Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from santa clara, ca

Great hotel and staff.

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Great clean hotel and staff was very nice. I'd stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Very clean, nice rooms, upgraded, but breakfast was very poor in choices and quality of the food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Wonderful Stay!

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Everything seemed just built and brand new!
Location: We were there for a convention at Kewadin. Only just a couple of miles away. Also just minutes from all shopping, the Locks, downtown shops and dining
Very nice facility! Loved the staff and accommodations. Still going thru renovations so there were just a couple of hiccups:) Staff made them very close to un-noticeable. Will definitely stay again for next years convention!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oscoda, MI.

Very nice hotel, close to my daughters college.

Posted Aug 28, 2016
The hotel is redone inside, very welcoming. Staff is friendly and greet with a smile. Rooms are really nicely decorated & clean. Enjoyed the pool. Will definitely stay there again. Highly recommend to everyone.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Hotel in renovations. Wasnt notified of that before hand was also not told that the name of the hotel hand changed so we were driving all around looking for a hotel name that was no longer named that. Staff in casual clothing and didnt seem to know what they were doing. Lobby and our room looked nice, very updated and new. Sheets super dry/starchy. Halls to rooms were full of stuff and boxes to finish the other rooms and dry wall chunks or other renovation stuff all over the hall floors. Hotel shouldnt have been opened until finished in my opinion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Newly remodeled

Posted Aug 26, 2016
We stayed here a couple of times when it was the Soo Locks Lodge. We reserved several different trips back in January 2016 because we knew we would be in Sault Ste Marie often (our daughter enrolled at LSSU and was going to be starting her Freshman year in August 2016). Between a college site visit, orientation, placement testing, and freshman move-in, we planned several visits to the area. Our last visit was at the end of June 2016 right in the middle of construction. It was noisy, the rooms were crummy and the pool closed. This time was on 8/24/16, and the hotel had already changed to the Hampton Inn. The staff was great, the room great, pool and workout facility great. No complaints whatsoever. Breakfast was good, dining area good and if there was any construction still in progress, we wouldn't have known it. I'm glad that we kept our reservation from the last time we stayed, as it was well worth it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Nice hotel undergoing upgrading

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Wonderfully clean, new and comfortable room. Only down-side is that the hotel is being upgraded so no pool and gym facilities, and renovation works were going on in most part of the lobby.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S.

Construction

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Soo Lock Lodge is now a Hampton Inn. Unfortunately for us, no one had passed that along before we arrived. The place was a disaster, the pool area and gym were closed because of construction and you actually had to walk through the construction to get to the "finished" rooms. The rooms that were complete had nice finishes but the installation was terrible. Hopefully after this construction the Hampton Inn can get it together.