Ratings based on 503 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset, UK

Welcoming Staff

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: It's friendliness.
A lovely welcome as we arrived then all the information we need for direction to a local restaurant. In the morning it carried on with a very good choice of Waffles. Fruit, Savouries and pastries.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Teddington

Great location - a very classy place!

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, quality of furnishings, lovely food
Cons: Need to advise on check-in that overnight parking is charged for
Our room was Redwood which is huge and beautifully decorated with a lovely big bed. We loved the wine and cheese at 5ish and the breakfast was delicious. A great place to stay in Sausalito!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Great location for walking to bay and shops!

Posted Jul 10, 2017
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and found the continental breakfast and the wine and cheese in the evening to be a nice bonus!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Novi Mi

Nice accommodations!

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Location: Lots of unique stores and great restaurants are within walking distance from the Inn.
The Gables Inn was in a perfect location. It's within a walking distance to lots of unique shops and restaurants. Also within walking distance from the ferry to San Francisco if you choose. The breakfast was a simple continental style breakfast but there was a good variety of foods to choose from. We were also able to grab a granola bar to snack on later in the day. We also enjoyed the wine and cheese happy hour the Inn offered.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Not a great value

Posted Jul 4, 2017
We just finished up a 10 day road trip and stayed in many hotels. I was just so disappointed with this hotel overall. It was nice initially but our room was located in the lower level which was directly next to the storage closet which was accessed frequently in the evenings and kitchen prep area which was used every morning prior to breakfast service. The room was located next to a small courtyard which would have been ok if the entire hotel didn't have access to it or need to walk through it to get to their rooms. This allowed all the other guest to walk past our open windows and French doors. We didn't feel secure leaving the doors open due to this and felt the shades always needed to be down for privacy. There was no view of the water for any of the public areas in the hotel which was also disappointing for the area and price paid. The showers were not clean the grout was green and didn't look like it had been throughly cleaned in quite some time. The mattress was very uncomfortable and left me with a back she every morning. The breakfast served was small and simple which is fine but left something to be desired. The yogurt I took also had an expired date on it luckily I checked before eating. There was also a $20 per night parking fee that while somewhere in the listing was not made promenent. If you chose to not pay this fee you were left to find your own parking on the street. The area has very narrow and winding streets which would have put any vehicle in danger.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Beautiful Inn with a great location. The only drawback would be the stairs if you have arthritis problems. The staff was very friendly. I would definitely recommend the Gables & would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location in Sausalito.

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Great hotel with very helpful management. Good continental breakfast and just 1 minute from the bay front with amazing views to the city. 5 mins drive to golden gate bridge
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philly

Nice Inn in good location

Posted May 31, 2017
We liked the location and our room. But I can imagine some of the rooms might be noisy because of squeaky floors and a very noisy fan in the lobby bathroom. Management could improve landscaping (mulch to cover irrigation and wires 😊) by investing a few $s in landsacaping and new patio furniture. However, we enjoyed our stay and once those items are fixed I would give it a 5 al the way around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Cute hotel, fab location

Posted May 27, 2017
Greeted by friendly Michael who took our bags to our room, it was so cute and had a private exit onto Princess Street. Perfect location in one of my favourite villages in the Bay Area. Evening drinks and snacks with other guests was a lovely way to spend time in the beautiful reception area. A little more storage space in the bedroom would have been nice but it wasn't a problem. Breakfast was also great, the fruit selection and pastries were all gorgeous! A truly wonderful stay in an historic gem. Thank you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great view of the San Francisco Bay!

Posted May 24, 2017
Bath could use some updating, but room and patio, location and view were great.