Ratings based on 528 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Fabulous peaceful hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2017
We chose not to stay in Central San Francisco as Sausalito was recommended by a friend. So glad we took the advice, although busy during the day by 5.00pm a calmness envelopes Sausalito and you can reflect on your day in a tranquil & beautiful setting!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakville, ON

Historic Hotel in the Heart of Sausalito

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: Great location, charming atmosphere and great staff.
Cons: Because it is an old hotel, access to rooms on the lower floors was not easy, but if you do not have any handicaps it is not an issue.
Location: Great, location to stay close to many restaurants and shops with easy access to San Francisco via automobile or ferry.
Great room, with lots of room, we had an outdoor patio and a sitting area. Room was well appointed and clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included and had lots of variety with lots of fresh fruit, pastries and juices, great coffee and bagels. Park was available for a fee at the hotel, which was great. Within walking distance to all shops, restaurants and waterfront activities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from burlington ontario

Great Hotel wonderful location.

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Location: Very close to the ferry dock for trips to San Francisco
Lovely quaint old Hotel with character. Excellent location. Great breakfast and wonderful wine and cheese hour.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Amazingly cute hotel with a great location! The morning breakfast has a ton of options, the bed was comfortable and the staff very helpful and friendly!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Cute hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Cute hotel, close to shopping and wharf.
Cons: Air Conditioning! It was an exceptionally hot weekend, and the hotel does not have air conditioning. It was hard to sleep even with fan on.
Small hotel with unique rooms. They offer breakfast in the morning and a wine & cheese tasting in the early evening.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

The Gables is highly recommended!

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Clean, friendly staff, excellent customer service, close proximity to main street.
I typically stay at another property in Sausalito. This time, I ventured out and am glad I did. I was very pleased with The Gables. It is very quaint and the staff is very friendly. The location is just steps from the main "drag." I liked this property because it is quiet and the view of the surrounding properties made the property even more enchanting. I live in the Bay Area, but would come here over and over for R&R. The room were very clean. Even the corners had not dust on the carpet. (Yes, I am a bit of a clean-freak.)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Chester PA

Beautiful inn with great view

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Had a great room with a view of the Bay, Alcatraz, and San Francisco. Very welcoming and helpful staff from the very beginning. Nice wine, cheese, and fruit layout each evening, and a wonderful breakfast each morning. Half block to main street on waterfront, lots of eateries, great ice cream, and Starbucks just a few doors down. Sausalito is a great place to stay if you want to avoid the fog and bustle of the city. Easy drive to wine country or Muir Woods on the coat. Comfortable, homey, great place to stay. Would definitely stay there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from denver colorado

Nice hotel, excellent location.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
We loved the bed and breakfast and the location was awesome! We had the handicapped room and it was right next to the front but was still pretty quiet. The bed was a little soft but the linens were excellent! My only complaint would be that there were not enough parking spaces for all the cars and I had to park on the street and make sure I pay after 9am. Overall, it was great!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Burbank, CA

Beware- No AirConditioning & Zero View!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
I was shocked to discover the state of my room--- the air was close and warm, and though I went to the thermostat, selected AC and selected 68 degrees, the temperature in the room never changed from 75. In addition, I opened the drapes to reveal a wall, and an exposed crawlspace under an adjacent building... Disappointing doesn't begin to describe this room, especially in consideration of the fact that I paid over $300.00 for this terrible room. The front desk agent offered no apology for any of it-- offering the excuse that although the thermostat indicated Air Conditioning, in fact there is none installed in the room. This room should be utilized as STORAGE or OFFICE SPACE for hotel staff, NEVER for a guest!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset, UK

Welcoming Staff

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: It's friendliness.
A lovely welcome as we arrived then all the information we need for direction to a local restaurant. In the morning it carried on with a very good choice of Waffles. Fruit, Savouries and pastries.