Ratings based on 224 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

Reasonably priced hotel, a bit out of town

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Pros: Comfortable bedding, hot breakfast.
Location: Only a mile or so to Soo Locks, Historical Society, restaurants and shops.
We had a very comfortable night here. The room was almost identical to the one we stayed in the night before in St. Ignace, but for significantly less money. We've already recommended it to friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2015
TV in room was inop and staff was unable to fix it. Nor could they provide a discount since I had booked thru a third party.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hazel Park, Michigan

Excellent

Posted Jul 12, 2015
My husband and I stayed for four nights, it was an excellent stay. Very clean, everything was in working order, always had hot water and air conditioning. We will be staying there in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close Hotel close to Canada border

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Nice pool and free breakfast! Great for kids. Convenient after 12 hours drive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Perth, Scotland

Brief overnight stay

Posted May 29, 2015
Location: The main point of interest in Sault ste Marie is the locks and watching ships go through them. Good maritime information centre down by the locks.
We stayed here for one night on our way from Lake Michigan to Lake Superior. The hotel was up to the usual HIE standard with comfortable rooms and a good buffet breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2015 by Wendy, Hotel Management
Dear 2Scots, Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your recent stay with us. It is always nice to hear that the guest found the rooms comfortable and the breakfast good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Shelton from Wisconsin

Nice Stay in a Border Town

Posted May 28, 2015 on Hotels
Stopped here for a night over Memorial Day weekend. The only room available at the time of booking was a deluxe suite with a whirlpool, but the price still aligned with other lodging options in the area (on the US side of the border). The room was comfortable and plenty spacious for our family. The pool and spa area was nice, overlooked by the dining area (where breakfast was as you'd expect for a Holiday Inn Express - a-okay). The hotel location was convenient, right off of I-75 at the last exit before the international toll bridge. It was just a quick drive to downtown to the Locks and shopping. I would stay here again if in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2015 by Pat, Hotel Management
Dear Shelton, Thank you for your 5 star review, We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, from the friendly and accommodating staff to the spacious, comfortable room. We look forward to your next visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Beverly from Tecumseh

A good stay

Posted May 27, 2015 on Hotels
The room was clean and tidy. The pool was warm and not so full of chlorine that it stung your eyes. Didn't have breakfast because it was so busy that there wasn't room to sit, but it did look yummy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2015 by Pat, Hotel Management
Dear Beverly, Thank you for your review, it is good to hear that you found your room to be clean and tidy and that our pool was at a comfortable temperature. We are sorry to hear that due to the full booking of the hotel that you were unable to enjoy the complementary breakfast, we should have advised you on such occasions we do have overflow seating in our conference room just passed the elevators.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2015
The hotel staff were outstanding! I was in town on business and arrived and left at odd times and they accommodated me completely and did it all with utmost kindness. At every turn they were helpful, friendly and made my stay a terrific one.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2015 by Wendy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review, it always a pleasure to hear that the guest receive the same friendly, helpful service from our staff and that we were able to accommodate your needs. We hope to see you again soon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from El Dorado Hills, CA

Pleasant find

Posted May 8, 2015
Pros: The staff was outstanding and the breakfast was excellent.
We needed a hotel on the U.S. Side of the border with Canada. This was very close especially after a long drive. It is right across the border and easy to find.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2015 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5 Star review it very good to hear that the guest find that we are conveniently located and the staff is friendly and helpful. We appreciate you taking the time to complete the survey and giving us your feedback.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lawrence Mi.

Not a clean place.

Posted Apr 4, 2015
We stayed at a Holiday Inn Express in California that was great !! This one was nasty!! Our bed linen hadn't been changed as we found dark long hairs in the sheets. The shower had a wash cloth on the head of it and a razor left on the top of the surround . The exercise room was so hot that it was like a sauna .
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2015 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback, both positive and negative. We apologize that you found you stay to be disappointing. Had the concerns been brought to our attention upon the check in or prior to you departure we would of been happy to correct the matter at that time, However we will definitely address the issues you experienced to prevent similar situations for future guests. Thank you again.