Ratings based on 193 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Close to downtown shops, ship locks & museum.

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Consideration for children's seating and menu (10, 7, 2 year old). Annoying toilet kept "running".
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2016 by Tori, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids

Not responsive to complaints

Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Close to the Soo Locks.
Cons: Hotel should be ready at check in time, whether or not there is a hockey game the night before.... No compensation for terrible night's stay.
Location: Soo Locks
We arrived at 3 pm to check in. We were informed that our room was not ready, so we went to the restaurant in the hotel to pass some time and ordered a late lunch. At 4 pm, we went back to the front desk and they said our room was now ready. We arrived to the room and the bed was not made and obviously had not been cleaned yet. The cleaning staff was in the area so we alerted the head maid and she sent her staff in to clean our room. We waited another 15-20 minutes for our room to be cleaned. All seemed well until 11 pm when the room next to us and the room across the hall started talking and laughing very loudly and moving back and forth from room to room. This went on until 3 AM. We called the front desk and said that the "party" outside in the hall was still continuing and we were unable to sleep with all the noise. Apparently, someone did come up from the front desk and asked the participants to end the party. It finally ended at 4 AM. Needless to say, we did not get any sleep. When we checked out, we politely informed the front desk person of our experience and lack of sleep. She responded "I'm sorry". No offer of how they could make up for our terrible experience, or refund of any kind.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
Overall the stay was fine for the hotel begin a historic landmark.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

pricey without amenities. i.e fridge, microwave.

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
A bit dated could use upgrades after many years of operating.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lansing

Disappointed

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
A/C controls didn't work, room way too hot and humid. Sofa sleeper broken. Pool area too hot and humid to be enjoyable. Staff did best they could with what they had. In hotels defense summer heat is normally not an issue in the Soo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quirky room with skylights

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: Location to Soo Locks was excellent. Location to International Bridge was very convenient. Great walking area with a multitude of restaurants.
We were parkside in a quirky little room with vaulted ceilings and skylight windows. One of the window shades was broken, so it couldn't be raised. Bed was comfy and bathroom of good size. I wouldn't reserve via Expedia again because I wasn't given an AAA/AARP discount option and when we arrived at the hotel they said they could only accept it if we had reserved through their site. This hotel didn't include breakfast, only 10% off in the restaurant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midland

Location is good, room not so much.

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Choose to stay at this hotel due to its location to the Soo Locks. The room was clean but accommodations were poor. Seating in room was one chair and one office chair ( no desk), vending and ice was in the basement 6 floors down. The pool looks much nicer in the picture as do the rooms compared to ours. For the price I expected something more.
4 out of 5
by Laura from Okemos

Great value

Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect location for visiting the Soo Locks. Also, this was the first time we took our dogs. For only $25, they were able to stay. Would highly recommend for anyone who doesn't care about the decor (needs a facelift from the 80's decorating) and is looking for proximity, cleanliness, and value.