Ratings based on 116 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manitoba

Great hotel for smokers

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: The room was very nice and the "accessible" shower was a bonus.
Cons: Being non-smokers, it was tough to take the heavy presence of cigarette smoke in all the public spaces in this casino hotel.
Very nice place with friendly staff and a decent restaurant and a casino. Our non-smoking room was the only place in the hotel where our eyes didn't burn from both fresh and stale cigarette smoke. If smoke doesn't bother you, it is quite a nice hotel at a reasonable price.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from near Grand Rapids, MI

Check in process a hassle

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Rooms were very clean
Cons: Hotel desk staff
Upon check in I was not allowed to check in because room was in my husbands name (he waited in truck so we could get to the door in pouring rain to unload). Was told he had to be at desk with photo I.D. so she could confirm him. I explained the card used was in my name. She just kept saying it wasn't the same card, wasn't the same card because I had booked thru Expedia. I went and got my husband and then she hassled me because my name wasn't on the room information even though the room was for 2 adults. She said if I had called the hotel direct to make a reservation then they would have asked for more information and we wouldn't have to go through this. If I had called direct I wouldn't have gotten this rate and probably wouldn't have stayed with them for two nights and spent money in their facility. Upon check-out I also couldn't be given a receipt for my stay because I had booked through Expedia. In 30 years of traveling with my husband and family I have never been hassled because my husband wasn't standing and the desk and that I possibly couldn't stay in room because my name wasn't also on reservation. Facility and rooms are very nice but will not be staying here again because of the hassle. I assume that the facility had to sign up to be part of the Expedia program but they certainly hassle you because you booked this way. Too bad!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

The motel gets a bad rap because of Expedia!

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Nice evening buffet.
Cons: 4 buses came in while we were checking in, so there was pandemonium at the only 2 elevators.
Location: Casino. I watched Packer game.
I asked Expedia to book a No Smoking room and when we arrived, all that was available was smoking. No other rooms available. My wife was very unhappy with rooms smokey smell. Beyond that, Hotel gets good rating. Great evening buffet. Shame on Expedia!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lower Michigan

very basic accommodation for the money.

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: good location. plenty of food and entertainment in the casino. close to other points of interest.
our room was in an older part of the hotel. very basic room with only a bed, a sofa, tv and a coffee maker. clean but showed signs of wear. probably would not stay there again due to the price.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Clare, MI

Nice hotel, a little dated

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: The Bed was great
Cons: Updating the rooms - the rest of the casino was nice - waterfalls and stone work.
Location: Saulte Saint Marie has lots of stuff close by.
The beds were nice, and very comfortable. The staff was very friendly too. I enjoyed our stay. The only thing I feel needs to be done is an upgrade to the rooms - Just minor things - The wall light scone didn't have a cover over it, some of the tile in the bathroom was cracked and the AC was really loud. Again, it was comfortable, but could use some updating
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good overnight stay

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Location: Location a bit out of the way but ok.
Room was average, comfortable bed and good amenities and facilities.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ontario


Posted Oct 2, 2016
I bit far from shopping but we were not there for that. Hotel is somewhat dated but our stay was quite enjoyable
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Step in the door and you smell like a cigarette

Posted Oct 1, 2016
If you don't mind having smoke fill your lungs, the smell in your hair and on your clothes, this is the place for you. What was I thinking when I was just wanting a place to stay for one night? I knew it was a casino, that should have sent off the alarm. Woke up about 3 times during the night and immediately smelled smoke in our non-smoking room. I can't comment on the services offered at this casino. We arrived late and left early to catch our excursion for the day. You should also know that the rooms are a good distance from the entrance to the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was clean and comfortable

Posted Sep 30, 2016
The hotel overall is clean and well kept. But it is time for some renos.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, Colorado

Decent price for the accommodations.

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: The building was beautiful. If your into swimming, saunas, etc. they have it.
Location: The Soo Locks is a must see. And Clyde's restaurant when open.
Room was quite dusty, the lamp bases, tv base and some of the furniture tops. There were fabric " bunnies " on the sheets, but the bed and pillows were comfortable. Most of the staff were pleasant, but didn't really go out of their way to make us feel welcome. I suggest skipping the breakfast buffet altogether, though the make your own waffles were great. A must have are the " wing dings " at the food stand.