Ratings based on 2,071 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

A nice hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Breakfast offered the typical cold offerings and waffles, but also included scrambled eggs, sausage patties and roasted potatoes.
The hotel and room is clean and modern, the staff courteous and friendly and the breakfast offered several hot and cold choices.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lawrenceville, GA

I arrived at 3:30am, staff was very helpful.

Posted Jul 15, 2017
The clerk make sure that I was awake on time for my meeting appointment at 9:00 am. They called me until make sure I was awake and on the move. Thank you SO MUCH!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tj

Staff is very rude including the manager

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Upon check in desk clerk told that even though I requested to pay by cash on the phone. I was not able to do so unless I paid a 100 deposit or allow the hotel to place the cost on my card ... I was not informed of such and communicated that to the clerk. She stated she was aware that it was not on the web site and was sorry bit those are the rules. I thanked her for her rudeness and checked in the Hampton up the block at a cheaper rate. Thanks a million for the Hampton!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Barbara Awad, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Although you did not stay at our hotel, we appreciate the feedback. Sincerely, Barbara Awad GM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Nice and clean rooms. A little out of the way from historical Savannah but otherwise a good deal for the money
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

the location is OK!

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: the price was good...
Cons: little square pillows, the decorating in the room i.e the paintwork is terrible and A/C is loud,having the front desk answer or return missed calls!!
Location: the location is Ok, lots of restaurants etc very near by... 5-7 miles from downtown historic area
I immediately called the reception as requested if I needed anything,like some regular size pillows.. (I HATE the little square pillows this hotel use)... no answer,left a message on the hotel voicemail,called again x2 all this on day one, no answer!!! I found some extra square pillows in a open store room! For me when I stay in a hotel I have some simple requirements: 1x comfortable king size bed, at least 6x full size pillows and a decent shower with non scratchy towels and a very clean room...wireless internet with a decent TV... this hotel in my opinion was less than average on the quality of this aforementioned list! Breakfast was OK
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by Barbara Awad, Hotel Management
Dear Marc, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We will share your concerns about the pillows with our corporate office as these are the required ones for all Carlson properties and as mentioned, you found extra because we have all new pillows. Our phone system was struck by lightening and we had only one line running, so I apologize for this inconvenience. Our new console was delivered and all lines are now available. We are happy you enjoyed the price and the breakfast. Sincerely, Barbara Awad GM
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Needs to Inspect work.

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: stuff are good
Cons: improvement are good but supervise more.
Location: close to our point of interest.
Like that you are trying to update the hotel, but needs to inspect the work done. New paint but lots of drip not cleaned on the floor. Fix baseboard but crooked. sink not drains good. carpet needs upgrade or update. These are beyond housekeeping jobs cause the beds are well kept and no dust.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by Barbara Awad, Hotel Management
Dear Ted, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Renovations are in the beginning stages and I will share all of your comments. Upon completion of the painting, all carpets will be replaced. I will also share your positive comments with the housekeeping staff. Sincerely, Barbara Awad GM
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from virginia

Awful one night stay

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: I can't say I liked anything. I am sorry I chose this hotel off your site. It was expensive considering your room was just a basic room.
Cons: It needs updating. The staff need to be more accommodating and less lethargic.
Location: The location was no where close to I-95, thirty minutes out. There was a mall nearby which was convenient.
For the price we paid, we expected a microwave and fridge in the room but there were none. Our room had a musty Smell to it and guests above us had their children jumping and running around till 2 am. We had to get the front desk to tell them to stop the noise. There were NO regular tea bags at the tea station and when we asked we were told they didn't have any. In the morning we found there were plenty in the breakfast room feet away from the front desk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Barbara Awad, Hotel Management
Dear Donna, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize that you chose a location further from where you wanted to stay. I appreciate your notifying me about the staff and have taken action to be sure that this attitude will not reoccur. I also apologize that you did not get a tea bag. There is a refrigerator and microwave in every room. They are located in the cabinet and I am sorry that you did not inquire so that e could have shown you where they are located. We apologize that your stay was not enjoyable. Sincerely, Barbara Awad GM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bob, Miami, FL

Nice hotel at an affordable rate.

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Affordable and very nice for the price. Great hotel for business or if you are passing through town. The 3rd floor were we were staying had been recently repainted so the corridor and room were very clean. The lobby had some floor repairs going on but was ok. Breakfast was surprisingly good and the person in the kitchen very nice and attentive. 15mn drive to the historic center of Savannah.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida and WV

Convenient

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Mentioned above
Cons: Front desk clerks were OK but needed to be more personable and friendlier.
Location: Good restaurants and shopping. Convenient to many good activities, beach and downtown entertainment.
Convenient to downtown Savannah and Tybee Island. (beaches). Good restaurants and great shopping nearby. Good to have breakfast available. Reasonable rates. Comfortable beds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Very nice hotel, very clean, rooms were clean, many amenities.