Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Close to downtown shops, ship locks & museum.

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Consideration for children's seating and menu (10, 7, 2 year old). Annoying toilet kept "running".
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2016 by Tori, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quirky room with skylights

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: Location to Soo Locks was excellent. Location to International Bridge was very convenient. Great walking area with a multitude of restaurants.
We were parkside in a quirky little room with vaulted ceilings and skylight windows. One of the window shades was broken, so it couldn't be raised. Bed was comfy and bathroom of good size. I wouldn't reserve via Expedia again because I wasn't given an AAA/AARP discount option and when we arrived at the hotel they said they could only accept it if we had reserved through their site. This hotel didn't include breakfast, only 10% off in the restaurant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midland

Location is good, room not so much.

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Choose to stay at this hotel due to its location to the Soo Locks. The room was clean but accommodations were poor. Seating in room was one chair and one office chair ( no desk), vending and ice was in the basement 6 floors down. The pool looks much nicer in the picture as do the rooms compared to ours. For the price I expected something more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice old hotel

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Great place, pool could use some work, other than that it was great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: The location was great! Their WI-FI was easy to access The Bathroom was clean however had a slight odor
Cons: The air conditioning was not working. The rooms were very outdated. The staff was friendly however seemed to not understand certain procedures
Location: Good restaurants and shopping The Soo Lochs were awesome and a must see Great historic place Canada right across water
The location was great! However, air conditioning was not working even after contacting the staff. The room was very outdated and had a slight odor even though it was clean. The bathroom was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in Sault Ste. Marie

Posted Nov 25, 2015
Pros: Clean modern room
It is an older hotel but well kept up. It is right downtown so it is close to where you need to be.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2015 by Tori, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of our hotel the Ramada Plaza Ojibway. We hope to see you again soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paulding, OH

The only good thing is the location!

Posted Oct 1, 2015
Pros: The location. That’s it. However, don't bother asking for a room w/a view of the locks because with all the trees, you can’t see them nor any ships.
Cons: Housekeeping is lacking. There are cobwebs in the light fixtures in the hallways, and the air intake vents in our room and bathroom were disgusting.
Location: Good location near locks, shopping, and restaurants.
The gentleman with the initials ST at the desk is the most unprofessional employee I’ve ever seen in ANY company. He has no idea what he is doing, openly complains in a loud voice how he hates the management of the hotel, and how they never listen to him or his ideas. Nothing is his fault, it’s all the managers. Get rid of him!! No one had any idea how to add a 3rd night to our stay, so we said forget it and stayed somewhere else. Most of the employees here don't care. They are found hanging around outside, leaving the lobby completely unattended. More than one person left because no was at the desk. If there were a total staff change, including MANAGERS, the place would be better off. The managers evidently don’t care how the place is cleaned nor how it is run. If they did, they would look for areas that need improvement and be on top of things. They would never just have one person running the desk around check-in time, and they would MANAGE their employees. We were purposely locked out of our room too because the same guy at the desk did not have us sign anything or swipe a credit card at check-in!! They couldn't even call the room, or come knock. They just don't care about you, and make no effort to ensure you will want to come back. (We WON'T). And the $2.50 coupon for the restaurant is a joke. Talk about cheap! Your money is better spent ANYWHERE else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2015 by Tori, Hotel Management
As a manager I can tell you that the entire management team loves and takes pride in this hotel. The employee that you are referring has been terminated. I can guarantee that you will find much better treatment if you choose to stay with us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan Bay Area,

convenient to the entrance to the Soo Locks,

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: location and the nice quality
Cons: pool area
Location: close to eating areas and shopping and the Soo locks.
very nice location and the hotel was clean and a friendly staff. the pool needs some help, no towels when we arrived and peeling rusty paint on the roof
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Great location for visiting the locks, shopping, and dining
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

A nice place right in town.

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: Good service, good form good location.
Cons: Our room was supposed the be wheelchair accessible, but the bathroom door was too small for my standard wheel wheelchair to fit through!
Location: It was right by the Soo Locks and the main tourist street.
The room was wonderful, and the restaurant fabulous.