Ratings based on 461 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sault st marie

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Clean and friendly people. Good time.food and entertainment were excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Patty, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice price

Posted Dec 8, 2017
When we asked the staff for late check-out, they gave us 30 mins. Kinda sad
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by P, Hotel Management
11:30 is the standard late checkout, this enables us to be sure rooms are clean and ready for the next arrivals
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Elliot Lake, ON

1st Time - There will be a 2nd!

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: Great rustic decor, friendly staff , great restaurant
Location: Soo locks are a short drive away and there is also some great shopping. Lots of restaurants too e.g. McDonalds, Arbys, etc.
It was our first visit to Sault Ste Marie, MI and we decided to head to the casino and stay overnight at their hotel. The hotel was decorated for Christmas and even the little bridge from the car park to the entrance had lights on it - great touch. As we entered it was almost magical with the beautiful decorations and the staff at the guest reception were friendly, helpful and made us feel very welcome. Our room was on the 5th floor - looks like the hotel is only 6 floors. The room was clean, tidy and in great condition. On the evening there was a lot of noise and activity from other guests who were there to enjoy themselves but once you put the fan on "high" you couldn't hear anything which was great. The guests were still having fun at 4 a.m. but I only heard them because I needed a washroom visit which was next to the door. Casino was fairly crowded but still lots of machines to play - we broke even and won monies to purchase our evening meal - bonus. We will for sure head for the casino again - most likely in the summer months, hotel rooms are price lower at this time of year but we certainly did not overpay this time. Great value for the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Really nice to have the buffets. New ribs great.

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: Beds were comfortable. Room Temp with no on and off noise was nice.
Casino was tight. didnt enjoy the Madrical crowd right outside of room eleavator. Gift shop could use a little variety. Quiet room yea.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Ontario

Clean and comfortable

Posted Dec 2, 2017
The hotel is clean and comfortable. My only negative experience was that I called the week before we arrived because we are Canadian and the exchange rate was high and I wanted to ask if I could play at the tables with Canadian currency and I was told no, that only American currency was accepted at the tables. I exchanged my money and it was very expensive. When I got to the tables I found out that I could have played with Canadian chips and I did not have to exchange my money. That bit of misinformation cost me about $200 and when i complained to the front desk they simply apologized and told there was nothing they could do.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Michigan

Clean room

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Pros: Lots to do.
Location: The Casino has a lot to do, gambling, comedy club. Several bars, snack shop, gift shop and the Soo Locks are near by.
Staff is great, lots to do and a very clean room. They load $10.00 for gambling on a rewards card which is fun. I stay for business so this time of year having vallet parking is a plus for the cold mornings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sudbury

Handicap??

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Pros: It is close to the shopping and the dinning room had a great meal for Thanksgiving.
Cons: It would be nice if they could have an door eater in the rooms to absorb the smoke smell.
Location: There is the casino, of course, shopping close by and if it were summer there is golfing and other activities as well as the train for Agawa Canyon ne
Again we booked through Expedia and receive the handicap room. Shower was awkward, coat when hung up were on the floor and toilet was also awkward. This room should be saved for the handicap or does Expedia know something we don’t? Room was smoke free but you could smell cigarette smoke everywhere in the halls especially as they smoked right by the elevators.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Casino hotel

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Blood stains on ceiling, bathroom vent was filthy, handprints all over window, wouldve been more comfy sleeping on the floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alpena, Mi.

Posted Nov 15, 2017
It was a good room, but could use some cosmetic maintenance. Some wallpaper peeling at seams. Dresser drawers would not stay shut. Tub floor has extreme worn spots. Room could use small fridge and microwave.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

Disappointing

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Cons: Make the satisfaction of your customer the most important goal of your entire staff.
This is a tribal run hotel so no federal or state laws apply so there is smoking everywhere. Beautiful facility but it smells like and ash tray. We paid through the room through Expedia and when we checked in they charged our card again. We checked in after 6pm so we had to wait until the next day to get with the manager to work with us and our bank to get our money refunded. Out of 5 people we dealt with only one apology and it wasn't the manager. No comps at all for the inconvenience. We left our review on FB and got a reply to leave our contact info so they could correct and its been a week and we still haven't heard from them. Its disappointing to see a business in the hospitality business not take care of their customer.