Wasnt notified of that before hand was also not told that the name of the hotel hand changed so we were driving all around looking for a hotel name that was no longer named that. Staff in casual clothing and didnt seem to know what they were doing. Lobby and our room looked nice, very updated and new. Sheets super dry/starchy. Halls to rooms were full of stuff and boxes to finish the other rooms and dry wall chunks or other renovation stuff all over the hall floors. Hotel shouldnt have been opened until finished in my opinion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Newly remodeled

Posted Aug 26, 2016
We stayed here a couple of times when it was the Soo Locks Lodge. We reserved several different trips back in January 2016 because we knew we would be in Sault Ste Marie often (our daughter enrolled at LSSU and was going to be starting her Freshman year in August 2016). Between a college site visit, orientation, placement testing, and freshman move-in, we planned several visits to the area. Our last visit was at the end of June 2016 right in the middle of construction. It was noisy, the rooms were crummy and the pool closed. This time was on 8/24/16, and the hotel had already changed to the Hampton Inn. The staff was great, the room great, pool and workout facility great. No complaints whatsoever. Breakfast was good, dining area good and if there was any construction still in progress, we wouldn't have known it. I'm glad that we kept our reservation from the last time we stayed, as it was well worth it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Nice hotel undergoing upgrading

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Wonderfully clean, new and comfortable room. Only down-side is that the hotel is being upgraded so no pool and gym facilities, and renovation works were going on in most part of the lobby.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S.

Construction

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Soo Lock Lodge is now a Hampton Inn. Unfortunately for us, no one had passed that along before we arrived. The place was a disaster, the pool area and gym were closed because of construction and you actually had to walk through the construction to get to the "finished" rooms. The rooms that were complete had nice finishes but the installation was terrible. Hopefully after this construction the Hampton Inn can get it together.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Cons: The breakfast was minimal. We were expecting hot and cold foods.
The beds were very comfortable with fluffy comforters. The room was very clean and newly renovated.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

UNDER CONSTRUCTION

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Finished rooms were very nice.
Cons: Customer service and satisfaction.
Location: A ton to do in the Soo.
Booked at the hotel a few days prior to our trip. Arrived in town and couldn't find it anywhere even though we had printed directions and GPS. Unbeknownst to us they were doing a complete remodel and changed their name to a Hampton Inn. Could not access the lobby, had to use the construction entrance. First and second floors were completely gutted, third floor was half finished. The lady working the counter informed us the pool and hot tub were shut down, but if I went to Super 8 and gave the person at the front counter $5 we could swim there. We got up to the third floor to go to our room to be welcomed by a strong odor and painters in full body suites and respirators spraying the gutted rooms. At that point it was to late for us to find another place to sleep. Luckily the hotel room was very nice, and there was no odor inside. The breakfast area was also gutted and only had bagels and doughnuts. The breakfast area was over run by the construction workers eating all the doughnuts and drinking all the coffee. The lady at the desk claimed it was listed on Expedia that they were remodeling, we triple checked again and found nothing stating they were remodeling. I would avoid this hotel for 2016, after the remodel it will probably be great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The future looks bright

Posted Aug 14, 2016
The hotel is under major renovation and my only complaint would be that I wish I would have known prior to arrival. They did the best they could with what they had. It will be very nice once it is done. Our room was spacious, clean, and newly updated.