Ratings based on 188 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New Haven, IN

Very nice & close to the "Locks"

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: The bar was very nice. We had a nice bartender. He made excellent drinks. Bought a flat-bread pizza too. Very good!! It was very clean!
Cons: Maybe some basic dishes & supplies for the suite. More towels in the bathroom. (Only had 2 bath towels) **I know we could have called for more.
Location: Walking distance to the Locks. Located on main street of shops. Good local cuisine.
We wanted a hotel within walking distance to the locks. Despite some reviews I had read online last year, we booked it anyway. OMG! This facility was nicer than the 1yr. old hotel/beach front/convention center hotel we stayed in the 2 nights before, in Mackinaw City. From check-in to check-out, the staff was very accommodating. We arrived early and parked in their parking lot. (Noticing that everywhere was metered parking). We went inside, asked if we could park there. The clerk said, "no problem". We checked out the shops, until check in. We came back to check in (2 adults and a 14 yr old). We had reserved a king-size room. She noticed we had our teenager & asked if we wanted a room w/2 double beds? I asked if they had any w/2 queens? She said no. I asked if they had a king room w/a pull-out couch or rollaway? She said she could get us one. When we opened the door to our room, there was only a king-size bed...no couch. We were tired, and took a nap. A couple hours later, I asked my daughter to call down & ask about the roll-away. She said she preferred to go down in person. When she came back, she had keys to a different room. She said the manager was down there, & said the clerk messed up. The clerk had though she put us in a room w/a pull-out sofa. Our new room was a king-size suite. It had a sitting room w/a pull-out sofa, & its own TV. My daughter was in "heaven". We had our own "room" w/a door & huge garden tub, & our own TV too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Iconic hotel in town

Posted Jul 8, 2017
This is in the heart of town right on the locks. That was the neatest part of staying here and worth it in a town with little to Choose from. Staff was polite but stuffy and a little pushy about eating at the hotel restaurant. We found several places across the street with excellent service and food choices. Although, we ventured into Canada 🇨🇦 for dinner one night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2017 by Tori, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of our hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
Was really disappointed, chose the location specifically for pool and hot tub. No one mentioned that she we checked in. If we would have known we would have changed our reservation. The rooms are in desperate need of renovation. Great location though, centrally located near the Soo Locks.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rude staff

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
The key card machine was not working and had not been working for several weeks prior to our stay, which we were not told until our key wasn't working to get into our room. Later the same night my fiancé was trying to get into our room and his key didn't work, again. He made 4 different trips down to the desk for different keys before the clerk yelled at him and accused him of being drunk. After trying for half an hour to get into the room the clerk finally came up to the room to let him in, after being asked to, she never offered, and she was still unable to get him in because the card reader for our door was broken.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Close to downtown shops, ship locks & museum.

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Consideration for children's seating and menu (10, 7, 2 year old). Annoying toilet kept "running".
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2016 by Tori, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids

Not responsive to complaints

Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Close to the Soo Locks.
Cons: Hotel should be ready at check in time, whether or not there is a hockey game the night before.... No compensation for terrible night's stay.
Location: Soo Locks
We arrived at 3 pm to check in. We were informed that our room was not ready, so we went to the restaurant in the hotel to pass some time and ordered a late lunch. At 4 pm, we went back to the front desk and they said our room was now ready. We arrived to the room and the bed was not made and obviously had not been cleaned yet. The cleaning staff was in the area so we alerted the head maid and she sent her staff in to clean our room. We waited another 15-20 minutes for our room to be cleaned. All seemed well until 11 pm when the room next to us and the room across the hall started talking and laughing very loudly and moving back and forth from room to room. This went on until 3 AM. We called the front desk and said that the "party" outside in the hall was still continuing and we were unable to sleep with all the noise. Apparently, someone did come up from the front desk and asked the participants to end the party. It finally ended at 4 AM. Needless to say, we did not get any sleep. When we checked out, we politely informed the front desk person of our experience and lack of sleep. She responded "I'm sorry". No offer of how they could make up for our terrible experience, or refund of any kind.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
Overall the stay was fine for the hotel begin a historic landmark.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

pricey without amenities. i.e fridge, microwave.

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
A bit dated could use upgrades after many years of operating.