Ratings based on 683 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Historic and beautiful

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Driving toward Hotel on Bay Street,we were concerned that parking might be a problem. It wasn't. They have a private lot. Check in was a breeze including immediate help with luggage. Friendly desk and easy check in. Room was beautiful. Apparently the rush to clean left a few details but nothing seriously wrong.
3 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ottawa Ontario

Great location and historic charm

Posted Nov 22, 2015
Pros: Location and historic feel. The restaurant downstairs provides a nice breakfast in a historic feel (brick walls) with good staff.
Cons: Cleanliness - the rugs badly needed a vacuum and a cleaning, & there were stains on a towel and the bedcover.
Location: You can park your car and walk to everything in the historic district.
If you are looking for a place to stay in the historic district of Savannah, within walking distance of everything, in a historic building with 'old time charm', this is a good hotel for you. The staff are very friendly, especially Melvin the Bellman. The room had the original brick wall, high ceilings, a comfortable bed, and a large door with the old fashion key lock. The trade off is that it is not quiet (whomever or whatever was upstairs kept me up at night with a scratching noise - animals are permitted but can't really say what the noise was), and you won't have the comforts of a newer hotel. It was converted from it's original purpose, so there are pillars in the oddest places, including right in the middle of our room, and just outside our door, so need to look where you are going :)
4 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NY

Charming B&B.

Posted Nov 19, 2015
Pros: Very friendly, helpful staff. Breakfast was good and in a pleasant setting. Great biscuits!
Close to Savannah River. In historic district . . . museums, art, restaurants, parks.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gulf Breeze, FL

Like being at my closest family member's home!

Posted Nov 17, 2015
Pros: The atmosphere was old school Savannah. They were so hospitable and the decor was perfect! The bed was better than any other 5 star !
Cons: I can't think of a thing!
Location: In close proximity to everything! But you can always call a pedicab for a tour!
The staff, the hotel and the entire experience at East Bay Inn was wonderful! We will return there again and again! The staff was knowledgeable about everything! Referred us to a local pedicab company that was awesome as well! The food in the restaurant was very reasonable and great! The room was perfect! It felt like we were staying in the right wing of a family member's home! Just too many good things to say in one small review! Stay here, you won't be disappointed!
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central Virginia

Friendliest staff/hotel for you!

Posted Nov 7, 2015
Pros: The hotel staff were extremely friendly and treated you like family--the free, continental breakfast was AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Our family met in the Historic District of Savannah, GA just this past Halloween for a short vacation--we were not disappointed!!! Checking into and staying at the East Bay Inn on Bay Street proved to be the best hotel choice for us. The staff could not have been more friendly nor more helpful during our staff. "Ms. Julie" and the others were just wonderful--just like family. The hotel itself is just lovely with a real sense of unique character attached--unlike what you typically experience in a "chain." The free, continental breakfast was also far superior than the usual cold cereal, juice, etc. experience--they had the BEST homemade biscuits ever!!!!!! The breakfasts included hot eggs, bread selections, fruit selections, sausage gravy, ham, French toasts, coffee, etc. with the nicest family-run operation as well--the husband, wife, & son were there daily making sure everything went well--I enjoyed talking with them as well. Also, The Historic District of Savannah does not disappoint with the tremendous history, beautiful gardens, shops, tours, and great eating--just to name a few. The Crab Shack on nearby Tybee Island is great for seafood as well as a special night out at the Pink House.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Great location, across from River St!

Posted Nov 3, 2015
Pros: The location and the friendly staff as well as the old charm.
Cons: I think the carpets could be updated but really no complaints, place is clean, I'm just not a huge fan of carpeting.
Location: Directly across from River st shops and a few blocks from Broughton, lots more shops, restaurants. Centrally located to everything.
Had a great time, East Bay Inn has a nice continental breakfast that includes hot items as well as bagels, toast, etc. Very nice and continuously replenishing. The staff couldn't be nicer, very friendly and accommodating. In my opinion that is what makes or breaks a place. Julie at the desk couldn't be more helpful and the staff that takes care of the breakfast buffet, great job! Rooms are nice and clean and hotel is located close to everything. Fresh coffee and lemonade 24/7 and staff even accomodated our constant requests for hot tea! Rooms were roomy and beds very comfortable. Great overall experience, would go back!
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cleveland, ohio

Posted Oct 23, 2015
Pros: Charming setting. Close to everything we wanted.
Really helpful staff. Nicely appointed rooms. Lovely breakfast experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Safety concerns

Posted Oct 17, 2015
Pros: I was attracted by the location and the charming building.
Cons: SAFETY!! It was also not that friendly - to the extent that I didn't feel safe, given the missing key situation.
When I arrived, the front desk staffperson couldn't find the key to my room and I didn't get a key until a couple of hours later. And it wasn't until later that I realized that not only had my key been missing/disappeared, but also that the rooms did NOT have any of the clasp locks or chain locks that I normally expect in a hotel. The only deadbolt lock was the type that could be opened from the hallway with a key.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Wonderful location and experience at East Bay Inn

Posted Oct 16, 2015
Pros: Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. I love staying at B&B's due to the personal attention that's received. They really did care about each guest.
Cons: My main concern were the pillows and were too small. For a king size bed I would have preferred some kind size pillows.
East Bay Inn is in a wonderful location for great restaurants, sightseeing, and shopping. The staff was well versed and offered guidance on both sightseeing and restaurant choices, and trust me, there's lots to chose from:) We had a great meal at The Pink House and ate way too much fried chicken at My Lady and Sons (Paula Deen's). I enjoyed every bite:) Our server at Vic's was one of the best. I'm sad to say that the food didn't live up to my expectations. Savannah is a lovely town with Southern Hospitality. Although we booked two days for the trolley tour, one day would have been plenty. The hotel staff is wonderful!! Ms. Jennifer and Ms. Julie were so helpful and always a pleasure. I had an issue with Expedia. The Innkeeper, Mr. Ronnie Jones, was so kind and took the time to intervene on my behalf and assist in resolving my issue. Without his support, I have no doubt I'd still be arguing with them and I have serious doubts that the matter would have been resolved. Thank you Mr. Jones!!!! Not everyone would take the time to do what you did. I am most appreciative!!
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Authentic Inn

Posted Oct 15, 2015
Pros: Staff, furnishings & location
Cons: Better housekeeping in the bathrooms - rooms and public ones.
Location: great location near river walk- shops, restaurants and markets-
We enjoyed our 3 night stay at this quaint hotel. The furnishings make you feel like you stepped back in time- nicely decorated. The staff is very friendly and helpful especially Julie. She gave great recommendations for sightseeing. The location is great ,1 block from the river walk where there are tons of restaurants and shops. The only less than positive recommendation I would have is better housekeeping is needed in the bathrooms. Ours had hair on the floor and the toilet bowl was dirty when we checked into the room. It was still there when we checked out.Overall I would recommend this hotel. Its not a sterile chain hotel- you feel a genuine Southern welcome & experience staying here.