Ratings based on 948 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wisconsin

Friendly and Comfortable

Posted Apr 18, 2017
The room we stayed in was in one of the guest houses. It was a beautiful room and the staff was incredibly helpful and friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location.

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Restaurant was lovely. Great piano player. Great happy hour in the bar.
Cons: People should be aware that there are 4 rooms off site.
When we checked in we were told for the first time that our room was off site (about a block away). Belonged to them though. To get into the room, you had to go down an alleyway which made us feel VERY uncomfortable. Any child could have broken the lock on the door (no security at all). Very difficult to sleep when you did not feel safe. We talked to front desk as soon as we saw the room but they said nothing could be done as inn was fully booked. Had we known this from the start we would never have booked it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ormond Beach, FL

A great place to stay

Posted Mar 23, 2017
We booked this hotel last minute for only one night, wish we could have stayed longer. A quiet, comfortable room with a hot tub. Great! Convenient to everything in historic Savannah. We loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kannapolis, NC

Historic Inn

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: What I liked most about this inn is its history, central location, included breakfast and free parking. The restaurant is top notch.
Cons: I really can't think of anything that could be improved.
Location: The location was very good. The inn is within easy walking distance of the river front and is close to Broughton street, shops.
On our vacations, we enjoy staying in historic houses and inns. It allows to absorb more of the flavor of the city or town we're staying in. The 1790 Inn certainly did not disappoint. The Inn even has three ghosts that occasionally put in an appearance and is a regular stop on many of the local ghost tours. .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Older but Better

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Knowing it is a older older hotel. You can't expect all the glitz and glamour. We were there for the history. But the staff was helpful and great from start to finish. Breakfast was good. Dinners at the restaurant was very good and reasonably priced. We will stay there again for sure. It was a great trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, Mi

A trip back in time!

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: We loved the old, low ceiling bar, a real step back in time..
Location: Location is perfect, right in the middle of the historic district.
When booking our hotel in Savannah I wanted it to be a place where you could feel the history & this hotel did that. The owner & "Grumpy" greeted us on arrival & couldn't have been any more welcoming. The hotel is old & creaky sounding & is complete with its own "ghost" in the 3rd floor window. Everything we wanted.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Great location

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Great boutique hotel in great location. Room very nice, had a private courtyard, Jacuzzi tub and separate shower. Good size room with queen bed which was very comfy. Resturant was wonderful with piano music during dinner. Food very good and menu selections varied as well as different, and what we had was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle WA

Great find in the middle of the historic district.

Posted Mar 7, 2017
We were there recently for a weekend. We were in the townhouse across the street. When we checked in they had a spot for our car for the whole weekend and someone showed us to our room #306 and carried our bags for us. We also received a voucher for 2 free drinks at the bar which was very nice. The staff couldn't have been nicer, especially Katrina, who helped us with plans to take the trolley tour. We actually got back after 9 pm on Saturday night and ate dinner in the bar. There were 3 of us and everything was delicious. The continental breakfast was nice, including mini quiches, a nice touch to lessen the carb intake! The bed and linens were delightfully comfortable. I read other reviews and I agree that some Things were a bit worn however the building we were in was from 1870 and it was charming. I would definitely recommend staying here to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Historical hotel in the historic district

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: The location, atmosphere, food, staff and the charm.
Cons: Not sure I can come up with anything at the moment.
Location: Located in the historical district, you can conveniently take tours or walk around town to just soak it all in. The Savannah River is nearby too.
If you want to stay in a truly historic hotel, right in the middle of the historic area of Savannah, then this fits that bill. It really is a very nice and quaint place to use as a home base for your travels in the city. The restaurant is also a very nice one with a great chef. It's truly fist class.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Feb 27, 2017
On arrival the bathroom was not as clean as it should be....the tub had not been cleaned and the vanity draw had used make up removal pads in the draws that had not been cleaned. This was all addressed the next day when housekeeping cleaned.