Ratings based on 350 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Staff not polite

Posted May 11, 2017
The staff does not understand the concept of serving a guest properly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a five star hotel, staff friendly not trained

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
Got bug bites on arm when we woke up in the morning (for the second time - first time we stayed in 2014, we got bug bites as well), might be due to the hotel being pet-friendly... Brunch service was very unprofessional and unorganized... waiter/staff were kind and apologetic but not on top of things... I am thankful for the overnight staff who brought clean sheets and blanket as well as pepto bismo for my son who threw up in the middle of the night... the one nice thing was the overall view, amenities, and location...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

pool closed, not all buildings are historic

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
Thought it was overpriced for what it was. Was expecting more of a historic experience, but we were placed in a modern building which was not so different from modern hotels. Room was largish and pleasant, but I did not feel it was worth the cost. Pool was closed for renovations, which was a big disappointment since I was there with the kids. Why don't hotels make a note of this on their websites? Also the enveloping pillow-tops (do other people actually like these?) on mattresses were very hot. I was too hot with a sheet on, too cold without. Room service was tasty. Setting was nice, but would be more interesting to an out-of-towner than a local.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from santee

Beautiful place but.....

Posted Apr 19, 2017
The room was nicely appointed, but you had to valet park your car which guarantees that you had to eat at their way overpriced restaurant. The food quality was that of a black angus but way more expensive and less than 1/2 the food. The beds were rock hard! My whole family tossed and turned all night and we were all sore the next morning. For $400 a night, they don't even offer a continental breakfast, just coffee and bad pastries.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful views from room

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Orbitz
The rooms were excellent, restaurants are great, Bartender Pierre are fun.
5 out of 5
by Maria

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
What a wonderful place. And the customer service was fantastic.
5 out of 5
by Mira

A real getaway and so close to SF

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
This is a beautiful location and feels like a real getaway. Staff is super friendly and accommodating. I love the Farley bar for a cocktail and some apps.
5 out of 5
by richard

great hotel

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
great location and beautiful grounds. room was great and service was exceptional. The staff were all very attentive and friendly. wedding reception was also exceptional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous view..of Golden Gate Bridge & Alcatraz!!!

Posted Apr 9, 2017
But for the rain, I could have enjoyed this great hotel ten times more. can enjoy hiking looking down Golden Gate Bridge & Alcatraz Island. Green playground was perfect for the children... Great place to rest with family.... I love to visit again soon.
5 out of 5
by Bruce

Great location

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
This is a very nice location, close to the Golden Gate, close to hiking and bike trails, and close to Sauselito.