Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

2.4 out of 5
33% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location is great.

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: Staff was really helpful!
Cons: Hotel is currently going through renovations and it will be interesting to see the results.
Location of hotel was close to three tourist sights and the building has great potential.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice Simple Hotel

Posted Oct 29, 2016
I've lived in the Soo for 2 years before staying here for a visit. Was a nice hotel, very clean and comfortable. Not creepy looking like some people would say. Would stay again
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2016
We told the clerk that we were already billed for this since we made the reservation a year in advance from expedia and i have all the receipt if needed as a proof.However we were made to pay again plus $20.00 deposit which was given back to us on check out.Totally a very disappointing experience.I made a complain to expedia about this experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just plain bad.

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: The location was nice.
Cons: Basically, everything was bad.
Location: Near fast food, bars, and has a view of the bridge to the USA.
I'm not fussy, I've stayed in some dumpy places, usually cheap outweighs anything else, but this place was just bad. I got a 3rd floor room with no elevator (no elevator, just old creaky stairs.) There was no air conditioning in the room, not fun in August. No shower, just an antique bathtub shared with the neighboring room. Door did not have a working lock. Bad odor in the halls. Long hairs on the sheets. A surprise $20 key deposit, which is even more useless because the door didn't lock. Just awful. Stay anywhere else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Excellent Price

Posted May 22, 2016
Pros: The low price was what brought me to this hotel and I liked that it was different from your average run of the mill hotel.
Cons: There was no coffee in room, but coffee was available in the main lobby.
Location: The hotel is located downtown with many restaurants and a mall within a short walking distance.
The hotel looked like an old castle, but the room was was very modern. and comfortable. It took no time to check in and I was able to check out an hour later the day I left with no additional charge. There was a bar/lounge on the main floor with various music memorabilia on the walls and a large patio to sit outside. Overall, It was an unexpected, enjoyable experience for an excellent price.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ON

Terrible hotel in a sketchy area.

Posted Apr 24, 2016
The bed sheets were dirty with hairs and blood stains. The towels had hairs on them as well. The rooms air was sale and the heater (which we could not turn down) was so high and didn't help the rooms air quality. Don't e deceived by the pictures, you can find better for the same price in Sault St Marie.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london ontario

Don't go

Posted Jan 5, 2016
One of the worst hotels I have seen in my life, no towels, no tissue paper, sooo old and outdated. I will never go back.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid if possible...

Posted Nov 22, 2015
Pros: Nothing to like really
Cons: Have some clean sheets, clean towels, some shampoo and soap,.....
Location: location was ok
I stayed for one night at this this place. I looked at the rating prior to booking the place and did not pay attention, as i told myself i am only staying one night so i can handle it !! Washroom: Be careful as they have limited rooms with washrooms inside, This place is like a hostel where there is shared bathroom on the floor for multiple rooms. I had to pay extra (yes over what i have paid on expedia) to get a room with a bathroom. This is not mentioned on expedia so be careful. Cleanness: The room and washroom was nothing but clean. There was only two small towel in bathroom which was both stained. Also the pillow cases were stained. I had to use my own towel and blanket. Noise: The hotel has a bar, although my room was on not directly above the bar, my whole room was shaking. And remember i said the washroom is shared, you will hear people going to the washroom and slamming doors all night. So make sure you have a ear plug if you are planning to sleep. Amenities: Nothing to mention here, the bathroom had two very old soap, and no shampoos. Overall i say just try to avoid going here even if for one night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Very good

Posted Oct 10, 2015
Pros: Old style of building
Cons: Telephone
Location: Visit Sault Marie river
We stayed there for 2 days. The staff were very friendly and helped us to deal with some probelms. Thanks Algonquin Hotel!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PEI, Canada

Not recommended

Posted Oct 10, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Clean up the entryway of the hotel as it had a nasty smell.
Location: Close to the Casino and a short drive to many food and merchandise areas
Arrived after a long day on the road and the room was clean and spacious. Had to get more towels from front desk on arrival for the two of us. The toilet broke in the middle of the night and would not flush. Hoped to have a hot shower in the morning and there was no hot water even after allowing the tap to run for 3-4 minutes....Very disappointed. Would not recommend it for the price pad which ended up being $111 Cdn after tax