Ratings based on 166 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quirky room with skylights

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: Location to Soo Locks was excellent. Location to International Bridge was very convenient. Great walking area with a multitude of restaurants.
We were parkside in a quirky little room with vaulted ceilings and skylight windows. One of the window shades was broken, so it couldn't be raised. Bed was comfy and bathroom of good size. I wouldn't reserve via Expedia again because I wasn't given an AAA/AARP discount option and when we arrived at the hotel they said they could only accept it if we had reserved through their site. This hotel didn't include breakfast, only 10% off in the restaurant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midland

Location is good, room not so much.

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Choose to stay at this hotel due to its location to the Soo Locks. The room was clean but accommodations were poor. Seating in room was one chair and one office chair ( no desk), vending and ice was in the basement 6 floors down. The pool looks much nicer in the picture as do the rooms compared to ours. For the price I expected something more.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice old hotel

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Great place, pool could use some work, other than that it was great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: The location was great! Their WI-FI was easy to access The Bathroom was clean however had a slight odor
Cons: The air conditioning was not working. The rooms were very outdated. The staff was friendly however seemed to not understand certain procedures
Location: Good restaurants and shopping The Soo Lochs were awesome and a must see Great historic place Canada right across water
The location was great! However, air conditioning was not working even after contacting the staff. The room was very outdated and had a slight odor even though it was clean. The bathroom was good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nothing Fancy!

Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
Needed a room for the night..It was the only one available within an hours drive of Mackinac Island..The room was clean,just outdated. The air conditioning wasn't really cool..Overall, it was ok for one night stay.
4 out of 5
by Kenneth A. from Grand Rapids, Michigan

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed two nights. The front desk clerk was very good, helpful and friendly. Can't remember her name but had a blonde ponytail.
1 out of 5
by Nancy from Novi

Location good, room bad...

Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
Picked this hotel for location right downtown in Sault Ste. Marie - within walking distance of Soo Locks and local restaurants. That worked out great. This is an historic hotel, which is nice, but the rooms haven't been updated in over 30 years. The furniture, carpet, decorations and bedding were all very old and we were uncomfortable there. The AC was very old and rattled all night. The bath wasn't bad - newer faucets. The wifi was very spotty and the staff didn't know how to fix it. There used to be free continental breakfast, but that no longer exists and we were encouraged to eat at the hotel restaurant because it was "worth it" (we skipped it and ate breakfast down the street at a nice family diner.)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Clean, VERY quiet, great internet connection, friendly staff
Cons: The restaurant - not really prepared to "open" for breakfast at 7AM. One staff when I walked in, cash register ancient & inefficient, lukewarm coffee
Visiting for business - Convenient location to client and downtown. While the hotel building is old it is well maintained.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 8, 2016 by Tori, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of our hotel.
4 out of 5
by Bonnie

Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels
Staff went above and beyond to help. Only issue is Hotels.com shows free breakfast included. They indicated this has changes. Ee
Comment from Hotel Management
by Tori, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review of our hotel. I am sorry for the misunderstanding. We hope to see you again in the future.
4 out of 5
by Sue from Kentwood

Posted May 17, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoyed the pool
Comment from Hotel Management
by Tori, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Sault Ste Marie.