Ratings based on 537 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Nice room, newly remodeled. No hair dryer. Had no warning that motel is under construction. Much construction debris outside and some inside. There should have been a price break.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sucked.

Posted Jun 30, 2016
The entire hotel was under reconstruction and should not have been open.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2016
This hotel is in shambles right now in the middle of construction stunk really bad pool was shut down boxes all over outside and won't give me a refund so I got to pay for 2 hotels because I walked right back out !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Under Construction

Posted Jun 26, 2016
The room was fine, but at 6 am Day 1, construction started directly above us. We are early risers, but 6 am was too early. Day two it was 7 am. Let us sleep a little. It's vacation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

disappointing experience in well-located hotel

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: hotel staff did a good job where they could. they prob didn't have much say over the state of things, but were helpful.
Cons: communicate clearly whether there is construction going on. also recompensate customer if pool, gym etc is closed due to renovations.
neither hotel nor Expedia communicated that the pool and gym were closed due to renovations. bed sizes (supposed to be full-sized) were smaller than expected. no communication about the renovations - the whole hotel had an old feel, carpets were stale and right outside felt like a construction site. not a very pleasant experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sault st marie michigan

It's under renovation

Posted May 29, 2016
Should have been told that all amenities would be closed before check in instead of when we arrived
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from michigan

Horrible!

Posted May 26, 2016
I emailed Expedia about my trip, and never heard back. The hotel looked closed down. Dump trucks and mounds of sand all over the parking lot, toilets sitting in the parking lot. A/c didn't work, closet door fell off, tiny beds. The pool, hot tub, and fitness center all closed. Tarps hanging in the hallway, wires hanging out of walls and ceiling, plastic over our room window. It was a horrible stay! Never once was it listed that this hotel was under construction. They told me I couldn't get money off or a refund since I booked online, but haven't been able to reach anyone at expedia.
3 out of 5
by phillip from Sears, Michigan

Very unhappy and disappointed.

Posted Apr 15, 2016 on Hotels
We were very disappointed, we had stayed here before and were happy. BUT not this time. The first room had cobwebs in the corners, the walls had damage, the Jacuzzi tub had 2 inch gaps at the edges where it was supposed to meet the walls, the bathroom tub needed to be caulked along the floor and tub. The temperature knob on the refrigerator was broken off. The walls had black scuff marks. We were given another room immediately but, the second room was not much better. On our first morning the maid was in the hallway cleaning rooms and saw us leaving, and we removed the do not disturb sign, but our room was never made up, we had to go to the desk for clean towels. There were only about a dozen guests staying there due to the remodeling, so there is no excuse for our room not being made-up. Also the out side doors were not locked and the walkway was ice covered, and dangerous. But the second room even though it had all the same amenities was not much better. The room they were serving breakfast in was so cold the food cooled before you could eat it. When you are paying $125.00 a night, you expect a better experience. It will be a long time before we come back. If you think we are exaggerating, we have pictures. We understand that the hotel is being renovated and under new ownership, but the guests with reservations should have been notified ahead of time and been given financial consideration for the poor conditions and inconvenience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Read the fine print, lesson learned.

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
The room was clean and fine. Breakfast was ok, English muffins were stale. I was disappointed to arrive and find the hotel was under construction. Overall it did not end up affecting our stay. We made the best of it. It was not obvious on hotels.com that the construction was happening. The nice girl at the front desk showed me where it was "hidden" under "things that may affect your stay". I wish I had had time to review the fine print. The rate was any better than a neighboring hotel would have been.
4 out of 5
by Michael

Extensive remodeling being done.

Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
Was hard to rate, they were in the middle of converting to a new name, and were doing a ton of construction. Neither lobby or pool was available, breakfast was served in a room, and parking lot was taken up by construction equipment and materials. Room was clean, and staff were very polite and apologetic over mess, and issues.