Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hilton Head Island, SC

Perfect Valentine's Day Romantic Getaway

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Historic building, charming. Great location, great room, easy parking, happy hour, breakfast, and great staff.
Cons: Can't think of a thing!
Location: You're in the historic district, at the south end, so walking takes you by historic squares, churches, homes, restaurants, etc
With only one night, we were happy with our decision to splurge on the Oak Canopy room (king-size bed) at Azalea Inn. Easy directions and parking. Super friendly staff at check in and throughout. Charming room with a great balcony. Great bed. We took advantage of the included wine and cheese happy hour before dinner, and afterward sherry and cookies. Choice of 8, 9, or 10am breakfast made it easy to sleep in. Delicious breakfast, nice opportunity to visit with other guests. We took advantage of the great location to start our self-guided walking tour of Savannah. 5 minutes to Forsyth Park. 30 minutes walk to Bay St (river walk). After we parked on arrival, we forgot about the car and walked everywhere after that. Highly recommend, no ifs, ands, or buts.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pinehurst, nc

Great stay in Savannah

Posted Feb 15, 2017
We stayed in the Olive room. 4 poster high bed....they provide a step stool to get up into it. Nice shower. Fabulous breakfasts each morning. Owner is super nice!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Excellent service and delicious breakfast and 5 pm wine and cheese offered. Lovely setting
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bradenton, florida

Wisteria luxury cottage suite not so luxurious.

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: They offered 3 different times for breakfast, cheese and wine in evening, dessert at night. I liked the big front porch too.
Cons: The accommodations that I mentioned above need some attention.
Location: The location was good since we love to walk long distances, and the old savanna trolley was great.
My First time at a bed & breakfast, it was fun mingling with other guests in that setting. Food was good, and staff were great, but my room wasn't what I expected to receive for the price. the bedroom tv was so tiny and barely worked(made loud noises) with only one channel to watch. I had to put a folding screen up to block outsiders from looking in through sheers that were on French doors in the sitting area because there was no door on bedroom. I don't think I will go here again but may try another bed & breakfast in the future. I also used Expedia to book and I'm having trouble with the charges to my credit card. It appears they both are charging me for the same stay! Expedia said not to pay hotel and hotel says I have to, so, GoFigureThatOneOut..Ouch! So for me, it's just an OK review SORRY.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Nice B $ B

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Friendly and helpful staff, great Victorian atmosphere
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Amazing B&B Experience in Savannah!

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Azalea Inn & Villas is just an amazing B&B. The rooms are cozy, clean, and quiet. Perfect for a relaxing evening or nap in between exploring all of the fun that Savannah has to offer. The staff is friendly and helpful and the breakfast is gourmet quality. Our stay at this Inn was a major highlight to our trip and will bring us back to Savannah many times in our future. Do yourself a favor and book a trip to Savannah and the Azalea Inn & Villas!!
Cons: Everything about the Inn and its location was great and there are no complaints. I would recommend taking an Uber back to the Inn if you are returning in the later night hours as it is pretty dark around the area (as is most of Savannah in the dark hours).
Location: It is located about a block away from Forsyth Park and a within a 10-15 minute walk to the waterfront.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A very welcoming hotel

Posted Nov 9, 2016 on Hotels
The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a glass of wine by the pool after we checked in, it was a little oasis back there. We enjoyed our breakfast that included a history of the house and a narrative about the dining room mural. Liked the free Wifi and the cable tv.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok but overpriced and with an overbearing owner

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels
Sadly we were disappointed with Azalea Inn. It is incredibly overpriced for what it delivers. Our room, 'Sweet Olive', was nice enough but small, dominated by a four poster bed which was so high it required steps to get into. There wasn't room for much else other than the bed. Breakfast on day one was an incredibly sweet French toast, served with a few slices of plum in another sickly sweet sauce, and a dessert called chocolate oblivion- not what most people would choose for breakfast, but that was all that was offered (no cereal, toast, etc). At such high prices we expected a breakfast that was at least edible. But what really spoiled our stay was the behaviour of the lady owner. We stayed for two nights to celebrate our anniversary. On the first afternoon we were in the front room using our mobile phones to check where we would be staying next, when she suddenly loudly exclaimed "Is this how you two spend your anniversary? Are you texting each other or something?". She speaks VERY loudly at all times, and probably thinks she is being amusing when actually she is being rude. On the second morning we were at the breakfast table waiting to be served another inedible meal when she came up behind us again and loudly told the rest of the guests "These two are celebrating their fifth anniversary, and what are they doing? Checking Facebook!", deliberately implying we were committing some offence by using our mobiles. It was an uncomfortable and unpleasant stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry that we were unable to make this gentleman happy during his stay. We are well-known for our hospitality and for our food which is a theme throughout our online reviews. We have been in this beautiful city for 12 years and the entire staff thrives on creating memorable experiences for those who choose to stay with us. We know our city well and love pointing out her best features and secret dining spots. Now, this stay did start out on a slightly rocky note – they made an online reservation for a same-day arrival, but their credit card was declined and we were unable reach them by phone prior to their arrival. It is always awkward to tell a guest that their credit is declined, but we were to sort it out because they had another credit card that was not declined. As a part of our check-in process we ask which of our three breakfast seating times is preferred and the older of the two gentlemen requested 10 o’clock because he liked to sleep late. When asked about allergies or preferences he shared that he doesn’t eat seafood and prefers hot tea at breakfast while his husband preferred water. Later, during the tour of the house the next day’s breakfast menu was pointed out and it was shared that if they preferred something different please try to let us know the night before. (The owner is the person who checked them in but another innkeeper gave them the tour and showed them to their room.) Later the guests were in the parlor using their phones and the owner asked if they had any plans and offered to assist them with what to do. They did tell her they were searching for a hotel for the next leg of their trip and a lively conversation ensued about possible routes and sight-seeing they could do. The chef also came to the parlor and shared some of her thoughts on what to do in Florida. The elder man said he didn’t like to hike or be strenuous and didn’t like touring old homes. Breakfast the next morning was uneventful and the older gentlemen held court as he shared their travel plans for America on their 5-week vacation. The gentlemen then left for the day. At 8:30 that evening the on-duty innkeeper was told that the elder of the two did not eat chicken; the chef was informed. The next morning only the younger man came to the table and when the owner asked if his husband was feeling okay, he responded that he would not be coming to breakfast because he would not eat the chicken broccoli quiche. We quickly assured him that we had planned to fix whatever he wanted for breakfast. The gentleman came to the table and appeared to enjoy his fruit course of watermelon salad, followed by scrambled eggs, cheddar grits and cranberry orange scones. He and the owner did have a disagreement about the use of phones at the breakfast table and he assured her that if he wanted to talk on the phone he would. The owner pointed out that perhaps not everyone would want to listen to which he replied “I have to listen to their conversations so what’s the difference.” The table got very quiet and the owner responded with an apology for upsetting him, which she repeated three times as he continued to tell her she was wrong to place restrictions on a guest who was paying to stay here. Fortunately, the phone in the office rang and she left to answer it to which he said “I don’t care if you talk on your phone.” All in all a childish response from a man in his 60’s’s. Later, several of the guests at the table sought out the owner and stated they agreed with her that personal phone calls should be conducted away from the table. We strive to deliver exceptional experiences for each guest, but sadly it is not always possible.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels