Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Carole-Lyne R

Wonderful

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
The room was wonderful, if you stay in the front you get view of the Loire. In the back you see the garden and Oh Yes a Castle! They hotel is a the base of a Castle. The is so helpful and bilingual. Food great for breakfast, and Restaurant is wonderful. Would stay there every time we visit. Restful and comfortable.
5 out of 5
by Richard

Loved it!!!

Posted Dec 26, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing and restful. Jean-Rene and his wife along with Nicholas made our Christmas very special and unforgettable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boca Raton, United States of America

Second visit

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Location: Right on the Loire and central to everything, you can walk to the castle, shops, restaurants
This is my second time at this lovely hotel. The owners are hands on and it shows in the care. The location, with views of the Loire, is breathtaking, I stayed in one of the rooms with Loire view and highly recommend. There is parking for a small fee and an excellent morning buffet as well that you should consider. Five stars!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Very happy to have stayed at this hotel.

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: Hotel overlooking the river with beautiful views from the bedrooms at the front.A walk into and round the old town was very pleasant.
Hotel very good and the staff very helpful. Very pretty courtyard at the back to sit and have a drink etc. Private parking is available on request at the rear of the hotel (charges apply)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colchester, England

Comfortable, slightly old fashioned hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Pros: The character of the place and the staff.
Cons: Air conditioning.
A lovely hotel, in an excellent position overlooking the river and quiet but close to the centre ville. Very nice room and friendly staff. But be warned that 'old fashioned' also means 'no A/C', which is a real issue with temperatures in the mid 30Cs. Breakfast good but quite expensive, though there are many cafes within ten mins walk.
4 out of 5
by Gareth from Birmingham

A glimpse into the luxuries of the past...

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
A glimpse into the luxury of the days of the Grand Tour, this traditional hotel offers spectacular views of the Loire, and is nestled at the foot of the famous chateau. The secluded courtyard provides the ideal space for quiet and cool reflection, and the on-site restaurant looks superb (although was closed for our stay.) The staff are exceptional; courteous, attentive, and reflective of the standards and style of the establishment. As an old building, some 'mod cons' are missing - think, 'fan in the bedroom, rather than air con' - but that is all part of this wonderful hotel's old world charm. Recommended for romantic getaways.
4 out of 5
by Elizabeth

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 9, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Pleasant hotel in Saumur

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: Pleasant and helpful staff!
This is a pleasant hotel; our room looked out on the Chateau de Saumur; it's amazing having that view from your window. The hotel is on a main street, but the rooms in the back like ours are quiet. It is in a cool neighborhood with wonderful restaurants nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Anglia, UK

Super hotel very well placed to explore Saumur

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: Quality heritage building, pleasant helpful staff, secure parking and a very good breakfast.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Close to historic centre of this beautiful ancient city overlooked by the enormous chateau. So much to see, do and sample.
What a lovely hotel. Staff so friendly and helpful. Shown to our room which overlooked the Loire! An historic and fine building. Dinner was at their partner restaurant just across the lovely courtyard and was very special. Superb ambiance, food and service. Would happily recommend this hotel and we intend to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nicest hotel of our trip

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: The location was very convenient, and we liked Saumur as a whole. Extremely pleasant and helpful staff. Good parking (charged).
Cons: Air-conditioning in the room
Location: The main shopping area and the tourist information bureau are within easy walking distance. The Châteaux as also close but up a hill.
During a short stay in the Loire Valley this was our favourite hotel, while also being the least expensive. It's a nice spot near the river with a view of the Châteaux from our room at the rear. All of the staff were extremely helpful. Our room was very pleasantly presented and, like the whole hotel, had an old world charm. The only slight negative was the lack of air-conditioning in the room, but fortunately the weather was not particularly hot during our stay.