Ratings based on 185 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rude staff

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
The key card machine was not working and had not been working for several weeks prior to our stay, which we were not told until our key wasn't working to get into our room. Later the same night my fiancé was trying to get into our room and his key didn't work, again. He made 4 different trips down to the desk for different keys before the clerk yelled at him and accused him of being drunk. After trying for half an hour to get into the room the clerk finally came up to the room to let him in, after being asked to, she never offered, and she was still unable to get him in because the card reader for our door was broken.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Close to downtown shops, ship locks & museum.

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Consideration for children's seating and menu (10, 7, 2 year old). Annoying toilet kept "running".
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2016 by Tori, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids

Not responsive to complaints

Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Close to the Soo Locks.
Cons: Hotel should be ready at check in time, whether or not there is a hockey game the night before.... No compensation for terrible night's stay.
Location: Soo Locks
We arrived at 3 pm to check in. We were informed that our room was not ready, so we went to the restaurant in the hotel to pass some time and ordered a late lunch. At 4 pm, we went back to the front desk and they said our room was now ready. We arrived to the room and the bed was not made and obviously had not been cleaned yet. The cleaning staff was in the area so we alerted the head maid and she sent her staff in to clean our room. We waited another 15-20 minutes for our room to be cleaned. All seemed well until 11 pm when the room next to us and the room across the hall started talking and laughing very loudly and moving back and forth from room to room. This went on until 3 AM. We called the front desk and said that the "party" outside in the hall was still continuing and we were unable to sleep with all the noise. Apparently, someone did come up from the front desk and asked the participants to end the party. It finally ended at 4 AM. Needless to say, we did not get any sleep. When we checked out, we politely informed the front desk person of our experience and lack of sleep. She responded "I'm sorry". No offer of how they could make up for our terrible experience, or refund of any kind.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
Overall the stay was fine for the hotel begin a historic landmark.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

pricey without amenities. i.e fridge, microwave.

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
A bit dated could use upgrades after many years of operating.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lansing

Disappointed

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
A/C controls didn't work, room way too hot and humid. Sofa sleeper broken. Pool area too hot and humid to be enjoyable. Staff did best they could with what they had. In hotels defense summer heat is normally not an issue in the Soo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quirky room with skylights

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: Location to Soo Locks was excellent. Location to International Bridge was very convenient. Great walking area with a multitude of restaurants.
We were parkside in a quirky little room with vaulted ceilings and skylight windows. One of the window shades was broken, so it couldn't be raised. Bed was comfy and bathroom of good size. I wouldn't reserve via Expedia again because I wasn't given an AAA/AARP discount option and when we arrived at the hotel they said they could only accept it if we had reserved through their site. This hotel didn't include breakfast, only 10% off in the restaurant.