Ratings based on 400 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of the hotel Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Green Bay, Wisc

The staff was friendly and helpful.

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Room was comfortable. Nice new, clean hotel. Breakfast was very good.
Cons: N/A - see my positive comments. We were pleased with everything.
Location: We love the Soo Locks, walking around downtown Sault Ste Marie, and driving along the Lake Superior shoreline in Canada.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of the hotel Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan. Very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you can make it back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manitoulin Island, Ontario Canada

super friendly staff

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: location, friendly
Location: 5 minutes from sports complex, eateries galore within walking distance. Farmers market nextdoor. many shops as well as a couple bix box stores close.
Let us come in to our room earlier then usual without hestitation and was made to feel very welcome and valued. Enjoyed our stay. Good references for activities in the local area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of the hotel Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan. We have the best staff in town and can always recommend great local restaurants and attractions.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of the hotel Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay. Don't prepay for your room, though.

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Nice layout, not gaudy like a lot of hotels. Clean bathroom, and I liked the floorplan overall. The bathroom was spacious, and I had no issues getting the water to the temperature I prefer. It was quiet, even though I was on the second floor!! I was impressed in that regard. Cons: For the price, I really expected something better. The vents were dusty, my room smelled weird, and my bedding had a vomit stain(?) running down the side of the bed. The carpeting would benefit from some steam cleaning! Breakfast area was too crowded at 8am to get anything. The night attendant was really nice, and got me new bedding ASAP in regards to the stain and apologized. The manager did as well the next morning, but he could not do anything to make the experience better because my room had been paid for in advance (had I not, he would have given me a discount; so, they will make things better if they can.) For what I had paid, I expected something cleaner.... On the other hand, it seemed that the hotel was booked full, so there may not be enough time for the housekeepers to do as much work. I think the hotel would benefit from more help in that regard, and maybe deep clean rooms on a schedule to avoid what I experienced. I would recommend the hotel if you plan on paying for it when you check out. For what it is worth, I have high standards of cleanliness and do not stay in hotels often. I think this hotel has potential; my one night experience was just lackluster.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of the hotel Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan. Sorry for the mishap. We now have a new housekeeping operating procedure here at the hotel. Staff will always help with any issues. Glad we could fix things.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of the hotel Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Dirty and disgusting place

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: Great place to visit
Building needs to be demolished. I would not recommend this place to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of the hotel Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan. We apologize that we did not meet your standard and will strive to improve our property. We hope that you will give us the chance to better serve you in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Travelling retired couple.

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
Room was comfortable, staff were helpful and polite. Hotel was close to all the main amenities with easy access to and from the interstate Hwy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of the hotel Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan. The Super 8 is centrally located with only a few minute to all attractions.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of the hotel Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Serviceable hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
Wish room would have had a mini fridge. Friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of the hotel Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan. Next time through just ask. We do have refrigerators available on request.